We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Used to be lovely...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ethorpe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Used to be lovely...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Ethorpe used to be a lovely place to go for a drink, and served lovely food too. However after my recent visit I will never bother going there again. Simply wanting to enjoy a nice drink after work I asked for the drinks menu, as I fancied a cocktail (which I have enjoyed here previously) and am told that they no longer do cocktails. After perusing the menu for another drink I decide on a glass of prosecco, clearly stated on the menu as £3.39 a glass. I am then told that they no longer do prosecco by the glass. Being a bit peckish but not wanting to order one of their 'sharer' plates (hideously overpriced at £6.99 for ONE person, for which you get a few measly nibbles) I asked for a bag of crisps. Which I am then told they do not do. What exactly do they do?!

It seems they are trying to weed out the evening drinkers, and make it more of a restaurant, as I also noticed all the tables were set for dining when I came in, however as it was the only decent place for a drink on a long row of offices and shops, I think they are missing a trick here. While the food there has been decent when I have eaten here, I would like to feel welcome to simply sit and have a drink. nstead of leaving a satisfied customer, I left having eaten nor drunk anything.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Bncol, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience in the restaurant was not up to our usual standards. Your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    94
    57
    18
    24
See reviews for
68
80
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I visited the Ethorpe for lunch today, i live only 2-3 miles away, and i have always enjoyed the food and service, however there seems to be a big problem with the parking. The car park is of ample size but is always full, i arrived at midday, car park full hardly anyone in the restaurant. i have heard that commuters and shoppers are parking there as the hotel do not impose any restrictions, there are a few notices around but are not acted upon. There are barriers but these are never in use. It is very frustrating. Why doesn't the management do something about this??? many people are complaining about the parking. Young and old alike. As i say,, food is pleasant, good choice of wines and other drinks, but the parking issue really lets the place down....... G

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Geraldine, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about the problems faced with Car Parking. We have taken details of the issues raised and will be following it up with the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

What a lovely hotel, very quaint with bags of character. I've stayed here a couple of times on business and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone whether it be business or pleasure. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are nicely decorated and well furnished with everything you would need. Food is good and the restaurant/pub has lots of nooks and cranny’s so you can eat in the thick of it or find a quiet spot if you're on your own. Breakfast is well worth adding on with a good choice on offer and excellent food.
The hotel is situated around 5 minutes walking distance to Gerard’s Cross train station, and trains in to Marylebone central London take around 18 minutes and cost approx. £14 return. It's a fantastic location to stay in if you fancy a day in the city without paying the high hotel costs.
The hotel has a sizeable car-park wihch is free of charge again a bonus if you are visiting the city.
Thanks again to the hotel and staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Request a 1st floor room, the windows are leaded and in keeping with the character of the building b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Melanie, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the bedroom to be clean and comfortable. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed onto the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Have eaten here on two previous occasions and always had a nice meal and it was no different this time. Unfortunately, as had been mentioned in a number of earlier reviews, the service left a lot to be desired. We ordered our mains and was told that they would be half an hour despite the restaurant only being half full. Fair enough, the meals arrived in about 25 minutes and we all agreed that it was worth the wait. Some time after we finished our plates were cleared and we waited for the waitress to return to see if we wanted to order desserts. After waiting some 15 minutes and still no sign of anyone, we went to the bar and asked for someone to take our order. Order having been taken, some 20 minutes later still no sign of it arriving another visit to the bar was called for. When it eventually turned up the waitress explained that there was a party of 40 in another room who were being served. If you know 40 people are going to turn up, presumably they had booked, then you staff accordingly. On the way out we noticed a number of tables that had been empty for some time which hadn't been cleared.
Interestingly, a family at a table behind us who left shortly after we arrived were given a card and asked to score the restaurant on service with a chance to win £1,000. Needless to say we weren't given a card!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Eric, thank you for your review. It concerns us greatly to hear of your experience, please accept our apologies for the disappointment caused. Your feedback regarding the service and the teams failure to provide you with a Guest Recommend Survey has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived to a fairly warm welcome from the waiting staff but were given a table in the back/overflow room with tables that hadnt been cleaned. Our party of 3 , ordered the from the mother’s day menu and half the food was unavailable at 6pm ( keeping in mind this serves food till 9pm and people were booked in all evening)
The alternative Leek and Potato soup from the menu was like dishwater, completely tasteless, not fresh and was just simply vegetable stock and potatoes blended, no leeks or seasoning
40 mins wait for main courses and delivered cold, manager offered to micorwave it for us instead of fresh food replacement. Charged an exceptional amount of money for a roast, considering a local Michellin awarded pub ( within 2 miles) charges this amount in which everything is homemade, freshly cooked to order and of the highest quality and standard.
The roast we had here was dismal. Potatoes were not cooked/roasted in Goose Fat but deep fat fried , the Gravy was bisto, Broccoli was obviously boiled previously then re-heated in a microwave as had no colour left in it, the Meat was dry and re-heated , Crackling was soggy andthe Yorkshire puddings were bought in.
Overall, a far cry from the ‘fresh, ‘famous’ and ‘locally sourced’ produce they advertise both on their menus and website and not worth £13.99.

Visited March 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Sophie, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your meal and that the level of service was not up to the standards we expect. All feedback has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gerrards Cross hotels

Skipton, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

we stayed at the ethorpe hotel 3 -5 march 2012.all staff were friendly and helpful. our room was spacious comfortable and very clean.
we enjoyed delicious breakfasts and an evening meal in the bar.we felt so relaxed that we wanted to stay longer-we will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpennyBD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Spenny, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the bedroom to be clean and comfortable. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed onto the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned having stayed or one night, with wife and two grown up sons and a large group of friends. I was amazed to read all of the recent reviews as the difer s much from my experience of the hotel,staff and food. On arrival the very fiendly member of staf on reception did everything to help our party and aranged a room be made available early for us. The resturant staff on a busy weekend for them made tables available for us and the food and serivce was excellent. The rooms wer of a good standard and very clean. The hotel for us was in an excellent location five minutes walk from the station giving us access via train to Wembley. On returning late that evening once again the staff while vey busy cleaned and cleared tables for large numbers of returning guests and then served food of a excellent standard with a smile and humour. I cannot praise the staff enough and ths is a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyMc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Kenny, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and the team were warm and friendly. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed onto the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
0.9 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.1 km away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
9.6 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.6 km away
Premier Inn Uxbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Property: Ethorpe Hotel
Address: 85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethorpe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing