We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant barn conversion in idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broadmea Stable

Broadmea Stable and adjoining Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broadmea Stable and adjoining Barn.
Broadmea Stable and  adjoining Barn. These properties can be booked together to sleep 16. Broadmea Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Broadmea Stable and adjoining Barn.
Broadmea Stable and  adjoining Barn. These properties can be booked together to sleep 16.
Broadmea Farm
Relax at Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable 
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Stable
Open plan dining and living space
Broadmea Stable
Good morning!
Broadmea Stable 
Lounge with doors to patio area outside.
Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable
Cozy log effect gas fire.
Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable
Enjoy a late breakfast.
Broadmea Stable
Small gallery sitting area
Broadmea Stable
Quiet gallery seating upstairs
Broadmea Stable 
Bedroom 1
Downstairs
Broadmea Stable
Bedroom 2
Upstairs
Broadmea stable 
Bedroom 3 
Upstairs
Broadmea Stable
Bathroom 1 Large shower room.
Broadmea Stable
Bathroom 2
Quality white towels and fresh linens provided.
The Barn and Stable
Adjoining properties sleep 16 when booked together or 10 and 6 separately.
Celebrate and relax at Broadmea Stable!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MattSheff...
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant barn conversion in idyllic location”
Reviewed June 7, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Perfect stay. Clean and comfortable accommodation. Well equipped. Hosts Paul and Trish are lovely people and made us feel very welcome. They even fitted a baby gate for our toddler and when WiFi went down after a storm they called someone out to fix it same day. With Lake District, Scotland and Hadrian’s wall on doorstep there is plenty to see and do. There a lovely pub, Kirkstyle inn, nearby serving local ale and home made food. All in all a fantastic holiday :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2018
Thanks for leaving such a great review. We really appreciate your comments and hope you will stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineC...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter holiday break”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our 5th visit to Broadmea. We first visited with our three children 10 years ago. It is fabulous. That is why we keep returning. This time just with our youngest daughter revising for her A levels and our two dogs. A week spent walking in stunning countryside. The Staley's are marvellous hosts and the properties are stunning. Beautiful and very comfortable We have already booked to come back at Christmas. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thank you so much. It's always a pleasure to have you stay and I'm pleased the Stable continues to provide a wonderful place of happy memories and time together for you and your lovely family. Thanks for booking again and we look forward to seeing you for the Christmas holidays!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisemax...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect on every level!”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Everything about this Cottage
is outstanding! Location, comfort, spacious, modern, great and friendly owners, the list is endless! Will certainly be back! Thank you Trish and Paul

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you for your fantastic comments. I'm pleased you found everything about your stay in the Stable outstanding. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J
1 review
“4th time of visiting”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We keep coming back to this lovely barn conversion, always a warm welcome and attention to detail. Great place as a base for Hadrian's wall, Tyne and Tees valley walks with Molly the dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thanks for writing a review. it is always an absolute pleasure to see both of you and of course Molly the dog. It's great you love the area and the accommodation. We hope you'll keep coming back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location in the beautiful, unspoilt South Tyne Valley.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Broadmea with our three teenage children. A great central base for visiting either side of the Pennines. We had a day on both coasts and a day at Kielder Water. Expect to travel a bit to visit places such as the Lakes and either coastline but driving across such stunning landscapes is part of the experience. Hadrian's Wall is 10 miles or so. Alston is the nearest town (6 miles) and has a selection of pubs and shops which should meet most needs. The South Tynedale Railway is currently being extended to Slaggyford which from Easterr 2017 will enable a visit to Alston from the cottage by steam train on the narrow gauge railway. (we had to walk about a mile to the current end of the line station). The local pub is a 20 minute walk and serves a good selection of home cooked food. The valley itself is peaceful and there are plenty of opportunities to explore locally on foot. Owners were extremely nice and friendly and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Broadmea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil surroundings, access to the riverbank for walks
Liked least: What's not to like??
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Broadmea Stable.
I'm sure future guests will find your information on the area very helpful.
I do hope you can return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you. Do hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Yorkshire
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you return to Broadmea Stable. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted if you would visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing