We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and convenient”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good value and convenient”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Friendly staff. Comfortable clean and spacious room. Very good breakfast. Convenient for Ashbourne town centre a couple of minutes walk. Car parking. All round good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dungroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    118
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
191
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We went to The Station Hotel with my brother for his 60th birthday. I couldn't have hoped for better. We had a great, and very friendly welcome. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Beautifully furnished and well appointed. No complaints at all.
Booking was easy and straight foward, and e mails replied to very quickly.
Offers were made to book restaurants on our behalf. (The town of Ashbourne is about 5 minutes walk away. The bus station is about 2 minutes walk.
Small touches but make such a difference.
Breakfasts were fine.
The bar was adequately stocked with some very nice local beers, and a good selection of wines.
We had a fantastic bike ride on the Tissington and High Peak Trails which start about 500 metres ffrom the hotel.
It was a great weekend; thank you for helping us celebrate my brothers 60th. I hope he enjoyed it as much as I did!!
All good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The station hotel is in a great location, the room we stayed in was lovely, clean and beautiful! The place has a great history and all the furniture is gorgeous! David was a great host and made sure everything was perfect during our stay. We stayed in a four poster room on the top floor and were very pleased with everything :) We had an hour in the hot-tub which was amazing and a complementary bottle of wine- which we enjoyed in there! Breakfast was delicious and the variety was nice. We had a drink in the bar on our last night- I read someone on here didn't think there was enough variety on the bar, this is rubbish! The only thing I would advise is if you don't think you can manage stairs, ask upon booking to be on a low level- which I'm sure wouldn't be a problem! (being young and fit we didn't have this problem and enjoyed the great views of the top floor!)

Room Tip: Ask for a low room if you can't manage stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was our 2nd visit.Great location for touring and walks. Hotel staff very friendly, great rooms, plenty to chose from for breakfast. David very helpfull of place to visit and where to eat and if required will book a table for you . The hot tub is a must. Will be back . Thank You

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is the 2nd visit as we went to this hotel last month too. This last visit was not planned but after getting a terrible hotel we thought best to return to this lovely hotel again. We were made very welcome, helped with any questions and could relax well. The hot hub is so relaxing and woth it too and adds that little extra bonus to the visit here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikergal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

So basically, we were lucky enough to get a room because we booked it on line. When we arrived at the hotel, the manager was not very welcoming when he saw that we were not white. His first words to us were "keep your noise level down" and tried to put us into another room which was not very satisfactory,which he said himself. He wanted to keep us out of the better room which we paid for!

To be honest if you are BLACK and not WHITE, my advice to you... is NEVER stay at the STATION HOTEL in ASHBOURNE!

PS. The manager needs to be more freindly towards COLOURED people...

As coloured South Africans, we have been through this before and experiencing this again just brought back bad memories of APARTHEID in S.Africa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Fact:

3 young men booked a double bedded room with a single bed in,

You were offered a larger room with three seperate beds as an alternative at no extra cost out of courtesy.

You arrived very early and were allowed to check in well before the 2 pm check in time.

All our guests are asked to respect other guests in the hotel when coming back late at night to the hotel.

The Station Hotel welcomes everyone to stay in the hotel no matter what their persuassion, race or creed, in exactly the same way- courteously, professioanlly and equally, We were not aware that our welcome should be completely different when confronted by three young men from London/S.Africa than to any other guest that checks into the hotel. Young men - you are not old enough to even remember Apartheid, we feel that using such an analogy as Apartheid is an insult to all the people who suffered through that period. It must be pointed out here that you were not even all black!!!! What a load of old poppycock.

Never the less should you return to Ashbourne we hope that you will visit us again, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Me and partner booked this hotel as a last minute find and it was perfect as it included bed and breakfast. At first we had only booked their double room with en-suit but when we got there they had put us into there small four poster room! It was a gorgeous room with a lovely four poster bed, dressing table and a en-suit bathroom with bath and shower.
The breakfast was excellent with a choice cereals and a cooked breakfast. the staff were very helpful at breakfast and did a full English breakfast but if you didn't want a certain thing like the mushrooms they wouldn't give you any and give you extra of something else.
We were always greeted with a smile and was always asked if the staff could get us anything and if we were happy. Our rooms were cleaned daily and out towels were changed daily as well and we were also given thick and comfortable dressing gowns.
An added extra which made this hotel extra special was the hot tub. We were given a complimentary hour in hot tub and it was lovely to get into after a long day of walking and sight seeing!! The hot tub was in its own room which mood lighting and was very private which let you relax and unwind fully.
It was a 2 minute walk into ashbourne which had lovely restaurants and small boutiques. Ashbourne is a great location to go off and do stuff. We went to dovedale which had a lovely walk and things on the way to find such as the caves and stepping stones.
We had an amazing break and would definitely come back but for longer this time as we couldn't fit in everything we wanted to do!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah1991_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
5.6 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.1 km away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
1.4 km away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
30.1 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
22.5 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and LateRooms so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing