We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oatcake Cottage

Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property. Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property.
Welcome!
Lounge.
Lounge.
Lounge with TV, DVD player and free wifi.
Lounge towards the dining room.
Dining room.
Dining room with doors to the garden.
kitchen providing everything you will need for your stay
Kitchen.
Double bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Bathroom with bath and shower.
Bathroom with guest toiletries.
View over the roof tops from the garden.
View of Mam Tor from the patio.
Lower patio area showing new safety railings.
Towards Peveril Castle
Visitors' Centre and museum
Para gliders over Mam Tor
The Devil's Arse Peak Cavern
Village centre looking towards the castle showing two of the six pubs in the village
Market Place
Oak apple day celebrations in the village every May 29th
Castleton at Christmas
Merry Christmas from Oatcake Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey W
Cambs, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage in the heart of Castleton.
The dog was well behaved, and refused to go on the furniture (wish he was like that at home!), but the property was kitted out for dogs, with towels, blankets etc.
House was warm, and clean with ample facilities in the kitchen
Short walk to numerous pubs - can not fault "The Cheshire Cheese", and the bakery does fantastic rolls.
Devils Ar*e Cave is worth a visit, and the view from Perevil castle is amazing.
Hope to return soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
I'm so glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan b
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quietly Quaint”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had a lovely 5 night stay in this quaint little cottage and the peace and quiet was much appreciated. The weather wasn't so good but we couldn't fault the lovely warmth to come back to as the central heating proved nicely efficient so that was a nice bonus too. This little gem catered for all your needs and the view from the top of the back patio is truly spectacular. The owner's communication once you had made your booking was spot on and she seemed keen at every opportunity to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. We enjoyed eating at several pubs in the village and felt their prices for the quality of the food was very reasonable as was the service. Also we sampled the homemade bread from the local bakery and again we were not disappointed. A little further afield and a little more expensive was the Samuel Fox but it was worth pushing the boat out as Sunday lunch there was incredible. All in all a very pleasant and happy stay which hopefully we can return to one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your break. Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amh59
England
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Oatcake cottage with our little dog. It was equipped with everything we needed and we appreciated the extras the owner had provided. Castleton is a quaint little village with plenty of pubs, a great bakery (loved their carrot cake) and a general store and also a good base for all the places we wanted to visit like Bakewell, Eyam and Ashford in the water. We went to a lovely old traditional pub in Litton called the Red Lion and had lovely food. The weather was windy, cloudy and chilly during our stay so nice to come back to a cosy cottage each afternoon. Would have loved to sit out on the top tier of the garden but it was just too cold for me this time. A very pleasant stay.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore the local area so well. Please return in the summer so you can sit at the top of the garden admiring the wonderful view!
Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVERLEY...
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A lovely cosy cottage in a lovely village. Great walking up to Mam Tor and along the ridge. People were all very friendly and many pubs to choose from so you should find one you like. The AND festival was taking place so there were many more people than normal but the laser show was beautiful. The cottage has everything you need with a homely feel rather than a sterile corporate place. We had no problem with parking and have recommend to our friends, Thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend and Jane was very communicative and helpful..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of Oatcake cottage and Castleton village. I hope this will persuade guests to find out more about the AND festival.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WedgerI
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Jane the owner let us come a day early and we really appreciated it because it give us time to settle in and discover the village .
We really loved the cottage and it was in a fantastic place and so close to everything. We walked everyday and the walks were so good and some were hard and some were easy and you could make them long or as short as you wanted .
There was work outside the house getting done by the water board but being out all day meant that it did not bother us .
Plenty of places to eat and all the pubs apart from one allow dogs.
The cottage had a lovely back garden with seating area on about three levels, it was a lovely warm cottage with things to make our stay a good one, would definitely go again and enjoy it as much as we have just have done .

Thank you Jane .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you Paul for such a lovely review. I'm glad you both and your dog had a great time and thank you for being so understanding about the necessary works on the road at that time. I hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karaboeja
Alveringem, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Quaent”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very nice to stay a few days in this beautiful environment. Comfortable, cosy and lovely cottage with all the needed comfort!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review of Oatcake. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great holiday pet friendly.”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic views, great cottage a home from home, nice friendly people, Some great walks nice pubs to eat in with dogs welcome in most places.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thanks for a great review. I'm glad you and your dog enjoyed your holiday. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing