We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley House
Ranked #8 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Excellent B&B. Large well decorated rooms with river views. Good "help yourself to as much as you want" breakfast. 2 good food pubs within a few minutes walk. Free lift to the Woolpack Inn. Friendly staff. Impossible to fault.
The Eskdale steam railway stops close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 28was nice with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 104 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Arrived at Stanley house on the 18th April 2015 arrived about 5.30pm there was a red phone in the porch that I rang the door was locked. A lady answered and said someone will be with you in a minute so stood outside with all my bags my partner and our dog 10 minutes later still nobody, then a girl popped out from nowhere saying I can let you in but that's all because I am only staying here. She then rang someone on phone inside that said someone is on there way up eventually 10 minutes later a guy turned up. He said hello give us our key showed us to our room and then left no conversation regarding food or check out time apart from you can get food in my other pub down the road. So having a look round the room looked ok very hot basic doesn't warrant the money we paid but it was last minute so I sorted accepted it. The room was very small could of done with good dusting and clean there was no hot water. It was more like a hostel than a hotel wouldn't stay again but it's not the worst Iv been in. More communication wouldn't go a miss.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We met as a large family (30 of us from around the country) and the ample bedroom space and en suites suited us perfectly. Then owners even stuck in extra beds for the kids.
The media room came in handy for those moments when we weren't on the hills and the hotline direct to the pub was handy not only for getting things sorted but also for placing our food order and arranging transport. They actually came in an army style truck each night to transport us to and from the bar for our evening meal.
There is a B and B option but we chose to go full self catering (eating at the pub on the evening). Crockery, pans, dishwashers, fridges, etc. all available without question.
The massive garden area was great for treasure hunts and the river runs right past with a little beach area for paddling access.
All in all a great facility in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Found this big gem of a place with a random Google seach. We managed to fit our extended family of 30 into this well organised and laid out premises. Plenty to do in the local area with walks, trains, Ales (at the Woolpack) and even big deep plunge pools where some of our brave party braved the cold....great fun! We even organised via West Lakes Adventure a great day of Archey for the whole family where they came and set up in our massive garden. On the whole we are not a fussy bunch but appreciate quality and we certainly enjoyed a quality weekend at Stanley House. We will definitely be back

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Our extended family of 30 enjoyed a lovely weekend at Stanley house. We had 19 adults and 11 children and found that the property met all our needs. We appreciated the many bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms, the dining area was ideal and the grounds were fabulous for the kids playing. We had glorious weather and had a great time exploring some of the local countryside, enjoying the nearby train ride and of course, dining at the Woolpack Inn where we were very well looked after! We especially appreciated being chauffeured there and back from the restaurant in their very own army truck!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

We love this place. Friendly and welcoming this is a fantastic place for walkers. Great breakfast, a roaring fire, steaming hot showers, a drying room for your soggy kit and a lift up to the sister business, the Woolpack, if your legs are too tired after a day in the fells.

The owners are lovely and leave you to your own devices but are just a call away on the hotline. Dogs are welcome in some of the rooms and the whole place has a lovely relaxed, un-fussy, genuinely Cumbrian atmosphere.

We've been before and will be back again soon.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Stayed here for a long weekend and had great time. The staff were supurb, as was the breakfast. The room was more than adequate with great views. Free lift to the pub in the Army Truck was good fun. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank win657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eskdale hotels
3.7 km away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
396 reviews
2.3 km away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
284 reviews
6.3 km away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
389 reviews
2.6 km away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
3.2 km away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: Stanley Ghyll House Station Road | Beckfoot, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: $117 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing