We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay back on home territory!”
other travellers have booked this property
Deluxe covered hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deluxe covered hot tub
Welcome Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Deluxe covered hot tub
Welcome
Dining
Kitchen
Lounge
Double Bedroom
Little touches
Twin bedroom
Plenty of Wardrobe Space
Front Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen T
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay back on home territory! ”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed Mon-Fri as a family of 4 and 2 dogs. I was worried we would be cramped but there was plenty of space.
My 6 yo stayed in the twin room which she loved as she said it was a grown up room, all the wardrobe space was great.
We had our 3 month old in with us in the master room and there was still room to move with the travel cot set up.
On arrival it was nice to have the cream tea all set up, all we had to do was boil the kettle. It helped relax us after our journey.
The cottage has everything you need. We never cooked in the cottage but it looked a decent oven and found a lot of utensils in all the cupboards, the dishwasher was a plus also.
The dogs had room to go outside but I would be wary with really small dogs, ours could get out under the gate near the road if we didn't watch her. Our big dog was well contained though.
Cottage was easy to find and great having the gated driveway, made coming and going very easy.
The only thing I would change is the bedrooms, I would put the twin room away from the lounge as if you have kids and want to keep a night time routine it would make it easier . We couldn't send our daughter to bed as she would be kept awake by us being up and watching tv.
Other than that had a great stay and will definitely use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie17...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a great stay in The Haven. Spotlessly clean, fantastic bedding, scones and chocolates....what more do you need? Had a lovely week with some lovely walks along the new White Peak Loop cycle trail. Level flat walks for the most part on nice paths so not too muddy. Walked one day to Peak Shopping Village and another day in other direction to Matlock. The Haven was an ideal spot to explore Derbyshire from even though it is in a small village which can be busy with the main A6 at one end and the road through to Chesterfield, it has enough amenities and main routes easily accessible. Lovely park on Whitworth Road, short walk from cottage. Easy parking at cottage and gates and fences make it safe for pets. Would definitely stay again. We and our dogs had a very relaxing time. Great communication from owner too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to place this review and such a lovely one at that. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all your comments. We certainly hope that you do plan on returning to stay with us again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheelaghh...
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage - best we've had!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well equipped and very clean cottage. The beds are so comfortable - and all bed linen and towels are top quality. Furnishings and kitchen equipment first class. The cottage has Wi - Fi and full Sky television.
It is situated in a lovely area - so much to do and see and well placed for visiting Chatsworth, Hadden Hall, Bakewell and Matlock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing