We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,096 results
Traveller rating
1,317
475
200
70
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
475
200
70
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room afternoon tea handpicked hotels relaxation room cream tea hand picked hotels newer part beautiful hotel glass of champagne wine list wedding party evening meal a la carte menu steam room separate building special occasion wedding breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,632 - 1,637 of 2,096 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had a lovely break at this beautiful hotel during July
My partner is due to have our first baby in a couple of weeks and she had the pregnancy massage in the spa and was tickled pink by her experience
The food was superb including the breakfast, the service was ok, probably too many young in experienced waiters save for John the wine expert but this wasn't a big issue for either of us
We stayed in the October room which was lovely except for the noise we could hear from the kitchen late at night or early in the morning, but not such a big issue overall
But overall a very pleasant stay indeed and would definitely reccomend it to others

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel.

We are all delighted you had a lovely break with us and that the great team in the 5 Bubble Spa looked after your wife so well.

The team really do work very hard to deliver great food and service so again we are pleased you both experienced this.

October room is a lovely room overlooking the manicured grounds, sorry you heard some noise but really glad it wasn’t excessive.

We hope to see you both again soon hopefully with your new little one,

Best wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Rookery Hall is an excellent wedding venue. Beautiful setting, good food, excellent service with staff who pitch their approach just right and the added value for guests who stay over of high quality rooms and use of the spa. Watching TV whilst relaxing in the bath with a glass of wine certainly makes it memorable for your guests. Money well spent.

Room Tip: They all seem good!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethPlant51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback on your recent wedding reception>>> We are thrilled to read such amazing feedback.

We feel honoured to have been given such a special event to look after,

We all wish you the very best and hope to see you soon,

Best wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Excellent reception staff from greeting, through answering enquiries during our stay to a very efficient and positive manner at checkout.
The room was in the main house, large and had a delightful view over the garden.
We stayed Friday to Monday DBB and although the hotel was obviously busy it remained peaceful and quiet.
Food was good, perhaps a little variable in quality, but overall of a standard to be expected for the price. There were a number of supplements to menu items which I would prefer to see erased but splash out on the Plate of Chocolate dessert!
We made a few comments regarding our stay at checkout and a follow up call with explanations by the hotel manager was a further example of the level of attention to service given.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for such constructive and positive feedback following a short stay with us,

We were delighted to read that the reception team really looked after you and that you enjoyed our wonderful accommodation.

The food seams to have also gone down well and I agree the chocolate is world class as is the team delivering it!.

We really do care about what our guests think and take all positive and challenging feedback very seriously indeed.

We hope to see you very soon

Thank You again

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2012

V friendly staff - from reception thru' to the maintenance man.Reception especially good at dealing with minor issues and sorting out any wrinkles
Bedroom fine -v comfortable beds,large TV.Classic decor
Bathroom perfect -bidet,good shower,excellent lighting
Leisure club spot on -decent pool for lengths,hydro pool,sauna and steam
Spa well appointed and relaxing
Breakfast outstanding- one of the best in the country
Afternonn tea well presented and v filling

Room Tip: Involve reception -tell them what you want.They are good at their job and genuinely want to please their customers
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for such lovely feedback after your recent stay.

It really is a delight when all the teams hard work is recognised in such a positive manner.

To be compared favourably with other hotels in this country is a recommendation indeed and one we are so grateful for.

We all hope to see you again very soon,

Kindest regards.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel after celebrating our sons graduation, the room was superb overlooking the stunning gardens, with a fantastic bathroom, tv over the bath and a great shower. Breakfast was one of the best we have taken in any hotel, great selection beautifully cooked, great to see fresh smoothies on the breakfast buffet table. The staff were lovely, warm and friendly without being to fussy.
Only one small problem, my daughter-in-law has an allergy to feather pillows and woke the next morning to a swollen sore eye, prehaps some indication of this in the room would save anyone else the same problem.
Overall a great stay, wish we had the time to partake of afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grounds
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for a truly wonderful review and congratulations on your son’s graduation.

We are delighted you enjoyed the room and Cheshire views, I agree, they are rather special made even more so when the grounds are so well maintained.

Breakfast at Rookery is a very important experience and one we constantly reinvent and a very regular basis.

The team here are special indeed and really do try to deliver a service well above expectations.

We hope to see you again in the very near future

Best wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews