We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall(Castleton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rushop Hall(Castleton)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peak Hotel(Castleton)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway House(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheshire Mews(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
32
15
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
15
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa wonderful staypeak districtmam torcouldn't do enoughsuewalkspubsvillage
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 57 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this very well run B and B in Castleton, so handy for bus, pub, footpaths and caverns. Our comfy room contained everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. We would recommend this and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowanBush4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2011

just had to say what a beautiful place castleton is and on a recent trip there my partner and i came across cheshire house, the owner was most wellcoming, the room was lovely and very clean, we had a very pleasant evening there and had a gorgeous ccoked breakfast, made from all fresh, local produce, the taste was second to none, would definatley go there again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Cheshire house is a cosy, spotlessly clean B & B in the heart of the Peak District. The rooms are tastefully furnished, a warm, hospitible welcome is assured from Sue, the wonderful owner. Secure free parking is an added bonus at this reasonably priced establishment which boasts a more than satisfying breakfast comprising what is obviously fresh local produce. A credit to Sue and highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2011

A very pleasant, family run small hotel situated in the centre of Castleton in the heart of the beautiful Peak District of Derbyshire. Many thanks to Sue, the proprietor who made me very welcome once again during my annual trip to Castleton. I can fully recommend Cheshire House for its comfort, friendlinessand the privacy it offers. You have your own private parking space within the grounds of the house and is an ideal base to use for those who are planning to tour the Peaks of Derbyshire. Ishall be returning again next year. Thanks Sue.

Room Tip: Always book early. Castleton is a very popular.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallmark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Had a fabulous stay at Cheshire House over the easter break. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our characterful room, with stunning views over the Peaks. Cheshire House is in an excellent location - across the road from an amazing, warm and historic pub serving great food and ales (and which we didn't find a disturbance whatsoever, but a lovely place for a night cap before returning to the hotel), and around the corner from the centre of the beautiful village of Castleton with its brilliant pubs, shops and views. It is perfectly positioned for walks to the castle, the caves, and Peaks such as Mam Tor and smaller walks such as the stunning river walk to Hope and trips to the Lady Bower reservoir. We felt very well looked after, particularly with the fantastic breakfasts that really set you up for the day ahead. The House is very good value for money and I would recommend to anyone for a lovely weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_Spreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews