We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Arms Hotel(Calder Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnthwaite Farm(Wasdale Head)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gate House(Eskdale)
View Hotel
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
65
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hot showerwarm welcomedebbiewalkswasdale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed last week with Johnny and Debbie in Gosforth, when British summertime was not at it's best! We got a lovely, warm welcome from Johnny when we arrived and were taken straight away to our yurt, which I think from the two has the best position overlooking the fells and on a clear day overlooking Scafell Pike (Two days out of seven!)
Yurt in the Paddock was fantastic, very comfortable for persons of 6ft plus. There was PROPER double bed with two futon beds for boys.
Yurt furnished in traditional Moroccan style, with low leather stools, red/orange/purple throws and sheepskin rugs - so warm and welcoming and the wood burning stove was an additional asset!
Full English breakfast in the farmhouse was to die for, the bacon from a local butcher was the best I have ever had!
Johnny and Debbie were so helpful in advising us about walking days, wet weather days and even opened up their own barn to our sons (usually for private use) for table tennis, pool, darts etc.
Nothing is too much trouble, always on hand to help - unsurpassable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Rainors farm is lovely, the owners and friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, very comfortable with a good bathroom, with a power shower (what you need after trekking up and down Scarfell Pike). Amazing view from the bedroom window. Great place

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djegf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A group of 4 of us have recently stayed in the holiday cottage at Rainors Farm. It was the perfect size for 4 of us. All amenities were spotless and our stay was brilliant. Two bedrooms with twin or double beds, 1 bathroom and a living room downstairs with a private patio to the front of the house (which was lovely for breakfast on the sunny mornings).

B&B is run by a lovely couple who are very welcoming and always happy to help, also very knowledgeable about the area, walking routes and places to visit.

Within walking distance to the nearest village but set on its own amongst the back drop of Scaffell and Wast water valley. I would recommend Rainors Farm to anyone as a great base to explore the Western Lakes from.

Tip - Tesco can deliver to the Farm for your food/drink supplies.

We will be back...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My son and I needed to spend a couple of days finishing the western fells and found Rainors Farm to be an excellent base for our walks. We were greeted by Johnny & Debbie, who were charming hosts. It is near to Nether Wasdale, our large room had a double and twin bed, tea/coffee making and bathroom with a superb power shower. Breakfast was substantial, using local, quality ingredients including freshly laid eggs from the hens they keep. We spoke with people staying in the Yurts and they were very impressed. We ate a huge meal in the Strands Inn in Nether Wasdale one night which is about two miles away. We will return next year to finish off our Wainwright round.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigbird122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

A wonderful romantic yurt with all the essentials and luxuries and such delicious breakfasts each morning in the b&b. With such welcoming hosts and beautiful surroundings we can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews