We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Parking is available right outside your door. Holly Cottage is waiting to welcome you, for a long holiday or short break.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Parking is available right outside your door.
Holly Cottage is waiting to welcome you, for a long holiday or short break.
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful.
Your lounge is cosy and comfortable, with leather sofa and gorgeous fire.
Relax on the snuggly leather sofa, in front of the fire
Our cosy lounge has underfloor heating, a fire and a TV and DVD player
That special occasion can be made even more special with a stay at Holly Cottage
Our cosy fire, for chilled out afternoons or a relaxing evenings after a busy day
Our kitchen, complete with dishwasher, full size cooker, washer/drier and fridge freezer
Our kitchen contains everything you may need, from snacks through to full blown gastronomic delights
Washer and tumble dryer are provided for your use - we've tried to think of everything
Underfloor heating makes all the difference on those chilly evenings!
The stylish first floor bedroom has an oak floor, exposed brickwork and original beams.
With captivating views from your bed, who could ask for anywhere better to wake up?
Superb countryside vista from the window in the pretty bedroom
Wake up refreshed and relaxed in our pretty bedroom.
Wake from a blissful sleep to magnificent views of the Derbyshire countryside
Fresh sheets mmmmmm!
Comfortable bed with egyptian cotton bedding
The light and airy bedroom has plenty of wardrobe and storage space.
Luxurious bathroom with high quality toiletry products and fluffy egyptian cotton towels
Light and airy bathroom
At the end of the day relax in our sumptuous double ended bath tub
Fancy a shower instead of a bath?
Your en-suite bathroom is a tranquil haven with toiletries and all towels provided.
Top class fittings throughout
Surrounded by beautiful countryside.
Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful countryside
Our sentiments exactly!
We are pleased to welcome one small well behaved dog.
River Dove at Ellastone, great for paddling if you are brave enough!
River Dove at Ellastone Bridge
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3brush
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From all the previous reviews we had very high expectations of Holly Cottage and weren't disappointed ! It was small but cosy and had everything we needed with a touch of luxury!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thanks for confirming that you think our cottage is as lovely as our other guests do. Come back in the summer Sally. You'll be most welcome. Regards. Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC5503
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stunning cottage. Felt at home as soon as I walked through the door. Everything that you could possibly want from a holiday cottage is provided and the attention to detail is excellent. Underfloor heating is cosy, bed is very comfy, roll top bath is heavenly, dishwasher is a luxury, distance from the pub is perfect... I had a wonderful and relaxing 5 days at this cottage and would have no hesitation recommending it. Michele was really helpful and obliging and even provided me with bottled water when the water authority switched the water off one day. Thank you do much. Caroline

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and 'at home feeling.'
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Happy to have had you stay Caroline. See you next half term? Kind Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely recommendation. So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and of course we would be most glad to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
richard84...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little place, good base for surrounding countryside”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Cute cottage - warm, well-equipped, well located for surrounding countryside. We had a very comfortable couple of days and would recommend it.

Be aware that the wifi is very temperamental (router is not in the cottage itself, and has thick stone walls to contend with), and we could only receive a signal standing just outside the cottage front door. So don't assume you can plan your stay on the hoof, do what you can in advance!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thanks for your review. I am sure future guests will find the Wifi information helpful. There is also excellent free Wifi at the pub at the end of the lane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maliha s
1 review
“Immaculate cottage, perfect for a couples getaway”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

First of all the cottage was impeccably presented and on a very quiet lane in Ellastone.

Excellent size for 2 people with a cosy lounge area (under floor heated) and open plan kitchen area. Up stairs the bedroom and bathroom are both beautifully presented and you have a lovely view from the bed down the lane.

Very good pub 5 min walk away - The Duncombe Arms which does great food & has a very relaxed atmosphere.

Michele popped in and is very helpful and accomodating. Would certainly visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your helpful review of our lovely cottage. I'm sure it will help other travellers when they're choosing where to stay as it's good to know that the accommodation is described correctly and that our standards are high. Would love to welcome you back any time - maybe next year for Liam's 'big' birthday?? Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettoes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous little cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in the cottage over new year and it was just perfect for a few days away. The cottage has everything you need and is in a quaint village surrounded by the wonderful peak district. The cottage was very clean and tidy and we were made very welcome upon arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay Matthew. Would love you to come and stay again, perhaps in the summer to experience more of our wonderful countryside. Regards. Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globe28
England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cosy cottage. Location was good - convenient for accessing walks in the southern Derbyshire area. Cottage was very quiet and well equipped with quality furnishings.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing