We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and warm welcome for weary travellers!”
Review of The High Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The High Cross Inn
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality and warm welcome for weary travellers!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Catherine and Chris made us very welcome after we were stranded on a road that became dangerous in wintery conditions. We were rescued by the local communitiy and taken to The High Cross Inn where Catherine and Chris took care of us. They provided food and drink and conversation that helped to calm our nerves. Fantastic! Thank you from the 3 weary travellers and 2 labrador dogs :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cahilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I was surprised by my boyfriend with a stay at the High Cross Inn, and what a lovely surprise it was!
We couldn't have asked for anything more, we were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who showed us to our room, which was furnished with everything you need for a short stay. The staff in the bar were friendly and we commented on how well stocked the bar was with a wide range of beers and ciders.
In the evening we dined in the conservatory where the food was excellent and definately of restaurant standard. We were asked what time we would like breakfast the following morning and when we came down the table was ready for us where we had great views and great food too!!
We would definately recommend the High Cross Inn for its friendly staff, great food and overall great stay.
We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I recently organised a two day press trip for one of my PR clients involving bringing 11 trade press editors up to Broughton. We used a selection of hotels and guest houses in the area to accommodate our guests, but the trip centred around the High Cross Inn where we entertained the editors. The food on both nights was superb, high quality and plenty of it, and they made sure we had plenty of choice of menu on both nights. The service was also excellent with nothing being too much trouble for the landlady Angie and her staff. I'd have no hesitation in recommending the High Cross Inn for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

family run, warm welcome, great views, lovely food. informal. bar and food from 5pm was going to stay one night, but like it so much im still there as i write this (3nights)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keef4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

What a great place to have a wonderful wedding. We had book the High Cross for our wedding in September hoping for great weather but unfortunately it didn't stop raining all day and night. The food was absolutely gorgeous and went down a treat with all of our guests, we didn't have the traditional sit down meal we opted for a hot and cold buffet which Angie the owner accommodated very well in helping us to decide what to have. We also decided not to have wine either but kopperberg cider instead. If you want a very relaxed wedding reception like ours then choose the High cross.We had 135 people to the reception and Angie had put a marquee up at the front of the hotel to accommodate everyone and decorated the tables with flowers and confetti. We had Sharrons balloons from Millom and got our wedding cake from Scuptious in Ulverston who also delivered to the High Cross. We certainly recommend The High Cross for weddings and parties with excellent views and comfortable rooms.
Thank you so much to Angie and her team.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulverston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Called in for lunch with family. Friendly staff, service average, nobody checked to see if our lunch was ok and plates weren't cleared away until after we left, - weren't offered desserts but I guess we could have gone back to the bar to ask for them. Limited, basic menu but freshly prepared and tasty - nothing fancy but we were only looking for a bite to eat. Wonderful weather so we sat outside and admired the fantastic views - would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24queenstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I've known this place for many years and it's in better hands now than it has ever been. Mine Host Angie, just two years in residence, is driving forward various improvements with remarkable energy and dedication. It is an ideal base for parties of up to 10 or so visiting the Lakes for walking/cycling etc. Situated on the hill above Broughton in Furness, it is comfortable, welcoming and reasonably priced. The centre of the village is a five minute walk away. The bar is traditional and atmospheric and there is always a fine choice of cask ales. On a recent visit one of our party asked for a particular single malt which was not available, but by the next evening, it was on the shelf. The dining room is an absolute delight, a light and airy conservatory, just through from the bar, and the view is to die for. Food and location compliment each other, both of the same high standard. On a summer evening, stroll out to the patio for your after dinner fag to enjoy the views and the breeze coming up from the Duddon half a mile below. Bliss!. I wish Angie and all her delightful staff every success. They deserve it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedontheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The High Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Cross Inn

Property: The High Cross Inn
Address: Broughton in Furness LA20 6ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton in Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The High Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Coaching Inn with Open Fire and Conservatory Restaurant with Magical Food & Spectacular Views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing