We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Banks

The main entrance round the back
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The main entrance round the back
5 The Banks Easy to start gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The main entrance round the back
5 The Banks
Easy to start gas fire
Welcoming
Modern bright kitchen
Microwave/oven.....new hob and cooker
Kitchen leading to porch/utility room
Breakfast .... John Lewis crockery
Breakfast for 2 or 4...
Chill time...
Bathroom
Newly refurbished bathroom with overhead shower and shaving point
Large bedroom…plenty of hanging space and drawers
Kingsize bed...John Lewis mattress
Morning coffee on the patio......or evening wine :)
Bedroom with small double…cosy
Complimentary bathroom luxuries
Porch/utility room with washer/dryer
Main bedroom
Fresh linen and fluffy towels
Main bedroom…lots of bedtime reading for you
Kingsize bed….so comfortable
Books to read….games to play
Lovely homely touches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Iain T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home.”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really nice house. Everything you could want for a comfortable stay, particularly the kitchen which had a full range of equipment. Lots of info (maps, books,etc) for touring in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Full range of facilities. Comfortable. Great pub nearby with real ale and good food.
Liked least: No mobile phone signal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in Beautifully Renovated Cottage.”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very impressed with The Banks. The cottage has been carefully and tastefully renovated to a high standard and all amenities were available. There is obvious pride in the appearance and the presentation for visitors.
The two bedrooms and modern bathroom were located upstairs and this would not present a challenge to older guests.
The kitchen and laundry were well equipped and the lounge extremely comfortable. Many little extras were available and this, being Eileen's home, were appreciated by us during our all too brief stay. The maps and books proved very handy indeed.
Our teenage grand daughter loved her own room and enjoyed relaxing infront of the large flat screen TV after an exhausting day with us.
The main bedroom was great, everything very comfortable with plenty of storage.
We did find the wifi a bit tricky along with the hot water and a phone call was returned immediately with clear instructions on their use.
Parking was readily available in the street and the local hotel can be recommended for a hearty meal.
We loved our stay and were sorry we were in such a rush and could only stay for two nights. The next time we visit we will certainly stay longer and enjoy this delightful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and ambiance.
Liked least: Nil, everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Momi12khu...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total quality”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice and fully equipped house.neat and clean .i am very happy to spend two nights with my family . Thx to all management.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmT47...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented cottage”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful surprise when we stepped foot in this cottage - it was very nicely presented and was very clean and comfortable. The only reason for not giving it a rating of 5 was because there was a lack of some personal touches - we had no real contact with the owner to allow us to ask some questions on places to see or things to do which would have been helpful for visitors to the area. Contact by e-mail does not work in this case. Otherwise everything was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: Lack of the personal touches
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at 5 The Banks and found the cottage clean & comfortable.
I have two holiday cottages, the other one is in Cheshire where I live. I do usually greet all our guests here. I hope that addresses my lack of presence in The Lakes however I do have a manager you overlooks the cottage for me and her contact details are in the welcome folder. She would have been happy to answer any queries you had.
The website gives you a lot of information as to what to do in the area which you would have found useful. Also David, I'm not sure why you say that email did not work as as soon as you book my contact details become available to you so I would have welcomed any further questions you may have had.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicktH258...
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here following our trip to Kendal Calling Festival. It was a lovely rest from the mud and noise of the festival. The cottage was extremely clean and well equipped, in a great location close to village centre. The Neighbours where lovely and friendly and the village itself provided everything we needed. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern well equipped cottege
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayChaks
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicely appointed”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was a nicely appointed 2 bedroom house , in Staveley.
Amenities were of a high standard.
Enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you need and nice and clean”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A nice place that had everything we needed.
Stavely wasn't anything special but has a nice bakery and pub on the river and is very close to all other places that you would want to go to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing