We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you don't love this, there's no hope for you”
other travellers have booked this property
Grisedale Cottage - a real home from home in the heart of the Lake District
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grisedale Cottage - a real home from home in the heart of the Lake District
The beautiful sunny lounge at Grisedale Cottage You can home to a real fire - all fuel provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Grisedale Cottage - a real home from home in the heart of the Lake District
The beautiful sunny lounge at Grisedale Cottage
You can home to a real fire - all fuel provided.
The lounge at Grisedale Cottage
Comfortable settees for relaxing on and plenty of seating for everyone.
Lots of local information and guide books for you to use.
You will love dining at home at Grisedale Cottage
The lovely kitchen which overlooks the garden.
The kitchen at Grisedale Cottage
The kitchen is well equipped and you should have most things you need for a night in.
The well equipped kitchen at Grisedale Cottage
The conservatory makes a lovely dining area .... overlooking the private garden.
The conservatory leads into the private garden to the rear of the cottage
The ground floor double bedroom with en suite toilet.
The ground floor double bedroom
The first floor twin bedroom.
The charming twin bedroom with Lakeland views
The first floor twin bedroom at Grisedale Cottage
The lovely single room with views of Place Fell
The newly refurbished bathroom with bath and separate shower - ideal after a long day in the hills.
The lovely bathroom with separate walk in shower.
The ground floor sauna which has its own shower room
Ample opportunity to enjoy al fresco dining and admire the views
The view from the secluded garden towards Place Fell
Autumn colours. - looking over Glenridding to Ullswater lake
Bluebells near Lanty's Tarn - a short walk from the cottage
Looking south down Ullswater from the head of the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Patterdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
baytree17...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you don't love this, there's no hope for you”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I can offer no better recommendation to the properties owned and run by Christine and John than he fact that my partner Christine and I have returned every year without fail for nearly two decades. Grisedale cottage has become our favourite for many good reasons.
The welcome is without fail warm: there is always a local weather printout waiting for us so that we kno what to expect; milk inthe fridge and some biscuits to go with a cuppa following a long drive.
We are now well into a routine on the first day of our stay: leave home in plenty of time to call in at Booths supermarket in Windermere to stock up for the week; get lunch at the Queen's Head at Troutbeck on the way up Kirkstone Pass; check in to the cottage; and leave time for a walk, maybe up Grisedale, just a few yards from the cottage. It's a hugely anticipated routine that never fails to put us immediately into 'Grisedale Mode'.
Grisedale Copttage is superbly equipped for a week's walking and exploring. If you prefer low-level, easy rambles, just step out along the valley floor to Brotherswater, around the lake and return; or take the new route from Glenridding up to Aira Force (you can now catch one of the lake launches now apparently!, and walk back). Highe-level walks are available in spades too. We catch the bus locally up to Pooley Bridge at the head of the lake and wal back down the far side of Ullswater -- a tremendous day out, and taking in one of Wainwright's favourite routes.
You might just like to spend time at the cottage. For supplies, Patterdale's village shop is excellent for papers and basic supplies -- good bread! go early! -- and the Cumbrian Food Hall on the way into Penrith has some nice local foods -- there's another branch of Booths in Penrith, thank the good lord -- excellent for wine and beers! and fish. and meat. and cheese. and many other things too.
THe lovely conservatory at Grisedale Cottage i a lovely place to spend a damp afternoon, watching the birds (take some bird seed for the feeders!)or take a sauna and relax completely. How many holiday cottages have a sauna?
Walkers note: apart from the sauna there is also an extremely useful drying cabinet off the bathroom which can save a lot of grief after a day of Lakes weather, and the solid-fuel fire in the living room is a wonderful thing to sit in front of while dinner's in the oven.
If you're visiting in the depths of winter, stock up well before you arrive. I'd rather be sitting in the conservatory with a glass of Scotch and the heating turned up, than trying to get over Kirkstone Pass without four-wheel drive
Whatever you want from a Lakes break there can't be a nicer place to enjoy it than at Grisedale Cottage. And if you prefer to have all the work done for you, Christine runs a lovely B&B at Grisedale Lodge (Lower Grisedale Lodge is also available to lease, and a very cosy stay it provides too; it's our second favourite of the Kenyon/Varley estate portfolio; search too for Stybarrow Cottage in Glenridding -- brilliantly placed for an assault on Helvellyn inter alia.

Enjoy your stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Lovely to hear from you. You get the prize for our longest review yet! Thank you so much. See you both soon. We've made a few changes at Grisedale Cottage since your last stay so we hope that you approve. Looking forward to catching up on your news.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cariadell...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you need at any time of the year”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow how special was this cottage.It had lots of surprises a spacious main bathroom which was immaculate with a drying room off it,lovely conservatory leading to pleasant garden.The sauna was a treat but it did eat up the coins.Perfect location for walks from the front door.We had a very happy time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
And thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the new bathroom and the sauna ..... which is a bit of a surprise in a Lakeland cottage! Hope to see you all again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiestg...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“We needed a break and this was perfect!”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a week: sun and warmth in the Lake District in April! After a tough time at work, we decided to take a last minute break and were fortunate to find space at Grisedale Cottage. Glenridding is fast becoming a second home and I just wish it was closer to my first! The cottage is comfortable with everything one could need in the kitchen, and it has a brand new bathroom. Chris and John are right over the road if anything goes wrong - it didn't - and there are various pubs and eateries within easy walking distance. We arrived back home revitalised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2015
Hello again. Really pleased that we were able to help with your last minute break in April and that you were able to make the most of the weather. Look forward to seeing you again in July and hope that your friend's outward bound course goes well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seanpaulb...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

i have stayed in lots of holiday cottages in the UK and Ireland and this has to be one of the best. The location is fabulous with walks galore on your doorstep. Both long and high level walks and less strenuous ones at a lower level. Several pubs within easy walking distance all serving reasonable food. The cottage itself is very very clean and comfortable with all you need. Wifi is available which for those that want it a real bonus. Walking into a room with a lit fire and some cake was a real treat. The owners really go that extra mile to make you feel welcome which can be seen in the standard of the cottage. Highly recommended to couples wanting a break from it all and a real treat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Grisedale Cottage. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get out in the Lakeland fells. See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baskervil...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very very warm and cosy”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

cottage is in excellent spot with dedicated parking(absolute necessity I feel).
Ideal for a chill out or a walking base.
when we arrived.. fire was lit so we felt at home right away.
downstairs bedroom and toilet /shower so ideal also for less able.
local pubs and shops excellent.

very clean and well maintained.
added benefit is the sauna///after a cold brisk walk I bet this would be sheer Heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and warm
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grisedale Cottage. It is a wonderful location for walking. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyLake...
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Base for workers or walkers”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were actually staying in the cottage whilst doing some DIY work, so would not normally choose January. I had been worried that the cottage would be very cold with it being January and with snow on the ground but this was not the case at all. Once we got the heaters on and the log burner stoked up we were as cosy as could be and it was great to return to the cottage after a day outside working in this stunning location. I especially liked listening to the Tawny and Barn owls which we could hear as soon as it became dusk - perfect location for fans of Harry Potter I guess! Take your own Broomstick!

It is also within good walking distance of local pubs in either direction, and if we had not been working we would certainly have been off up the hills as there are enough walks.

Facilities were good in the kitchen and living room and the bathroom looked brand new to me. I know the B and B at Grisedale Lodge is very well respected and I am sure that a large group could book both and be very very happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being Cozy!
Liked least: Nothing, all was good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank for your the superb new shelving that you have installed at Grisedale Cottage and for taking the time to write a review. It is a lovely warm and cosy cottage and it's great being able to come back to the warmth of the woodburner. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you get to enjoy some of the walks next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gcheshire
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, highly recommended!”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Absolutely charming cottage, immaculately clean, equipped with everything we could possibly require.
Wonderful friendly owners. The fire was lit, Xmas tree was decorated and twinkling in the conservatory, chocolates and homemade biscuits were provided too for our new year stay, Christine and John had thought of everything! The cottage is located in a beautiful spot ideal for exploring the walks in the area.
We really couldn't recommend the cottage enough, and next time we are in the uk we will definitely visit again, thank you John and Christine for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Really pleased that you enjoyed your New Year stay at Grisedale Cottage .... and well done on your Mew Year's Day swim. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing