We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic overnight location. Well done John and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Light and airy bed sitting room, skylights, original beams and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light and airy bed sitting room, skylights, original beams and vaulted ceiling
Barn Owl Barn in a quiet location but walking distance to the village center South facing guest patio dinning table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Light and airy bed sitting room, skylights, original beams and vaulted ceiling
Barn Owl Barn in a quiet location but walking distance to the village center
South facing guest patio dinning table
Double sofa bed and 42 inch flat screen TV with humax box & DVD player
Kitchen looking out into  garden with owners house beyond
Full size oven, two ring induction hob, microwave, door to shower room, stairs to bedroom
Shower room with double size walk in shower - instant hot water with great pressure
Romantic breaks
Romantic breaks discuss your additional requirements we are happy to help
Floor plan kitchen and shower room on ground level, bed sitting room up stairs
Travel Cot for small guests
The Dog and Duck - serving great food. Log burning stove in the bar. Dogs and Children welcome
The Linton Kitchen, serving breakfast, drinks and snacks all day.
Double sofa bed
panorama picture large airy room - bed sitting room with separate seating sofa and lord loom chair
Large double walk in shower - very good water pressure on demand form combi boiler
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Linton, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rg4747
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Idyllic overnight location. Well done John and Michelle.”
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights and might have stayed longer, had we known what a gem of a place it was. Self-contained, with a self-catering facility and the option to eat and relax in the enclosed private yard. We had planned to eat our main meals out. So, only took up the excellent and healthy breakfast option, made up of ingredients from the upper end of the gastronomic league.
The accommodation was cosy and quiet with tasteful contemporary furnishings. A friendly oak beam located beyond the foot of the bed might be considered a little challenging for the less agile.
The hosts were very pleasant and helpful without being in any way intrusive, a feature which is often lacking in similar establishments.
My only slight (selfish) reservation is that by writing about the attractiveness of the "Barn Owl", I may encourage too many visitors, thereby limiting my chances of finding a comfortable abode at short-notice, in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet c
cheshunt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 1 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We had a winetasting tour at nearby chilford hall as a gift, so booked to stay overnight. Then thought why not make it a weekend break, so glad we did! The barn is beautful, attention to detail amazing, had everything you could possibly need. Hosts more than helpful. Linton is a quaint unspolit pictureesque village, local pubs good too!
All in all, a lovely weekend, we'll definately be going back.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsfelly
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful little barn!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed here for one night, after having spent the day wine tasting at nearby Chilford Hall. Michelle and John were so hospitable, and nothing was too much trouble, even meeting us at Chilford to show us the way to walk back to the Barn and then offering us a lift back later in the afternoon to collect the car. They seemed so intent on us having a great time that they provided us with pub recommendations, guides to walks around the area and even offered to lend us their bikes if we fancied a ride in the countryside! Above and beyond the expectations of a normal B&B.

The little barn itself was fantastic and we had a really lovely stay. The barn is so well appointed, furnished to a very high spec (inc, large flat screen HDTV) and was spotlessly clean and fresh. The bed was so comfy and we both had a great night's sleep!
The breakfast Michelle has left for us was lovely and the fresh raspberries were absolutely delicious.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this little haven for a short break - it really is everything you need in a beautiful setting and village.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgirlk8
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky B&B!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Just stayed at the Barn Owl B&B for the night.
It was a lovely set up being separate from the main house so very private. Very spacious on two levels, lovely high standard of decoration, very clean, lovely comfortable bed. We really enjoyed having our breakfast out in the garden. Would highly recommend:-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MC772
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 7 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I stayed here one night for a business trip - and I cannot wait to return for a short break. The barn is adorable, found in a picturesque lane just off of Linton High Street. The barn is perfectly sized for an individual or a couple, fabulously furnished, the bed is very comfortable, the shower is amazing and the setting is incredibly peaceful. I loved the DIY breakfast (the kitchen is very well stocked with all sorts of crockery, utensils, cooker, toaster, microwave, fridge freezer) and there is a cute little patio area outside. Presentation and cleanliness was excellent. I only wish I stayed longer!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
originalb...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 January 2011 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here along with our 2 year old. The location of the property is great, the owners are friendly and helpful, and there are a couple of local pubs in the area that do excellent food. The property is finished to a lovely standard.

It's a short drive in to the beautiful city of Cambridge, but just far enough out to be hidden within rural idyll.

I would recommend this place and the Linton area in general, it's a hidden gem!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidRChe...
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Linton, Cambridge.”
Reviewed 15 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent , beautiful barn conversion with real attention to detail. Warm, friendly welcome - room very well prepared, high class fittings & very, very clean. If you are looking for a top class stay within a lovely Cambridgeshire town, at unbeatable prices, look no further! Totally recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing