We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great location only 2 minute walk from the village centre and room had a lovely view. Room was very clean and had everything we required.There are only two rooms and parking is resticted to the side of the property and we would have struggled to park if the other guest had a car( we have a van ) there is also a carpark directly behind belonging to the pub across the road and some holiday lets at the back.However we didn't get much noise so it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was lovely .We found the bed too hard but thats just personal preference and although we didn't hear any noise outside but we could hear everything inside.

Room Tip: there is only two rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire2009, Owner at Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit, particularly the room, location and breakfast.

In response to the comment about restricted car-parking, a parking space is offered with each room. There wasn't an issue with regard to space in accommodating this guests's requirements for parking their large commercial van. The full extent of our parking actually includes another space large enough for vehicles including 4x4's and estate cars, which does not require them to, as this guests suggests, park alongside another guests car.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Sue to her 'Cheshire House' before we had shut off the car's engine! Wow, Sue, what a truly delightful human being you are!!!!! As Sue led the way towards our room we were awed as soon as we stepped into the Hotel by the brightness, cleanliness and new feeling elegance of exactly the place we all dream of finding at the end of our travel day. For us, that "what will we find at the end of the day travel fantasy" is most often, sadly, a large disappointment. However, anyone upon their arrival at Sue's Cheshire House in Castleton will rapidly realize that they have reached the Traveler's Nirvana!! Sue has a great system in place in regards breakfast at Cheshire House, as the evening before we were asked to mark up a list of exactly what we wanted from Sue's breakfast menu. Nice! And the actual breakfasts served in Sue's clean, welcoming dining room were the nicest we have found during any of our trips to and around the U.K.

Room Tip: The brightness, cleanliness and new feeling elegance we found at Sue's front door was repeated e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First time stay at Cheshire House, Castleton. Myself and my wife had a brilliant time, everything was perfect as regards the BnB and its location 2 minutes walk from Castleton's village centre was really good. We were pleasantly welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our clean, comfortable room with a very nice view over the High Peak countryside. Sue gave us excellent tips as to where was good to eat and drink in Castleton and where to park near to Mam-Tor to avoid too much walking on our second day (as we had walked to and around the Kinder Scout area for 6 or 7 hours from Edale the day before and we were a little achey!). The two breakfasts we had were really nice and set us up for our days of walking and exploring brilliantly. Castleton proved to be an excellent base to explore the High Peak area, with loads of cafes, pubs and restaurants to choose from. We will definitely be returning there and to Cheshire House in the future. Cheers Sue for a very nice stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Second time round at Cheshire house, Stayed in different room and as with the first visit, everything was spot on. Excellent value for money and again breakfast was superb, with everything you could wish for available. Can't recommend it highly enough, Sue provides a wonderfully warm welcome and offered advice on local places of interest, advice which we took and which further enhanced our break, Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at Cheshire House. Our room was clean,spotless and comfortable. Good sized en suite shower which was clean and fresh looking.Breakfast was of a good quality served by Sue who was very friendly and liked to chat to her guests. Location was excellent no noise from traffic and parking was nice and secure. We really enjoyed our stay at Cheshire House and would love to return in the future.Thanks Sue for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidlangdon704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Cheshire House for 2 nights. We were welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our room and made sure we were comfortable with everything. Our room was tastefully furnished with a good sized en suite shower, very clean and fresh looking with a lovely view overlooking Peveril Castle.
Castleton itself was a 2 minute walk away and was an excellent base for touring the Peak District.
Our breakfasts were freshly cooked for us and we had plenty of choice of cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt. The full English breakfast was very tasty and filling and we loved Sue's homemade marmalade.
We would give this accommodation 100% just would have liked to have stayed for longer!
We would definitely go back to Cheshire House if we visit the Peak District again.
Thank you Sue for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villafan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Excellent location nice and handy for all the village amenities. Sue made me feel very welcome the room was lovely and clean and comfotrable . Parking was secure. Breakfast choice was excellent quality, Loved Mr Watsons sausages, just the personal unobtrusive service you would expect from a top B& B 5 stars from me.

Will definitely visit and stay again !!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoggwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castleton hotels
0.3 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
0 km away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
315 reviews
0.1 km away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
237 reviews
5.8 km away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#2 of 6 in Castleton
153 reviews
0.7 km away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Cheshire House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: $136 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheshire House is a friendly family run Bed and Breakfast, situated in the historic village of Castleton. The perfect location to discover the surrounding Peak District. The ideal base for superb walking, enjoying the Blue John Caverns, or simply relaxing. Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire House Bed And Breakfast Castleton, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing