We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
1,003
535
183
73
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,003
535
183
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomentertainment teamevening entertainmentfountain barroyale roomfirst classresident bandcabaret dinerour waiterdaytime activitiesdining tablein housecabaret roomdance floorrifle shootingcourtyard roommotown weekend
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

The weekend was a Soul and Motown Festival so the entertainment was even more full on than normal. What didn't change was the range and quality of food offered-very good.In a Signature Room so was of the standard expected. Very enjoyable weekend. One criticism, some of the tables for two near the dance floor are very close,at least one being about six inches apart. Not always that you want to be so close to strangers!! If not suitable,at allocation, a word with the Restaurant Manager may be worthwhile.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carli0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Motown and Soul weekend with us, especially the entertainment, food and bedroom. There was a great atmosphere in the Hotel over the break. In respect of the tables in the Restaurant, we are always happy to help where we can, if guests are not happy with their allocated table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Treated my mother and sister for a pamper session here for Mothers 60th birthday. Was charged £114 for 3 file and polishes and "afternoon tea" - file and polished have lasted 1 day on our nails, our appointments moved due to staff sickness and "afternoon tea", consisted of a sandwich which we had to eat in a room with a crowd of people watching a football match. Absolutely disgusted.
The therapist was lovely, didn't catch her name however all 3 polishes have not lasted and I was told on the phone we would get afternoon tea with our package, we each got a sandwich and a jug of water... Not impressed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank DaisyDaisyDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

We are really upset to read that you were disappointed with the pamper session which was booked and also the afternoon tea. If you would like to telephone us direct and speak to our Leisure Club Manager, Steve Hinton we are sure that he will want to take full details and will be able to assist. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Met up again with friends for another 3 night stay. Food and entertainment just as good.
Special mention must be made of Jesus our waiter in the dining room who was friendly, attentive and efficient.
Those with mobility issues may need to carefully select their room as some of the rooms are quite some distance from the central area where the bar/cafe/dining room are situated.

Room Tip: See previous comments
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank r noCarol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for your review, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the food and entertainment. We will ensure that Jesus knows about your kind comments. With regards to selecting room numbers, we are always happy to help if guests wish to telephone us direct, we will explain where and how far the rooms available are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

My wife and I have just recently returned from a fabulous break at ALVASTON Hall. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly and courteous staff. Really glad that we had taken advantage of an upgrade to a signature room which was offered a few weeks before our arrival. The room that was allocated (400) was first class and kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff. On arrival at our table (123) for the evening meal, we received an added bonus when we learnt that the waiter for the duration of our stay was to be Jesus who looked after us so well on our last break in January this year. What a lovely guy, always cheerful, makes time to have a conversation with you and definitely goes the extra mile to ensure his guests have an enjoyable holiday. The choice quality and presentation of food by the catering staff was absolutely superb once again. Was a little disappointed to discover that Drew the entertainments manager had moved on but you have certainly got a more than adequate replacement in Kate.The Nightfall show her and the team performed with such energy and enthusiasm on Sunday night was an absolute knockout. Was also very impressed with Luke Sabatino on Friday nights show with excellent backing from The Black JACKS and the young girl operating the sound system. We booked another break while on site for April next year, must thank Sue for her patience and all the help she gave us in securing a great deal. Looking forward to our next break in January and hopefully meeting up again with "MY FRIEND" Jesus.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrisandtezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent break with us and thank you for your kind comments about your arrival, room, food, entertainment. We will pass your feedback onto Jesus, Kate and Sue in the holiday shop. We look forward to welcoming you back in January next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

This was our first visit to a Warners Hotel (Alvaston Hall) Absolutely fantastic weekend - Firstly all staff are very friendly from the cleaners right through to Management with smiling faces always a "good Morning enjoy your day". Rooms are clean and of a good size, (apart from the shower cubicle which is a little on the small size for anyone 6'ft +. Food is amazing so much choice and of excellent quality & presentation. Entertainment team are hard working & obviously strive to make the entertainments enjoyable bringing total strangers together with laughter & banter. The grounds around Alvaston Hall are beautiful..............
QUESTION - is there a reason why iced water is served by waiting staff upon request at Dinner & jugs not placed on the table for guests to refill at leisure ? Same question with breakfast Coffee/Tea? We felt awful asking waiting staff for refills as they were extremely busy, where it would have been easier to help our selves - Nevertheless we had a fantastic weekend & will return 2018. - PS Warners Give your staff a pat on the back.... better still give them a PAY RISE as they do YOU very proud.

Room Tip: Room 62 was very convenient.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Alvaston Hall and that you found our team smiley and friendly. Thank you for you comments in respect of the food, the entertainment team and it is nice to hear that they bring strangers together and also the grounds. It is our policy to serve water by the glass and also the breakfast tea and coffee, our team really do not mind replenishing your cups. We look forward to your return in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews