We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't eat here!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Routine Hilton Hotel but food is appaling.
Waited 40 minutes for cottage pie & chips , arrived with cold burnt chips and disgusting pie , next meal forgot our dessert!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to both recognise great performance and continually improve upon our standards in line with our guests expectations.

I am sorry on this occasion you were disapointed with the food and beverages experience. It appears that we did not live up to our usual standards.

I would greatly appreciate if you could give me a bit more detail about your recent stay with us as this will help us immensely in retraining our staff to make sure that we get it right the first time.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    588
    204
    114
    53
See reviews for
449
622
57
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here for one night.

Handy for the airport and easliy reached from the Motorway by the A50.

The room was comfortable and clean, but I was awoken by doors slamming as people presumably left for early flights.

The only real disappointment was the breakfast. Some of the sausages had obviously been on the hotplate too long and had dried out. Other hotels usually now give a choice of having fried or poached eggs but the only choice seemed to be scrambled.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrowboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

All feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to both recognise great performance and continually improve upon our standards in line with our guests expectations.

I am sorry on this occasion you were disapointed by our breakfast selection. Here at Hilton East Midlands Airport we offer eggs freshly cooked to order by our breakfast chef on our 'egg station'. This includes poached, fried and a variety of omellettes, as we believe eggs freshly cooked are an important part of your start to the day.

I can only apologise that this service was not offered to you, and rest assured that steps are being taken to prevent this unfortunate situation occuring again.

Once again, please accept my sincere apology for this mishap, however I hope the rest of your stay was a pleasant one, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here for a 1 night stay with 14 days parking on the 23rd January 2012 booked throught Superbreak.
We were promtly checked in on arrival and was asked what time we would like our transfers to the airport. We didn't know until that point, but if you book the park and fly package through superbreak then you get the hotel transfers for free. Also you get you evening meal discounted.
The room was spacious and very pleasant. The only issue we had was the bed was a little unconfortable and was awake preety early then watching tele. The shower was good (over the bath). When staying you also get use of the pool and gym too. This was excellent.
Some room on the ground floor are miles from reception with no other exit close by.
All in all the hotel was very good. The staff are very pleasant and the airport transfers were great. Quick, Easy and there when we landed.
Thank you Hilton !!

Room Tip: ask for a room closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavp1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Thank you also for the good review that you have given us; it has been our pleasure to have you stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel oozes excellence from the moment you arrive. It is an ideal place to leave your car if flying from east midlands. The restaurant is superb and the transfers to the airport are professional. Highly recommend a stay here. And no I haven't been paid to post this. Read my others if in doubt.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eastwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Mr Evans,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are indeed honoured by your praise.

Eagerly looking forward to your next visit.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We used this hotel as a park & fly base for our recent holiday from East Midlands Airport. Plenty of parking in a designated area. Check in quick and efficient. Lovely room. As we booked through Holiday Extras we were able to take advantage of a meal deal - 3 courses for £12 each. Lovely food and good choices. We booked a transfer to the airport which took about 10 minutes. On our return to the UK we were delighted to find the gentleman from the hotel transfer bus waiting at arrivals for us. (We had expected to ring for collection). He took us right to our car back at the hotel. Exceptional service. We will definitely use this hotel again. It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your visit again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I Spent a night at this hotel. Very close to the motorway(M1). The only fault I could spot was that there was no water mixer on the wash basin which is a bit inconvinenceing on a cold winter morning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWorldtravellerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Your comments are valuable to us as it helps us meet our guests expectations. Thank you for a good review.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Good, clean airport hotel which was very good value for money.

Staff very helpful and even gave us a late departure for not extra charge.
Concierge was also very helpful.

Breakfast plentiful and overall very pleased.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
3.0 km away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
228 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
590 reviews
5.6 km away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
741 reviews
18.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing