We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travellers have booked this property
Broadmea Barn and Stable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broadmea Barn and Stable
Broadmea Farm Broadmea Barn & Stable Outdoor seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Broadmea Barn and Stable
Broadmea Farm
Broadmea Barn & Stable Outdoor seating
Broadmea Barn 
Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Barn 
Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Barn
Broadmea Barn
Seating for 12 to 16
Broadmea Barn
Gallery 1
Broadmea Barn 
Gallery 1
Broadmea Barn
View to Gallery 2
Broadmea Barn 
Gallery 2
Broadmea Barn
Gallery 2
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 1 with en suite bathroom
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 2
Broadmea barn
Bedroom 3
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 4 with en suite shower room
Broadmea Barn
En suite shower room Bedroom 4
Broadmea Barn 
Bedroom 5
Broadmea Barn
Bathroom 3
Broadmea Barn
Bathroom 4 with Sauna
Quality towels and fresh linens provided at Broadmea Barn and Stable.
Broadmea Barn & Stable
Garden area
Broadmea Stable
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Stable
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Stable
Good morning!
Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable
Open plan living room with doors to patio area outside.
Broadmea Stable 
Cozy log effect fire.
Broadmea Stable
Small gallery seating area upstairs.
Broadmea Stable
Quiet gallery seating area
Broadmea Stable 
Bedroom 1 Downstairs
Broadmea Stable
Bedroom 2
Broadmea Stable
Bedroom 3
Broadmea Barn & Stable
Celebrate and relax at Broadmea!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristi A
2 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just home from the most amazing weekend at broadmea barn & stable! Spotless & everything you could possibly want for a weekend away! Absolutely fantastic and so worth the money, I'm sure my 17 friends that I shared with will agree. We will Defo return! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Lovely review, thank you so much. Pleased your large group had a great stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thanks for your excellent review. Its good to know that everything you needed for a great stay was there and that the properties worked well for your large group. Would be a pleasure to have you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bumslugga
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half-Term Holiday”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our family of five (9,10 & 15 year olds) spent an active week in the area when staying in The Stable. The accommodation was modern, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Our attentive host was most helpful including providing useful map and route cards for walks from the property. The children appreciated the Wi-Fi so they could get their fix after our days out. These included a walk to the nearby narrow gauge railway and trip to Alston, where we walked a loop south of the town. We climbed High Rigg in The Lakes as well as doing some shopping in Keswick. To celebrate our daughter's birthday we drove the 1.30hrs to the Beamish Open Air museum that filled our day and we drove back over the hills stopping for chips in Alston. A day of rain didn't stop us from visiting the Devil's Porridge museum at Gretna, Caerlaverlock Castle (in Dumfries) and the nearby wetland centre. They were setting up for BBC Autumnwatch and we met Chris Packham. We spent a full day hiking up Cross Fell - walking a stretch of the Maiden Way that links to Hadrians wall and passes The Stable. A shorter walk north to enjoy the scenery, bag a few geocaches and walk the disused railway line filled the remainder of our stay. I nipped out just before dusk to visit the nearby Whitely Castle (Epiacum), which is an easy walk from the road and the best preserved Roman fort in the empire apparently. The family enjoyed the hot shower in the wet room. We ate in every night. A quality property. Thanks to Trish for all her hard work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking time to review Broadmea Stable. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm pleased the accommodation worked well for your family. I'm sure future guests will benefit from your useful insight on walks right from the door and further afield. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jbass1
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stunningly designed, comfortable barn conversions in fabulous part of country. Beautiful place to relax surrounded by gorgeous countryside and loads of wildlife. What more can I say....?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the midges!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed Broadmea. It was a pleasure meeting you all. Hope you will find time to visit and relax with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey O
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sj s 40th celebration”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

this is the most amazing place we enjoyed a lovely weekend here and do hope to stay again great for large groups and all you need is provided

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased the Barn and Stable worked well for your large group celebrations, it's wonderful that you all had a lovely weekend. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennyswee...
1 review
“Fantastic property very welcoming!”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for my sister hen do! Was fantastic, clean and great fun! Thanks Trish you were a brilliant hostess.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
So glad to hear you had a fantastic hen do. It was a pleasure having you all to stay. Best wishes to the bride and groom on their special day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Delightfully converted barn and stable fully equipped, high standard, each with ample room for relaxing holiday with friends. Hill country behind for fresh air and exercise. Have stayed a number of times in each of barn and stable and ideal quiet escape to refresh batteries. Log fires for cooler evenings.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing