We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
311
225
85
37
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
225
85
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hotelfour poster bedbar areaevening mealbuffet stylenight breaklake districtgarden roomcream teabusy roadopen fireboth nightsthe ground floorshort stayfamily roomlovely hotelbar menu
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 682 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017

Newby Bridge Hotel is beautifully situated and very convenient for the Lakes. It has recently been upgraded and our room was lovely. Everything matched which is often not the case and the bathroom was spotless.
The breakfast was very good with a good choice of hot food and very well presented fruit salad etc.
The staff were helpful and pleasant. All together very much recommended.
There is a pool and spa too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maclaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Lovely review thank you. We really appreciate the 5 star review too and the comments about our lovely staff. Thanks for recommending the hotel to others and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. If you want to visit south attractions in the Lake District such as the motor museum, steam railway and the aquarium it is a good central hotel. Some may find it old fashioned but we love that and would call it more classic. Staff were lovely people especially the bar man. Food in the bar was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and in a gorgeous room looking out onto the garden. We can't recommend the Sunday carvery because we didn't enjoy it. The pool and spa were a big bonus and clean. The rooms were well equipped with plenty of tea, coffee and milk. Great hairdryer. Room servicing was a bit hit and miss! Sunday the room was barely touch but they had a wedding on. Room 10 avoid if you're a light sleeper. It's over the kitchen and you hear a fan running early!! Plus shouting and banging around. We had earplugs but if we hadn't we would've asked to be moved. A member of staff should sleep in there and find out how noisy it is!! All in all we would go back without hesitation just not to room 10. Lovely hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank JANEK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Thanks very much for your nice review and visiting us during a very busy time. We're delighted to read your comments about our location, food and breakfast as well. We certainly appreciate the comments on where we can improve as well, always very helpful. We do hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to the Lake District. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Stayed here with family and friends. Good sized room, nicely decorated and clean.

Good seating area downstairs for the bar with outdoor seating also, selling hand-pulled local beers.

Breakfast was an all-you-can eat affair offering a great range of options.

Would recommend,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BCFC56-YNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Thanks so much for your nice review and stay. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your lovely comments about our breakfast and accommodation. We're delighted everyone had a nice stay and hope to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We stayed in Room 3 front of the Hotel, constant noise from the traffic on the main road all through the night.
The room was shabby, the window boxes have dead flowers and stubs from cigarette ends, so the room was obviously used for smoking, probably why the window were open when we arrived. Bed making skills were poor, there was no evidence of any cleaning on the second day. the en suite had been refurbished but was a bit on the small side. The breakfast was ok except could have been better if you could have a pot of tea instead of having to fetch and make it your self, not good for anyone with an unsteady hand. The restaurant food was acceptable but poor choice. The waitress did not know how to remove the cork so asked the waiter who did not know either, so I had to remove it myself, on the second night we had a waitress who could remove the cork, meal times in the restaurant were poor, you could either have 6.45pm or 8pm nothing in between presumably due to the coach parties. The bar bill had someone else's food/drinks on it which the receptionist removed. We did highlight some of these thing to her and she responded by saying that the waiter had only just started there and the regular barman was away. I think staff training would not go amiss here.
We do not think we will be staying again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank T7172LVinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Thanks for the feedback of your stay. We obviously wish things had gone better for you and we're very sorry they didn't. We are busy training the new waiter, as always, but sometimes these things take a bit longer in a busy hotel setting. We're sorry that you won't give us a second chance, but again, your feedback is most welcome. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

The manager Debbie was very helpful throughout the planning process. The room was beautifully laid out in an agreed colour scheme and we were able to add decorations and balloons to it. We went for a pie and peas option with chips and the meal was excellent. The hotel organized the DJ who also sang and the evening was a great success.
A big thank you to Debbie, Nick the chef and all the team.

An excellent venue to hold a big celebration.

Some of our guests stayed at the hotel but as I live locally I cannot comment on the bedrooms as I did not see them.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 105jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Wonderful to read this lovely review about a special birthday. It was our pleasure to host the event and we are delighted everyone had an enjoyable time. We are delighted with your comments and the lovely, 5 star rating. It means a lot to us! We hope to see you again in the future, for another event or just for a meal! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews