We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Lyzzick Hall is such a beautiful relaxing hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and routinely went above and beyond in order to accomodate our requirements. Even after we had officially checked out we were able to enjoy a pot of tea and biscuits in the lounge whilst we waited for our transport, and this was at no extra cost.They are all highly professional and are a credit to Lyzzick Hall.
The rooms are well presented, clean and tidy with fantastic views of the mountains. Rooms are modern and contemporary with comfortable beds. We ate in the hotel restaurant for the two evenings. The food is of a very high standard indeed and really reasonably priced for a 5 course meal.Portion size looks deceptively small initially but it really isn't. There is an excellent range to cater for all tastes.
All in all it was a fantastic 2 days and I can't wait to go back again in the summer.
I only have one regret, and that is the fact that we didn't book this superb hotel for longer. Would definately recommend Lyzzick Hall to anyone and will be doing so in the near future :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiki123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    89
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
367
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wanted to extend my Husband's recent 60th Birthday by rounding it off with a treat in The Lake District. This hotel ticked all of the boxes. Arrived after a tiring journey, following long delays, unfortunately due to a road accident. We were shown to our lovely room and went downstairs straight away to a welcoming tray of tea and biscuits in front of a roaring fire. Then unpacked and put on robes to sample the hot tub and swimming pool, both of which were beautifully maintained. Later that evening we went down to dinner in the lovely restaurant. The food was fantastic and we enjoyed a bottle of Portugese wine, which having tasted, I would certainly sample again. Coffee in the lounge followed and the whole evening totally relaxed us. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with some old favourites on the menu as well as more adventurous choices. Staff - unobtrusive and yet helpful and friendly. The Hotel is near to keswick, which we wanted and we spent the day walking, travelling on the lake and shopping in the delightful town.We took tea at the Lodore Falls Hotel in the afternoon, and although this seems like a nice enough place, we are now hooked on The Lyzzick Hall Experience and cannot wait to return! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We chose this place for our 5 year anniversary as we always wanted to visit the lake district. We got a deal online for a two night stay and breakfast. Our room was standard but was ample enough for the two of us and our beautiful baby daughter. The surrounding landscape is stunning, no matter where you are in the hotel these great views are always accessible. The friendly staff are always on hand to help and make you feel welcome. The hotel boasts a swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi very close to all the rooms which is fabulous. The restaurant in the hotel is lovely, the food is of a very, very high standard. We can report high marks for the scallops, prawns, lamb shank and sea bass. Truly, the food was superb. Again, the staff are friendly and helpful. Just great ambassadors of the waiting game. As it was our anniversary, we of course took the opportunity to make love which was as always superb. Great fun. Overall, our stay in the Lyzzick was truly wonderful and we fully intend to return. Cannot recommend it highly enough !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFab76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this through a great deal from KGB. We rang on a Wednesday with our fingers crossed that we would get a room for the Friday for two nights. We managed to get the last room and we were delighted.
The hotel is beautiful with lots of character and only have 30 bedrooms so is ideal for a quite weekend away. Our room was number 10 and had a view of the mountains in the distance and some plants and trees directly outside of our window. The bathroom was a good size as was the bedroom, the only fault if I were to be picky was that the shower head hung too low and we were unable to stand underneath it as it been broken but we just had baths instead. Pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing.
The staff were friendly and helpful and their customer service is faultless. I have never experienced such lovely people in all the hotels we have stayed in.
We ate in the restaurant on our second night and the choice is of a variety of dishes for a 5 course menu, there is something to suit every taste.
The view at breakfast from the restaurant took our breath away as it overlooks the mountains and on a clear day was truly fantastic.
All in all, we will be booking to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night for a special occasion. The room was lovely and spotless and the views absolutely stunning. The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely and warm and a nice touch for a country hotel. The food was exceptional. My only slight criticism is the food came a little too quickly, I would have preferred a break between courses, but it was so good it can be forgiven. Otherwise I cannot fault with excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at this lovely friendly hotel. From the moment we stepped through the door until the moment we left we were totally impressed by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the tasteful decor.
As previous reviewers have stated the food is delicious, well presented and beautifully cooked and seasoned.
Service in the hotel is faultless and the cleanliness is of a high standard.
The hotel is in a fabulous position and the views are amazing. We stayed in the Helvellyn room and the views were stunning.
We could not find any fault during our stay and enjoyed a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is situated in a beautiful setting only 3 miles outside Keswick in the Lake District. Our roon ( Whinlatter) had a corner window with amazing views. The bedroom was large with all the facilities one would expect. It was very clean, warm and comfortable. The lounges were also very comfortable with a log fire in one of them. The dining room is very attractive & the service was excellent. The food was of a high standard and all the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the countryside and who requires excellence without pretention.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
32.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
35.4 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
8.3 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
3.4 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
31.8 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing