We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oatcake Cottage

Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property. Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property.
Welcome!
Lounge.
Lounge.
Lounge with TV, DVD player and free wifi.
Lounge towards the dining room.
Dining room.
Dining room with doors to the garden.
kitchen providing everything you will need for your stay
Kitchen.
Double bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Bathroom with bath and shower.
Bathroom with guest toiletries.
New for summer 2018.
Summer house on top terrace.
View over the roof tops from the garden.
View of Mam Tor from the patio.
Lower patio area showing new safety railings.
Towards Peveril Castle
Visitors' Centre and museum
Para gliders over Mam Tor
The Devil's Arse Peak Cavern
Village centre looking towards the castle showing two of the six pubs in the village
Market Place
Oak apple day celebrations in the village every May 29th
Castleton at Christmas
Merry Christmas from Oatcake Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
21Janwb
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

OATCAKE COTTAGE is a beautiful stone cottage oozing with old charm and character and is comfortably furnished. It is located in the heart of Castleton and is close to local pubs, restaurants, cafes and shops selling the famous blue john gemstone jewellery. The location makes it ideal for exploring the Peak District and visiting the numerous showcaves. The cottage has a terraced rear garden with stunning views across to Man Torr and the surrounding hills.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
470ali201...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage in great location”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Short stay in this very quaint cottage, within short distance of the village centre. Advantage of on-street parking outside. Very clean and tidy and the most stunning views from the back garden, however watch your step getting up there if it's wet. Ideal for walkers and explorers, with copious choices for eating out or just popping to the local pub. Also has WiFi.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comment about the garden. We have now ordered some railings and hand rails to be installed in April. This will provide a barrier for the two patio areas and make it easier to access the levels via the steep steps, ready for the summer season. I hope you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda_a8...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage! Excellent Location”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a lovely stay at Oatcake cottage! Would definitely reccommend to friends and family. It is in an excellent location, with shops and pubs less than a minute away and lots of picturesque walks nearby.

Perfect for a laid back relaxing getaway with friends. The cottage itself is well equipped with plenty of storage. Particularly liked the living room with its beautiful fireplace and exposed beams. Ideal for a cosy, warm winter night in.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gander201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, clean and cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Great location, easy walk to the pubs. Warm clean, with everything you need for a quite peaceful weekend snuggled in the peak district. Will defiantly be coming back, we loved the chocolate coins in our welcome pack, a nice extra touch from the owner.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemmalil
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect cosy cottage for a perfect cosy weekend”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We arrived on a very cold, windy and rainy Friday evening and found the cottage cosy and welcoming as soon as we stepped through the door! We found the kitchen equipped with everything we needed to cook and everything was clean and tidy.
We had a wonderful (but cold!) walk on Mam Tor on Saturday and couldn't wait to get back to the cottage to sit by the fire with a glass of mulled wine!
We chose this cottage as dogs were allowed which is hard to find. We also found that dogs are allowed in most of the pubs in Castleton too.

The cottage suited our needs perfectly and we can't wait to come again in January.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Perfect location in the centre of Castleton village
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. You were my first! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila D
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely traditional old cottage with all the facilities you could wish for. The cottage was warm and welcoming in a great location, ideally situated for walking, touring or just relaxing. It was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a well equipped kitchen and cosy living room.
A fabulous place to stay.I definitely want to come here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm, welcoming feel of the cottage
Liked least: I couldn't fault the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thanks Sheila, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing