We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a delightful escape to country living for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floor Plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Floor Plan
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheadle, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
littlelil...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“This is a delightful escape to country living for all members of the family.”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Vivien and Derek run an excellent self catering farmstay.
They are very welcoming and helpful yet unobtrusive.
The Hereford has everything you need,is warm and cosy,set in idyllic surroundings.
It is spotlessly clean,always has plenty of hot water,though understandably not with such high pressure as town or city.A great place to stay on every count!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and their property
Liked least: water pressure for hair washing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Wow, thank you so much for your comments and it was an absolute delight to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Cozy comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Very nice location with just three cottages together lending a "little community" feel to the place. The cottage was very clean, warm and comfortable and the owners certainly make everyone welcome. We stayed for a week in February 2015 and didn't get chance to take full advantage of the games room in the barn but wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attitude and welcome of the owners towards all guests
Liked least: Water pressure in the shower - but that's country living
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it was such a pleasure to chat to you and hopefully we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you need and great value”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've just returned from a 3 night stay in the Hereford Cottage at Birchenfields. The main reason for our visit was Alton Towers. The cottage was spotlessly clean, cosy and with everything you could possibly need for a short break, including freshly laid eggs from their rescue hens! The owners are great hosts, a nice welcome and then left to get on with it unless we needed them. We travel with our two year old daughter so much prefer self catering with room to put the little one to bed and be able to relax on an evening.
The only disappointment was not being on site long enough to enjoy the games room and sun room.
We'd happily return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated. Best wishes from all of us at Birchenfields
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philgill3
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, Clean and Welcoming”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed in the Corn Store with our small dogs, The Cottage was very warm and comfortable. The Facilities for Dogs our Excellent. Lots of outside space to Enjoy in a lovey setting . The Owners are so welcoming and make you feel like Old Friends in no time. We had the chance to see the other Cottages available and were also very impressed too . In all the cottages you have everything you would need to have a very enjoyable stay. Will definitely recommend to all. Only Gripe is that we had to leave, But we gained some very special friends in Vivian and Derrick. Thanks again for the use of your wonderful Cottage.1st Class :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and Facilities
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstyJL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Superb value for money & faultless service!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed in these cottages with friends (we were in the Hereford but saw them all) & were immediately impressed with the level of effort that had been made to make us feel welcome. The fire was on, the festive decorations we loved & we greatly appreciated being able to make teas & coffees on arrival, with proper milk & homemade biscuits! Whilst we had a general idea of the area, we were grateful to utilise the extensive local knowledge from Vivian, Derek, Katie & Damien for pubs & walking/climbing routes. Also when we were not using our bikes it was really helpful to leave them behind in one of the barns. The cottage was immaculate & extremely comfortable, making us feel right at home. The level of pride in ensuring our stay was relaxing & comfortable was clearly evident & considering what we paid, we believe these cottages to be great value. We fully intend to revisit, to see the area in the Summer months & would recommend these cottages as a superb location into the Peaks!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z_Palmer
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Lovely 2 bedroom cottage with stunning views in the countryside. The perfect place to getaway if you like the outdoors as its so close to the peak district. The hosts are really friendly with lots of knowledge about the best walks, activities, and pubs in the local area.

You can also rent the neighbouring cottages if you are a larger group.

Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location and the hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanbritt
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Location, Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I stayed at Birchfields for a weekend in the country with some friends. The hosts were very warm and welcoming and keen to ensure we had all we needed. The location is really beautiful and surprisingly easy to find. The cottages are a short drive from some really great walking in the peaks and some lovely country pubs, but there is the added plus of not being too far off the beaten track.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and found it to be excellent value for money. We'll be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The phone signal wasn't great but that added to the feeling of getting away to the country!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing