We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing cottage. Thank you Maria and Ian x”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kellyicke...
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What an amazing cottage. Thank you Maria and Ian x”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Maria on arrival our experience of pegges almshouse was amazing. The pictures do not do it justice and on walking in the front door I was wowed. The champagne chocolates and cake were an amazing arrival gift and every attention to detail was met as if we were staying in a 5 star hotel.

The location could not be better just a few minutes to the shops bars and restaurants. We ate in the flowerpot cafe both morning for breakfast and coffee and ate in the bowling green pub and coach and horses in Ashbourne and would recommend both.

We took a lovely walk to tissington down the tissington trail on Saturday and drove to Harrington for some Stilton on Sunday followed by dovedale. The location to lots of beautiful villages and tourist attractions is perfect and there is plenty to do on your door step.

All I can say is that I was so sad to leave and would like to thank you so much for letting us share your amazing cottage. You should be extremely proud of this little gem and what you have created.

Kelly & Scott Ashley x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Hi, thanks so much for adding the review. So pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon/ birthday stay. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajord100
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't fault this cottage, beautiful, quaint and romantic, in a fantastic setting.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked a weekend away at pegges on a whim, hoping for a bit of relaxation and some time away from the stresses of daily life, and we're so glad we did. Everything was fantastic, from the initial communication with the owners, to the cake and wine ready for our arrival, to the beautifully thought out decoration and the AMAZING shower (really...its something else.) The cottage is quaint and cosy, with plentiful character, but with plenty of modern comforts- the perfect mix. We enjoyed some gorgeous walks in the local countryside,and came back feeling truly rested and restored. Can't praise it highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Hi, thank you for the review, much appreciated. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay - look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeeHobbit...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect, idyllic cottage for a short break.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

You couldn't find a more charming place to spend a couple of days.
Beautifully decorated and comfortable cottage.
Service received was first class.
Only downside would have to be the lack I sound proofing particularly in the bedroom and the noisy neighbour and her yapping dog.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to add the review, really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Regarding your points raised about the dog, it appears that the girl staying next door, was looking after a relatives dog and this unfortunately coincided with your stay.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W
Staffordshire
1 review
“PERFECT COMFY COSY RETREAT IN THE HEART OF PEAKS”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break, but it wasn't long enough, perfect location for discovering some areas of the peaks. The cottage was really cosy, fabulous bathroom and so quaint absolutely loved it here and the bedroom with the little walk-through dressing area was absolutely fab. It was clean and comfortable and Ian and Marie had thought of everything to make this place a cosy retreat at the end of a long days walking to come home too. Definitely will be back again to try out some more of the peaks fabulous walking and wouldnt hesitate to come back to this place. My partner wanted to go back straight away but the normal work etc gets in the way, so role on next year. The bottle of wine and the chocolate were a really nice touch to the start of our break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this place there wasnt anything to dislike
Liked least: stay was not long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to add the review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully for longer!
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyboy8...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cracking week away!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week during August for my birthday. From the point of first contact the service was great! Maria is a lovely, friendly lady who welcomed us to her property with a big smile and some great chat.

With it being my birthday, we were presented on arrival with a lovely home made cake, wine and chocolates!

The cottage is lovely and has everything you need for day to day living. We even made use of the family games and dvds.

The shower/bathroom area is top class and in line with some 5 star hotels. Seriously, the shower is absolutely outstanding.

It felt like home almost right away and is in a great location.

We spent every day doing something, wether it was sightseeing or going for a cycle along the Tissington Trail or even better... Alton Towers :).

There are a few pubs, restaurants and after a long day a GREAT chippy. They even had brown sauce for us Edinburgh lot.

I think our stay was personified by me leaving a very sentimental cross I take everywhere with me. My partner had got in touch with Maria saying I left it behind. Without a hessitation Maria found my chain and had it sent back up to Edinburgh.

I can't really say enough as we loved our stay,.

If you are thinking about spending a long weekend in a hotel, why not try this instead?

We might not be going back in 2014 (only because we are going away for a month and using our holidays elsewhere) but we will 100% be back when we fancy a getaway.

Thanks to both Maria and Ian for a great stay.

I forgot to mention, I also forgot to call the guys to tell them when we were leaving or arriving in Ashbourne until the night before at 9pm to arrange the pick up of keys! Again, not a problem, very friendly and helpful!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel (perhaps the shower too!!)
Liked least: The rocking horse (blame my partners obsession with horror films for that one).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Hi,
Thank you for the review, very much appreciated. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in 2015!
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jc2808mac
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOVELY COTTAGE IN PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had pleasure in stopping here for a weekend in September 2013.
We absolutely loved it, the owners have gone to great lengths to make this cottage a comfortable and luxurious place to stay.

The cottage is full of character with great modern facilities. The location is perfect walking distance from local restaurants and pubs, I would highly recommend to stay here and would gladly stay at the there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage - warm and welcoming
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Hi,
Thanks so much for adding the review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simester
Edinburgh Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely and romantic holiday cottage”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

my Partner and I stayed at Pegges for a week in July , we were immediately taken aback at its beauty and then by its cosy comfort ...we travelled to Lovely Ashbourne with a friends pet chocolate Labrador as we knew Pegges to be pet friendly ...
The walks around the area are beautiful and we several times ventured through the 'tunnel ' into the summer countryside ....
The almshouse was just what we needed , though I am around 6 feet tall I quickly got used to the low sloping ceiling of the bedroom upstairs ...as it was warm and sunny we dined in the garden at the table provided several evenings .. The kitchen was compact and comfy at the table ., indeed we found it so romantic I took the plunge and asked my partner to marry me , the witness being our Labrador companion ...!!! All in all perfect -- thank you folks ....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to add the review and really pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope the wedding plans are going well. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing