We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tired, basic, dark and old fashioned with no private parking.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired, basic, dark and old fashioned with no private parking.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Prefer the old gin house the room rate is too expensive for what you get I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryangiggs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    46
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
23
31
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

this hotel is a lovley family run hotel exellent home cooked food and a great bar that welcomes all a nice resturant and brilliant freindly staff and owners who makes you feel verry welcome as soon as you are checking in at reception and now that allerdale councill have finally stepped up to the mark and closed william street club its a nice quiet area and well worth visiting i will definatley be returning as it was a lovley stay and loved every day we were there thanx to all staff shirlxxxx

Room Tip: exellent food and a great atmosphere in bar etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night, on arrival i checked in, And was helped by a very pleasent receptionist, i then went to the bar in the hotel, which had a very nice vibe to it, and had a very good range of alcohol. I then went up to my room which was very basic but had all i required, the shower was very poor tht was my only concern. Would recommend, friendly hotel. Breakfast was very nice too.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
367 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Nice Hotel within walking distance from the Train or Bus Station on the edge of the shopping area of the town. Good food and friendly staff who are keen to help.
The single room I had for a couple of nights was fine apart from the shower could have done with a bit more power.
But if you visit on a Monday night be aware of the Star Wars pub (can't remember the real name but there are some strange characters that visit it ;)) on the opposite side of the road they have a late-night X-Factor trials for people who can't sing and thing loudest is better than quality, you have been warned. Workington Council sort it out. Not the hotel's fault and I got to sleep fine in the nice single room accomadation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

Had read varied reviews but decided to book. How pleased I was. The Hotel looked much better outside than the web pictures. Was close to town centre, 5-10 min walk to shopping centre. It was clean and inviting on entering and the receptionist was friendly. Our room was upstairs and was very clean, lovely and warm, with ample space for the three single beds. Bathrobes on the end of each bed. Plenty of tea and coffee , including 3 packets of biscuits provided. An iron & ironing board readily available in the wardrobe. Plenty of coathangers.
Bathroom again clean, with Lux shower gel provided, along with a basket of shampoo, conditioner, shower caps and shoe shine. Only downer was the shower not working but had a lovely bath instead. I did report this in the morning and was immediately offered another room but we only stayed the one night.
We ordered sandwiches which were really good coming with salad garnish, coleslaw & crisps, all for £2.50 each. Breakfast was equally good.
Every member of staff we met was very friendly,even the night porter who let us in at 1am!
Car parking is roadside and timed between 8.30 to 6pm, but we were given a parking card by the receptionist.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercedes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Checked in here for a couple of nights when doing some post-flooding work in the area. Although I was concerned by the pics of the outside I decided t give it a go. What a pleasant surprise! Very welcoming, homely and clean. The steak I had in the restaurant was one of the best I have ever had. A good choice of alcoholic refreshments too! All in all a pleasant and cost effective stay. I would not hesitate to go back if circumstances required.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlbretherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Don't let any pictures fool you. This hotel is an old building with crumbling stucco work, mildew stained paint and creaky, uneven floors. It seems like they spent any renovation money in oak paneling and trim work in the narrow hallways and forgot about the rest of the building. The only good thing I can say is that the bed was comfortable. I did not eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertskymodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Workington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.6 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.2 km away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.2 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Property: Waverley Hotel
Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing