We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed hotel - bizarre bathroom light - lousy night's sleep!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Handforth
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nicely appointed hotel - bizarre bathroom light - lousy night's sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently, choosing to ignore the bright lights of a Friday night in central Manchester.

The Hallmark is situated in a location that is fantastic if you need the airport - the volcanic cloud, as i write, makes this a mute point - or want a location from which to access Cheshire. Or, like me, just want to avoid the city.

I'd managed to get a great deal at the hotel, after seeing it on-line, and wasn't disappointed on arrival. It looked good.

Although my room wasn't the biggest (it wasn't small either), it was very tidy and comfortable. The bathroom, on the other hand, was clean but very small. In fact it was tiny!

The bathroom door was also odd in the fact that it's very see-thru. Great if you're intimate with the person you're with but considering the view beyond is of the toilet it isn't perhaps the best idea to have a glass door, leaving little to the imagination!

The staff were helpful and the bar looked nice and not too over-priced.

The biggest issue with the hotel was the poor night's sleep i had. In fact, i barely slept at all. Perhaps i was just unlucky being close to the elevator, or just a noisy corridor, but i didn't sleep a wink. This wasn't helped by a blue neon light that shone out from the bathroom that couldn't be turned off. The designer might have thought this to be a cute touch but he/she didn't probably didn't have to try and sleep through it.

All in all i would stay at the hotel again instead insisting on a different room. Well that was until i emailed my comments to the hotel and received no reply. Nothing.

It's nice to know that during these testing economic times some hotels feel they have too many customers to bother responding to complaints!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    355
    287
    149
    122
See reviews for
198
498
32
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

We stayed here as part of a stay, park and fly trip... On the day all flights out of Manchester airport were cancelled due to volcanic ash. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and ensured they did everything they could for us when we were trying to find out about our flights. Top class customer service from management and reception staff. They arranged for us to have the parking element of the package for whe our flights have been rearranged.

The hotel is fantastically placed for the airport, you couldn't be nearer unless you stay on site.


The rooms are lovely and clean, beds lovely and comfy.

The tapas served in the bar between 5-7 is great value.

We got a deal for £80 for a night here, 15days parking and transport to and from airport, which is fantastic value and we will definitely use this hotel again for our next holidays.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lytham uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

I booked a two night mini break deal at the Hallmark manchester as a break for me and my boyfriend over easter holidays. We were extremely pleased with our stay. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. One small incident where a less experienced member of staff forgot to bring my wine to the table during our meal - when i mentioned it to the head waitress she brought me and my partner drinks on the house. This shows the type of go the extra mile service we found at the hotel.
In the deal we stayed 2 nights, with free 'tapas' for two people up to £7 and a free meal up to £20, plus two spa treatments. The food was wonderful! 'Tapas' was a mezze buffet with a mixture of olives, mozeralla, hot chicken, crusty bread etc. We just bought some chips to make it into a light meal. On the second day we had our meal - the standard of food is excellent for a hotel of this rating and size. For the meal you could choose any starter, main and dessert from the a la carte menu. (This was great as i was worried we might be counting up to the £20 allowance). The only extras were £3 more for lamb and £4 more for steak, which my boyfriend treated himself to and it was well worth it! There was also an excellent range of choice on the menu.
Breakfast is the best either of us have ever had.....infact we are really missing it now! A good selection - both continental, delicious fresh pastries and piping hot cooked breakfast (not dry and cold like you get in some places!) Tea and coffee brought to the table and a range of juices. Congratulations on your breakfast hallmark!
The only thing i personally would mark the hotel down on is the quality of sleep. I'm a light sleeper anyway so it didn't help that our neighbours on the first night decided to make a very noisy exit at 4.30 on their way to the airport! But also, as another reviewer has commented, our room was very hot. We had the window open whenever we were in it but didn't want to leave it open when we were out. There was a hot water pipe running though the room which i'm sure was the culprit - not sure if this is all the rooms or just ours, however, this would make me think twice about staying in the heat of summer.
The other thing to note very carefully is the location of the hotel - convenient for the airport (shuttle bus runs through day) and we went on a lovely trip out into the Cheshire countryside (Lyme Park infact) but it wouldn't be so great if you were hoping to go out in Manchester city centre as it's a fair distance.
Spa treatments were lovely - i even booked a last minute eyebrow wax through the hotel (treatments are at a discount for hotel guests). Pool is nice and large and the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all ok (although it's a bit hard to turn the jacuzzi on!)
All in all though we would definitely return - particularly would recommend their packages including meals and treatments like we had. We will also consider other hotels in the chain based on our good experience here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarlou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Yet again another stay but with the family. 1st point was the restaurant....great! Even the kids eat all their meal ( you know how difficult that can be sometimes ) All the hotel was great, staff included. Spent several hours over the road at the leisure ( seperate building ) and the kids didn't want to come out of the pool ( suppose that's not strange ) Myself and my husband had bought treatments this time and he even had a deluxe facial, he said it was that nice, he fell asleep and was snoring! Typical bloke. I had a trio of treatments, facial, pedicure & manicure which was part of a special offer from the spa's website and it didn't dissapoint. Will be returning again within the next six months for another nice break, we always find a deal at this hotel and it is worth it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersarewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Me and my fiance booked into the hallmark for his birthday treat for 2 nights (sat/sun) over easter 2010. All of the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was very nice and very clean but a bit on the small side - especially the bathroom, but was still adequate. The only issue was when we got to our room we went to get a glass of water but the cold water tap had to run for 20 mins before it ran cold. And the shower was weak. On the first night we ate in the restaurant and the food was DELICOUS, it was the nicest meal iv had in a long time. It was a bit pricey but we had a good deal when we booked and our meal was included in the price so this wasnt a problem. The portions were big and the food was brought very quickly. We also had a 30min spa treatment each (i had a facial and my partner had a massage), very nice indeed and very relaxing. We went to the pool for a swim but it was really hot in the pool area as all the radiators were all full blast so we only managed 1/2 hour before we had to get out and get a drink.
We travelled from York and wish this hotel was nearer - even just to go to the restaurant as it was that nice. We would defo stay here again and would recommend it to anybody.
Thanks to all the staff for our pleasant stay :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairbj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I stayed in the Hallmark for 4 nights in March 2010 while on a business trip in the area. The hotel is nicely renovated for the most part in the public areas, and the rooms are also furnished stylishly. The ameneties in the room worked well, and it was pretty.

My biggest complaint was the temperature in the room, which was scorching hot for all the nights. Even though I turned off the radiator and kept the window open, it was hot; there was apparently a hot water pipe running through the room which kept its temperature way higher than would've been comfortable.

The gym and pool house is separate from the hotel itself. It was nice to go for a swim in the pool area after a long day at the office, but the poolhouse was not renovated. It seemed that the ladies' locker area was completely unfinished, because the paint job was very poor in some parts and smelled everywhere. Sadly it looked like it had been waiting for the second coat of paint for a long time. Hopefully the renovation will be to the same level as the hotel's main bulding. Besides the pool, there was a "swedish" sauna (with no place to throw the water to, so the heat is very dry), a jacuzzi and a steam room, where the eucalyptus scent was too strong for me.

The nearest shop is a good 15 min walk away in Hendforth, and most of the restaurants too, so this is not a place where you can go outside easily if you don't have a car.
The restaurant of the hotel was nice, although some of the dishes were a not quite what the name suggested. The service in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast had alot of variety and was satisfying. The service at hotel reception was a bit off, since the very young clerks were asking the questions like they were rehearsed from a script.

All in allthis was not a bad experience, but I will choose a different hotel next time I come to the Cheadle area for business.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattleya100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I recently stayed at Hallmark Manchester to celebrate my birthday. The Hotel was lovely. Loved the decor! It had a really nice atmosphere.
The room was very comfortable.
The food in the Brasserie was amazing and the staff were very friendly.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAD0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.9 km away
The Stanneylands Hotel
The Stanneylands Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
3.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in leafy grounds Hallmark Hotel Manchester is a comfortable , well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for guests . Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club & spa and complimentary car parking for there stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing