We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Peak Hotel(Castleton)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rushop Hall(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway House(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cheshire Mews(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
32
15
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
15
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa wonderful staypeak districtmam torcouldn't do enoughsuewalkspubsvillage
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 58 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Sue to her 'Cheshire House' before we had shut off the car's engine! Wow, Sue, what a truly delightful human being you are!!!!! As Sue led the way towards our room we were awed as soon as we stepped into the Hotel by the brightness, cleanliness and new feeling elegance of exactly the place we all dream of finding at the end of our travel day. For us, that "what will we find at the end of the day travel fantasy" is most often, sadly, a large disappointment. However, anyone upon their arrival at Sue's Cheshire House in Castleton will rapidly realize that they have reached the Traveler's Nirvana!! Sue has a great system in place in regards breakfast at Cheshire House, as the evening before we were asked to mark up a list of exactly what we wanted from Sue's breakfast menu. Nice! And the actual breakfasts served in Sue's clean, welcoming dining room were the nicest we have found during any of our trips to and around the U.K.

Room Tip: The brightness, cleanliness and new feeling elegance we found at Sue's front door was repeated everywhere in the Hotel, possibly especially our room!! The room in which we stayed, as well as a neighboring room we viewed, could not have been more fantastic. Cleanliness beyond anything we have experienced in the U.K.! Bright, light filled room with a nice window view of some of among the backdrop of the hills surrounding this picture postcard village. After this our first experience at Sue's house not only will we return whenever we are nearby, but we will likely go out of our way to stay there again!! After meeting this hotel's great host, Sue, we will have no doubt that all of the spaces in her house now and in any future visit will be as nice as the room we stayed in! Sue's house and rooms are now our standard of perfection in B and Bs!!! By the time Sue's gets you settled in your room, you will also think you have reached TRAVELER'S NIRVANA!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2012

First time stay at Cheshire House, Castleton. Myself and my wife had a brilliant time, everything was perfect as regards the BnB and its location 2 minutes walk from Castleton's village centre was really good. We were pleasantly welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our clean, comfortable room with a very nice view over the High Peak countryside. Sue gave us excellent tips as to where was good to eat and drink in Castleton and where to park near to Mam-Tor to avoid too much walking on our second day (as we had walked to and around the Kinder Scout area for 6 or 7 hours from Edale the day before and we were a little achey!). The two breakfasts we had were really nice and set us up for our days of walking and exploring brilliantly. Castleton proved to be an excellent base to explore the High Peak area, with loads of cafes, pubs and restaurants to choose from. We will definitely be returning there and to Cheshire House in the future. Cheers Sue for a very nice stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Second time round at Cheshire house, Stayed in different room and as with the first visit, everything was spot on. Excellent value for money and again breakfast was superb, with everything you could wish for available. Can't recommend it highly enough, Sue provides a wonderfully warm welcome and offered advice on local places of interest, advice which we took and which further enhanced our break, Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at Cheshire House. Our room was clean,spotless and comfortable. Good sized en suite shower which was clean and fresh looking.Breakfast was of a good quality served by Sue who was very friendly and liked to chat to her guests. Location was excellent no noise from traffic and parking was nice and secure. We really enjoyed our stay at Cheshire House and would love to return in the future.Thanks Sue for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidlangdon704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Cheshire House for 2 nights. We were welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our room and made sure we were comfortable with everything. Our room was tastefully furnished with a good sized en suite shower, very clean and fresh looking with a lovely view overlooking Peveril Castle.
Castleton itself was a 2 minute walk away and was an excellent base for touring the Peak District.
Our breakfasts were freshly cooked for us and we had plenty of choice of cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt. The full English breakfast was very tasty and filling and we loved Sue's homemade marmalade.
We would give this accommodation 100% just would have liked to have stayed for longer!
We would definitely go back to Cheshire House if we visit the Peak District again.
Thank you Sue for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villafan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews