We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
114
85
32
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
85
32
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea evening meal both mornings old building both nights groupon deal sandwiches new owners on arrival duck function room every member of staff night porter short break three course meal keep up the good work set menu
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 262 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Visited here a few nights ago for a birthday meal.
We booked in advance as it is normally pretty busy.
The staff are very friendly and the service was really good throughout the evening.
The food took a while to come but it was certainly worth the wait.
The portions were a good size and the chips were super tasty.
Very reasonably priced too.
All in all a really pleasant evening with tasty food.
Would recommend a visit!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ThePalminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018

we booked our wedding at greenhills and malcolm organized everything perfect. i have no negative comments to say, the room and organisation was OUTSTANDING, staff are all very polite and nothing was too much trouble. they realy go all out to please. i highly reccommend greenhills at wigton, we had 3 course meal and was AMAZING every single guest complimented the food, our venue was beautifully decorated too. i cannot stress the 5 star service. been to a few weddings here and each time no negatives, looking forward too the next visit in the future. welldone to everybody my day was special and thats thanks too greenhill team aswell. big thankyou to malcolm you a credit too greenhills. love mr and mrs woodhouse

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank becksta594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

We wanted to visit the Sunday Antique Fair which is normally interesting and so we booked a table for lunch.
The fair was as worth perusing as always and we bought a few bits and pieces, though could happily have spent much more.

We moved on to lunch and had the 3 courses with coffee included for just under £20 a head.
The starter we had was the Tempura prawns with a sweet chilli sauce ( the sauce was bottled) and my wife had the roast beef and Yorkshire pudding main which she said was good and tasty.
I had the Tempura battered mixed vegetables which were very good, if a bit drowned in more of the sweet chilli sauce.
We decided to finish with the dessert and both ordered the Mandarin Cheese Cake, and it’s here that the story takes a different turn, I firmly believe that if you’re going to have a dessert then it must be worth the extra calories. Sadly this cheesecake wasn’t so we left it uneaten. It was tasteless with a soggy base, and just a waste of space on a plate.
We advised the waitress and restaurant manager who were both charming and offered alternatives, but as most of you will know, when you’ve set your mind on something, then nothing else will do.
Of course we’ll be back ‘cos it’s really pretty good and with a good ambiance, but, don’t bother about the cheesecake, at least until the Chef gets his act back together.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

The hotel has had a brilliant overall in the function room well done to kay and Malcolm choosing the colours its beautiful and the food and staff are 1st class it is a beautiful hotel very clean a very friendly atmosphere

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Had a meal with 10 friends and chose from
The early evening menu, 3 courses for £15. And we were not disappointed! The food was lovely. So fresh and tasty. The only niggle I have is that the service was maybe on the slow side but saying that it was quite busy for a Tuesday night! Cannot wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews