We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Heckbarley

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Ennerdale evening light Ennerdale Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
Kitchen
Ennerdale evening light
Ennerdale Water
Dining Room
Family bedroom
Heckbarley
Lounge latest pic with new chairs
Conservatory
Back garden from conservatory
Rear outlook
Enclosed Garden
Adventure playground, just down the road
Back garden fro conservatory
View of house from rear
Kitchen latest pic
Living Room old photo TV has been replaced etc
View from kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Ennerdale Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great potential !”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed as an extended family of 10 including 4 kids under 4. The house is large enough in many ways.... adequate bathrooms and bed space but annoying that we couldnt all get around one dining table to eat together. The kitchen was managable but hardly mod cons as stated in a previous review, simple things like one two slice toaster when doing breakfast for ten! The bedding and the bathrooms were clean and seemed quite new which is a good thing or I think we would have packed up on the first day! There were a few maintenance issues to say the least but I am not going to completely negatively portray the property on here as I mentioned all of these to John on my return and he was was great and offered us money off our next stay but lets hope he has whipped his house keeper into shape as she's really letting the side down when he's down south and something really needs to be done to make the house safer for the younger guests like securer gates and fencing and window restrictors, baby gates, travel cots and high chairs are provided though. The location is lovely but the road did get quite busy when we were there. The fox and hounds is a community run pub offering decent pub grub at a reasonable price so well worth supporting them while you're in their village. Its lovely up at the lake too, nothing to do except walk, play, swim and enjoy the beautiful scenery just what lakes holidays were made for! Unfortunately I wouldnt recommend it to friends as they also have young children but if things were rectified then maybe!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thanks for the comments. We did respond and get an additional toaster for large groups. Yes, we did put up additional fencing at the back where the neighbouring sheep had eaten some of the hedge. We do have stair gates, and did install window restrictors. Plus we did make sure that the side gate fastened more easily. We do have a lot of guests with young children now, and do also have travel cots and a high chair. Plus seats in the kitchen if it is easier to feed young children there. We provide games and board games in the lounge also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val P
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a lovely place to stay mostly because of the area the house was comfortable although there was some faults the bar b que was unusable so were the bikes which was disappointing .the kids loved the play park and we loved the local pubs,the food was above average,we all liked the plowmans in the shepedess.The Ennerdale Lake was beautiful and Keswick is not to far away,but the best of all was the Round Stones Site just outside Keswick it was fabulous ,not to be missed.the only thing I have to say you have to be careful if you stay with young children at Heckbarley,the windows in the bedrooms open on the bottom where it could be easy for a child to fall out we had to keep these shut during the time the kids were playing in the house otherwise it was great

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
When we heard the BBQ wasn't working properly we replaced it.
The double glazing had been replaced prior to this guest staying. We immediately put restrictors on the windows - thanks for the feedback. We do very much value all feedback to help improve things for future guests..
The bikes are not for use by guests. It was not possible to keep the bikes maintained, not to be checked and mended after each group stay. So I am sorry the bikes are not for use now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie192...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just spent a glorious week in Heckbarley. We were a party of 8; 7 adults and 1 child ranging from ages 2 - 85! The cottage catered for all of our needs. Very spacious, homely cottage. We were within easy reach if many attractions and visited St Bees, Whitehaven, Ravenglass railway, Cockermouth, Keswick, Ennerdale Water, Buttermere, Ullswater where we went on the steamer, really lovely. Etc etc. visited the Fox and Hounds (didnt sample the food here but it liked good) and the Shpherds Arms where we had food and it was very good. All in all a lovely holiday in a lovely cottage in a really lovely place. Thank you :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed it Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Standish, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“All of your home comforts”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Dealing directly with the owners John & Jacintha Ashworth was an absolute pleasure. Their 'cottage' is HUGE, we were a part of nine, three children and six adults and the cottage swallowed us up and there was room to spare.

Bedrooms are tastefully decorated, two have views over the fields and a small meandering river. There are two bathrooms upstairs and their is a 'loo' downstairs too,

Fully equipped kitchen with ample utensils, glasses and crockery.The kitchen is full of mod-cons as in fridge, freezer, dishwasher, kettle, toaster etc.

Its conveneiently located (approx 50 yards) for the local pub/restaurant.

In addition to a very spacious lounge there is a dining room and a large conservatory in a private setting overlooking the tidy garden.

Heating is via storage heaters and they put out more than adequate levels of heat. Hot water, despite 7 of us eating into it with baths 7 showers it never ran cool or cold.

There is a well stocked library of local guide books and maps with lots of recommendations.

The lounge has Sky TV and there is Wi-fi too.

There is a utiliy room with laundry facilities just off the kitchen

Remember this is someone's home all be it second home, it is not a hotel so you need to treat it with respect. John has a noticeboard of information some about the area, some about the do's and don'ts please pay attention to them, to a lot of us its just commonsense/courtesy to empty bins etc, not disturb the neighbours, not to enter the house in muddy boots etc.

Although sited on the 'main road' through the village of Ennerdale bridge as a village you need to really have a reason to drive through (as in its off the busy main tourist routes) but that just delivers tranquility.

Would I recommend it? A resounding YES! All being well we will return to this area of the Lake District in the spring and having experienced it I will not be looking to stay anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness & Location
Liked least: Its like asking what part of an excellent meal you didn't enjoy? We loved everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Really pleased you had such a good time. Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a detailed review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cacko21
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I have stayed for the second time in Heckbarley (last year in July and this August 24-26th). The cottage is just 1.5 mile away from Ennerdale Water (beautiful walk) and has plenty amazing views and walks to offer.
The cottage is beautiful, very clean and big. It has 4 good size bedrooms, 3 toilets (1 shower and 1 bath), lounge, dining room, big kitchen with all necessary appliances (microwave, oven, fridge/freezer, dishwasher etc) and plenty dishes and cutlery, conservatory, big garden and garrage (pool, table tennis, bicycles etc). John (the Owner) is very nice person who makes sure that your stay is very enjoyable. It has something for everyone - Sky tv, wifi, IPod player, games, DVDs etc. If you like walking and discovering places just like us you will find plenty maps and suggestions in the house.
I would recommend this place to families and friends...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean was the place, welcoming owner and comfortable rooms
Liked least: No mobile receptions - but this is a problem in the Lakes plus you are there for holidays not long chats on the phone :)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Really pleased you enjoy it as much as we do
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$283
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing