We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful place!”
Review of Eskdale Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eskdale Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
manchester uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a free weekend, so decided to use the tent we had bought two years previously!!, we had no idea where we were going, except we wanted to go to the Lake District, so I had a look on the net for camp sites, and thought this one looked nice, so we phoned up, bearing in mind it was the summer holidays, we managed to book a pitch for the night which we thought was very reasonable, if i remember right it was around £23, luckily for us the lady we spoke to at the campsite advised us not to take the sat nav route, and gave us other directions, which looking at the reviews on here was a good call, I dont know if i would handle the Hardnott Pass!!. We drove from Bolton, and it took about 2 hours to reach the campsite, It was a very beautiful drive, and when we arrived at the site we were immediately impressed, you book in at the site shop, the people are very friendly and helpful and answer any questions you have, ours were mainly about the local pubs, and then they show you to your pitch, we felt quite ashamed of our three man pop up tent, as everyone around us had these amazing, huge house like tents, with barbeque areas etc, it all looked very cool, anyway, we got over that, popped our tent up, and went off to explore, we had our 6 year old daughter with us and she was very impressed with the childrens play area, they had a large trampoline, and various other playground equipment, which backed on to a wooded area, and lovely walks, we walked for miles, then headed back to the site, The site also had toilet blocks with amazing showers and private changing areas, all very modern and clean, a drying room, and they also had pods and barns which you could hire which looked fantastic. We spent the evening at the Boot Inn, which was busy, lovely and friendly, with a large outside area, another fab play area, and the food was great. After a very soggy night in our tent, which leaked horrifically, and nearly suffocated us!! (DO NOT BUY £12.99 TENTS) they do not work!!, ours is now in the bin!!, at half five in the morning, we used those amazing showers, oh so good!! (all the other people were still asleep in there lovely huge, dry tents!!) and then we went for another walk in the woods, and then into Boot itself, which is such a pretty village, very idyllic, with a working old water mill, and then for a full English Breaksfast at The Boot In again, very huge and delicious!!, so that was our experience, so if you have a huge, cool tent, which keeps you nice and dry at night, I fully recommend it, we now have a much better tent, so no more soggy nights for us!!

Room Tip: For a different camping experience, book one of the camping pods, around £40 per night, they looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arielManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Word or warning before anyone drives there, unless you want a driving experience you will never forget and have a car with lots of power and excellent tyres do not follow the route supplied on Google maps or by your Sat Nav. Go over towards Whitehaven and around to avoid Hardknott pass (some of the steepest roads in the UK apparently). At 30% gradient pretty much all of the way it made for an interesting experience. The sheep who wildly run about and lie on the road were also an added bonus. However, upon arriving at Eskdale, it was definitely worth it, and something to talk about several times after.

When we arrived it was quite late about 10:00, we had to call, to get access to the check in area. This also doubles as a little shop, handy if you have forgotten anything as the closest shop is about 3 miles away. The chap was very nice and not at all upset that we had arrived so late, I think possibly it happen a lot when people follow their Sat Nav and find themselves fighting the winding roads and jumping sheep.

My Partner and I stayed here with two friends and we stayed in camping pods, for two nights, £40.85 per pod per night. This is the first time I have stayed in one and would definitely rate them over the hassle of tents. You still need everything you would in your tent but not having to erect and take down, especially in the rain, was bliss.
They pod was clean, had lighting and we were given a small gas heater (which wasn’t needed). We were placed in a nicely wooded area with a round picnic bench to share with 2 other pods around. It rained both nights and the pods remained fully dry inside and they were warm too. There were pods behind us where more families seem to have been placed, We were placed in an area where two groups of Lads were staying I think potentially the owners consider their visitors needs when booking to ensure they stay around people with similar interests etc. The campsite has a policy of quiet after 23:00 at night which was fine for us and we just made sure we were especially quiet after this time. Where trees have been felled to make space these have been recycled to create benches, walkways and wood off cuts for resting disposable BBQ’s on so as not to start fires or burn the decking. There are clearly marked walkways around the site and in creating the campsite the owners have done this well not making it look out of place in the countryside.

The facilities are brilliant with the showers and toilets being cleaned daily and to a high standard. There are also areas to wash up dishes and washing and drying facilities should you be there more than a couple of days.

Guaranteed no matter what your pursuits and reason for staying you will be very happy with returning to Eskdale after your day of activities to settle down for the evening, in beautiful surroundings with excellent facilities.

I would definitely recommend if you are staying here you treat yourself on your departing day to a full English at the Boot In (http://www.bootinn.co.uk/) just up the road. More red meat, eggs, beans, mushrooms, toast and tea or coffee than you can imagine, all for £6.50 and served until 10:00 which is perfect as it’s your check out time.

Actually, maybe you do need to do Hardknott pass, for the challenge …

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is the our second visit here. Yes I know it was a bank hol weekend & yes the site is fantastic but...due to the number of pitches allowed onto the site the facilities were way too swamped!! of the 3 WC's in the mens toilets two were blocked by 9.30am. And the queue and frustration was getting bigger! They need to limit the piches in future. Saying that we will return again as the area and local pubs are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was a first camping trip for my daughter who was 18 months old at the time so I'm so glad we picked this site .. it was a perfect 3 nights. The site is spotlessly clean and very well organised.

We had a very 'interesting' journey to the site as the sat nav directed us across the Wrynose and Hardknott pass .. I can tell you with a car fully laden with camping gear, wife and little one on board & to add to the mix running low on fuel this was no joke! But this was my lack of planning and I'll know for next time, I will certainly be finding another route.

The roads are a consideration, there was not any touring vans when we were there, it may be possible to get one there, but it must be too much bother for the vast majority.

The location itself is amazing, so beautifully remote, yet two great pubs within easy walking distance - the closest very child friendly with high chairs and a big play area. We also did the Beckfoot - Ravensglass steam railway trip that again is an easy walk away.

We will definitely be going back, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is one of the cleanest and most well looked after camp sites we have ever seen. The owners are friendly and very helpful! The Boot Inn around the corner is very reasonable and does a good feed!

We have just returned from a very wet few days in Eskdale but have had a wonderful time! The scenery and walks amazing and the hospitality by the campsite and locals impeccable! A definite return venue!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chem_teacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had a great few days at this impeccable site in Eskdale. Friendly staff who pretty much leave you alone to enjoy your holiday. Although you may bump into them when getting up in the night to use the bathroom - the only ones still up cleaning away! We had 3 young kids and allowing them to run off and play happily and safely with the other kids on site was a real plus. The lovely Esk River, the steam railway and the excellent Brook House Inn literally a minutes walk away. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jbiscuitesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My third visit in as many years, and the site now features a third camping area to the rear of the camping pods and Eel Beck which is ideal for solo campers or those looking to be away from family groups.

The Eskdale site is for campers and a few small motorhomes only and does not suffer from caravans. Facilities include immaculate toilet blocks, camping barn, shop, drying room, camping bods, children's play area and very professional staff.

The site is 2 mins walk from the Brook House Inn and the Boot Inn and 10 mins walk to the Woolpack Inn, all of which come recommended.

The beauty of Eskdale and indeed the Western Lakes is that the hordes of coach parties and tourists simply do not make it across here which is a blessing for those who want to feel the 'real' Lake District. Scafell Pike can be walked from the campsite, wild swimming in the River Esk, Waswater a stones through away, England's most challenging road, The Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway, Hardknoot Roman Fort are just a few things immediately at hand to this site.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank flightlevel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
23.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
34.2 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
531 reviews
10.5 km away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
365 reviews
18.1 km away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
154 reviews
1.7 km away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskdale Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Campsite

Property: Eskdale Campsite
Address: | Holmrook, Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale > Boot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Boot
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping and Glamping site,we take tents and trailer tents. Motorhomes and campervans. we also have electric hook ups which are all 16amps. Fully licensed shop on site selling all the daily stuff. 5 star facilities. camping charges include every thing, no hidden costs. We have 10 camping pods and a camping barn. our pods sleep a family of 4 or 3 x adults and our camping barn sleeps up to 8 people. Pets are very welcome in our pods and barn as well as the campsite. 3 Lakeland local pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eskdale Camping And Caravanning Hotel Boot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing