We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at the Strands last week with my Dad for a few nights on a short walking-break in the Lake District. We received a warm welcome from all of the staff and were blessed with beautiful summer-like weather.

We ate here every night and the food was excellent. I was also very impressed with the in-house beers which are far better quality wise than I've experienced from other microbreweries. There was a choice of 6 ales available at all times!

The rooms are cosy but very clean and well serviced, with everything you could need.

It really is a fantastic base to explore this most beautiful part of the Lake District, with plenty of walks available from the pub itself, or a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notters_the_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    44
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
75
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

As soon as you walk into this part of gods country, the warm welcome is evident. There is a good choice of cask ales (on site micro brewery) and wines. The food is of an excellent standard and reasonably priced.

Well done to all the staff.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Another great weekend for our annual winter trip to Wasdale. Despite the gloomy and blustery weather, Mark and Lesley made us all very welcome, again. Great food including some lovely fish and a great range of beers, all priced very reasonably. Room rate discounted during this winter season makes the place even more appealing but its the lively atmosphere of the place, especially round the warm fire in the bar, that makes this such a cosy retreat. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A large group of us visit twice a year and it really feels like home - but in a brilliant location and with no work to do ourselves! Mark and Lesley have made some fantastic improvements in terms of decor upstairs and the layout of the pub downstairs. The food is great in the bar and the beer is top draw. A great location and the hotel keeps getting better and better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at The Strands recently and found it to be an excellent hotel with a very good micro brewery attached. The food was excellent and the service brilliant. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roytoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire.uk
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A group of us booked for a walking weekend, having stayed two years ago, it simply gets better. The Upstairs had just had new carpet and the bedrooms too, really plush.
Everything worked.
Superb food in the bar, excellent choice and portions too. The Beers are quite amazing.
Lesley & Mark work hard to create a good atmosphere.
Long to return

Room Tip: Beautiful new carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Brilliant people. Really friendly locals. Lovely thoughtful management and staff. Awesome beers. Gorgeous location. Beer garden at the back. Tasty pub food. Excellent atmosphere. Overall highly recommended! Wish I lived nearby!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
6.0 km away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
5.8 km away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
29.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
416 reviews
17.2 km away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
810 reviews
35.1 km away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery

Property: The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Address: Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strands Inn & Micro Brewery Mark and Lesley Corr welcome everybody to our Friendly Public Houses with Accommodation which we have been running the Strands Inn successfully since June 2006 with comfortable rooms serving full English breakfast. We are in the process of purchasing the Screes Inn since April 2017 hopefully contracts completed by May (watch this space) The Srcees Inn (From May 2017) Accommodation consists of 6 doubles 1 twin 2 family rooms The Strands Accommodation consists of 2 singles 8 doubles 4 twins and can be accommodating to turn a couple of their rooms into family rooms. We have public bars where we serve our own cask ales which we brew in our Micro Brewery, and we have large selection of Whiskeys and the amount of Gins are growing with the popularity which has been growing over the last couple of years We celebrate every year our Cask Ales with our Beer Festival which is just our Cask Ales on the following Weekend after the first May Bank Holiday. Which we started in 2007. We Serve food in several areas of the Strands Inn from 12 noon everyday until 9pm and on Sundays until 8pm Because our Free Fun Quiz Starts at 8:30pm on the Sunday. Dogs are welcome in our bars areas but, Sorry, we do not have any dogs stay in our bedrooms. The Screes Inn which is opposite our Strands Inn. the Bar will be open and we will be serving a different choice of food. Hope to see you soon Thank you Lesley and Mark Corr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing