We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed for 2 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed. Beautiful town, close to a lot of caverns and we did a hike up mamtor. A couple of niggles, the room in the stables was quite noisey, i.e. we stayed ont he first floor and th flooring creaked when we walked and when we shifted downstairs, you could hear people walking above. Apart from the room could be slightly more cleaner, I found a very small spiderweb int he bathroom. Apart from that the restaurant is really good, and the staff friendly. The castle is a few minutes walk from the hotel and there was parking. Its a place where you could go back.

Room Tip: Beautiful town and good food.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apellantmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

The room was lovely, although it can get noisy if you have a downstairs room and there are families upstairs!
The food is superb and the service great.
Breakfast is continental with the option of paying extra to have a cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed here last Sunday for our wedding anniversary and what beautiful place, picturesque views and amazing walks which make you ready to relax for the evening, with plenty of shops if you wish or pubs to choose from this place is a winner for everyone, but on my review the castle inn was by fine the best clean, tidy friendly staff beautiful food and exceptional accommodation , we stayed in room 20 and would highly recommend it but not that much in case it gets fully booked and we can't get in, but seriously walkers or just a romantic ,casual break book here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amandajh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was huge
Evening meal was delicious, although when served the veg was cold but having informed the staff this was soon rectified
Great choice of food for breakfast, seriously recommend the mushrooms, extremely flavoursome
Staff very approachable, pleasant and helpful
Lot to see within the area especially if you enjoy walking / hiking / history
Although only an overnight stay, it was lovely

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Great hotel in a great location in the middle of the village. Staff very welcoming and the room in the main building was top class. We would have liked to have stayed longer but it was only a one night break. Breakfast, (we had continental), had everything in plentiful supply. Would go again tomorrow. One criticism is the lack of a shaver point in the room but for 1 night did not matter

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robinhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming inn. Good quality breakfast with the full English as an option. Spacious well designed room with extremely comfortable bed and excellent water pressure for fabulous shower. Good range of dishes for dinner. Fresh ingredients and we'll cooked and presented. Will definitely return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mugwum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday night in July. We have been to Castleton before but never stayed. The pub attached to the hotel was good and there are several others close by.

We arrived at 12pm and parked in the car park, we weren't able to check in so we left the car and went for a walk. We arrived back around 3.30pm and were able to check in.

We were pleased with our room, it was in the main building above the pub. It was a quirky room, but had everything we needed - bathroom, comfy bed, tv and tea/coffee.

We would definitely stay again - both enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philipt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
15.8 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
32.1 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.1 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
2.6 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
15.9 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range: $107 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing