We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most well organised and best equipped...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floor Plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Floor Plan
Summerhouse
Friends and family meeting room available at no extra cost
The Hosts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheadle, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire T
Gamlingay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The most well organised and best equipped accommodation we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Dairy was perfect for a family of 4 with everything we needed and very clean. The barn was well used by our teenage boys who challenged each other (and us) to pool, table tennis and air hockey. The local pub was a pleasant walk and there were so many places to visit we wished we had booked a week rather than a long weekend. We will certainly recommend Birchenfields for families of children of all ages. The owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Lovely people and lovely place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel and relaxed setting.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay and the play barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gembo33
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Absolutely fantastic!
Clean and very comfortable.
Lovely play barn.
Owners very friendly and helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieB763
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I have been visiting the area each year for the last 10 years or so and this was by far the best place I have stayed. The cottage is in a perfect location for Alton Towers; you can get there in about 10 minutes. It is also just a couple of minutes away from Cheadle with a choice of shops, restaurants, take aways and supermarkets.
The cottage itself was very comfortable and had every everything you could possibly need for your stay. It had a fully equipped kitchen and a washing machine and tumble dryer were available to use. There is a very attractive Summer House by the cottage and a picnic bench directly outside the cottage.
The real plus point for me was the play barn. My sons loved playing in there after a day at the Towers. The play barn contains a Pool table, Air Hockey, Table Football and Table Tennis. Just perfect to keep the kids entertained.
The owners are very friendly and were always available to assist if needed.
I will definitely stay here again and I wouldn't even think of looking for anywhere else in the area.
Thanks again for a fantastic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the cottage, the view, the play barn......everything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Wow what a lovely review, thank you so much and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_Lou...
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having come back to stay for the second year running I felt right at home. We received a warm welcome, milk, sugar, tea and coffee ready so we could have a cuppa the moment we arrived. I adore these cottages, beautiful surroundings, very peaceful, every item we needed to cook and make ourselves generally at home. The kids find the play barn great for when we are having a quiet day with pool table, air hockey etc. I hope to go back next year to stay again. Thank you again for making us so welcome and giving us a truly enjoyable break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That nothing is too much trouble for the owners
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you so much and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay; we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from all of us at Birchenfields
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage was just perfect for us and had everything we needed including a cot, high chair and baby bath. We stayed 3 nights to use as a base for Alton Towers but wish we could have stayed longer. The play barn was ideal as got them all out of the way while I got things ready for the day out. Would definitely visit again. Owners very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The play barn.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAzNaz22
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, lovely owners”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Dairy. The cottage is lovely, well equipped, very neat and clean. The owners are lovely and friendly, little touches on arrival - milk in the fridge, lovely home made cakes were a lovely welcoming extra. The cottage is a good base to visit many attractions including Alton Towers, Tittesworth Water, Monkey Forest, Waterworld, Carsington Water, horse riding and cycling. The play barn is an added bonus which the girls loved, even the hubby enjoyed the play barn which included a full size pool
table. In a lovely safe area with outstanding views, definitely the place to stay for a lovely holiday in Staffordshire.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missinde
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay in cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed with my husband and young daughters for 3 nights. Wish it had been longer as it was very peaceful and relaxing.
We used it as a base to visit Drayton Manor (just over an hour away), and also visited Trentham gardens (beautiful).

The cottage was perfect. We were given a warm welcome by the cottage owners and told to ask if we needed anything. The cottage was lovely and clean with a rustic feel. We felt relaxed as soon as we stepped inside.

The kitchen was well equipped with basic crockery and utensils, even washing up equipment. Separate fridge and freezer. Microwave.

The lounge/diner was cosy and comfortable. TV and a few books, DVD's available to hand. Free Wifi available (password given if requested).

The shower was nice and hot. Large wardrobe in each of the 2 bedrooms. Hairdryer.

Out front a wooden picnic bench - would be lovely to sit out in summer.

The location was perfect for us as based on the farm we had peace and quiet at the cottage. Lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Cheadle is about 10 mins away and there is a large Asda and many other shops too. Lots of restaurants/eateries.

Our girls thought the 'Play barn' was amazing. A great touch. Barn has been madeover as a playroom. Lots of retro pre-loved toys. Very handy if the weather isn't agreeable or you want to chill out at cottage. There was air hockey, ping pong, a slide, climbing frame, jigsaws, boardgames, toddler toys.

We will definitely be back. If you want to get away from it all and really switch off this is the accommodation for you. Great base for exploring the area. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing