We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
55
31
8
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
31
8
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews army truck woolpack inn entire house the pub steam train great kitchen perfect weekend self catering ravenglass and eskdale railway hardknott pass plenty of hot water ensuite pubs walks route boots hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 106 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for catering for us all last Easter weekend. My family and i had such a brilliant time, it was just perfect for all 28 of us to reunite.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; very comfy beds, hot powerful showers, spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen, open fire and the cinema room which was a great hit for the kids!

The meal at The Woolpack Inn was also very lovely. Quick, efficient service. Our taxi to the pub in the Army Truck was fab and even my 88 year old Grannie came on it too!

We wiill definitely be booking with you guys again in the future!!
Hope to be back soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank kayw732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

I recently organised a family get together at Stanley House , Eskdale , on a self catering basis . This was no mean feat; as there was 24 of us . ( I should have hired a sheep dog too )
The house is over 200 years old and showing signs( As you would expect ) of wear and tear. Saying that, all rooms were large and clean, with lots of hot water. Paddington made sure that the rooms were made up in the configurations to suit our families needs and was on hand during our stay to answer any questions .
The kitchen is large & well equipped and looks out on the beautiful gardens and river, that runs past the house .
Opposite Stanley House, is the Beckfoot Station. Where the La'al Ratty narrow gauge steam train runs (Means small train) this does not detract from the peace and quiet of Eskdale. It is a 10 min walk to Dalesgarth Station to buy your tickets to Ravenglass . A 40 min journey. There is a beach, two pubs , a Roman bath house and a post office but not much else. The train brought back some lovely childhood memories for most of us .
There are several pubs within a 1/2 - 2 miles of the house which serves lovely home made food.
Local walks are well maintained, from waterfall walks to flatter ground for the less abled.
Stanley House is in a beautiful part of the Lake District & as Arnold Swartzenager said "I'll be back "

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank JUNE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2017

Booked last minute overnight stay, to attend a family funeral in the area. Arrived late at night from Gosforth in the rain and found the hotel locked. There is a phone and the lady said she was on her way. We waited a few minutes in the cramped porch. She was friendly and immediately showed us to our rooms and started the fire. As we were the only guests that night, the hotel was not heated. Even on full, the radiators were only warm and I had to keep my coat on the entire time. The fire went out after the lady left and there were no firelighters. We got the fire going. And heated our beds with a hairdryer we brought and took blankets from the wardrobe. Was warm once I was in bed. If not specified, the rate is for room only,. Breakfast is extra. The tea and coffee is in the well equipped kitchen, I suggest bringing bread and butter or whatever you have for breakfast as you can make this yourself in the morning, in fact, the lady did not even return the following day when we checked out and told us to leave the keys inside. When we complained about the cold, she said that was strange and then conformed she would take the remainder of the charge for the rooms off the credit card. The kitchen has 2 fridges and an ice maker, 2 toasters, 2 kettles and a coffee maker. There is a large hob for cooking, a microwave and 2 dishwashers. We had the house to ourselves, which was lovely. It is close to the railway line, there are several B &Bs nearby which seemed to have more life than Stanley House - probably because it was low season, although it wasn't cheap. The area is stunning! If you are prepared with your own supplies, this is a great option. The decor is tired, but actually quite charming and the water is hot, but takes at least 10 minutes to warm up. Take all your toiletries, only hand wash is provided, but lots of towels.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haight_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We took the whole house for the weekend for a large family celebration. Nice rooms, well equipped kitchen, lovely wood stove in the main room. Location is gorgeous. Perfect for our needs! Some of the decor is a little tired but all in all it was very comfortable. There's even a cinema in the basement.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2016

There were 14 of us stayed at Stanley House for the weekend and it was fab! The bedrooms were all comfortable and the noise minimal. It is equipped with a great kitchen and dining area, which was ideal for cooking and eating the evening meal on the first night. There are also 2 dishwashers! It was great to sit in front of the wood burning stove in the living area to chat and play games. On the Saturday night we were picked up in the army truck and driven to The Woolpack for our evening meal - it was a memorable experience. Stanley House is perfect as a Party House or just a chill out after walking house. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Julia3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews