We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best venue for large group holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WILLIS B
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best venue for large group holiday”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have been going away as a group of 12 for many years and this has been by far the best venue we have stayed in. The Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Hathersage, within easy reach of all the local facilities, pubs and great walks. All the bedrooms are equally good sized with en suite bathrooms. The dining area seated us all comfortably with room to move round the table while eating. The kitchen is well equipped with more than enough pots, pans, crockery and glasses. But best of all is the large lounge where there are enough comfy chairs for everybody to relax, and fabulous views to boot. The weather was not great for us but we still enjoyed the large outside area with many visiting birds on the feeders. Brilliant!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it, just what we needed
Liked least: The railway but we soon got used to it
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highwayma...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Property in Wonderful Location”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Three generations of our family stayed at Sladen Lodge during the last week in October 2014. There were 11 of us, age range 4-67. We wanted accommodation that was large enough to give all our party adequate space, a good level and quality of equipment and a comfortable and relaxed environment. Sladen Lodge gave us all of these and more. Its location allowed easy access to a number of places of interest including Chatsworth House, the Heights of Abraham, Buxton, Bakewell, the Speedwell and Blue John caves and numerous local walks. Some of the more energetic of us walked the southern section of the Pennine Way from Edale, only a few miles away. Sladen lodge offered us the comfort of a large, warm property. The beds, either single or king-size were really comfortable giving us all very good nights sleep. Sladen Lodge has the benefit of a lovely large garden, ideal to sit out in when the weather permits. Hathersage is a pleasant village with basic facilities. It has two very good pubs that provide fine meals, the Scotsmans Pack and the Plough, both highly recommended.
Altogether a great week's holiday. We would gladly return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: wi-fi a bit temperamental
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin F
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, Outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a party of 12 on a weeks walking,drinking,eating break and this establishment was just the place to be. Excellent rooms,excellent facilities, and very clean. The owners couldn't do enough for us. We strongly recommend if you want to have a meet up with friends and family you stay here.
Plenty of walks and only 15 mins by train to Sheffield

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM6T
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Part of a lovely weekend”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked very much last minute and were not disappointed.
The food available was superb, as was the general ambience. Bit strange that several couples all 'mucked in' in the kitchen as it was self service, but it worked well.

Bit disappointed that I had to go and search for toilet paper and soap. The room on our second night, of the 2 night stay, had not been thoroughly serviced either- the tea sachets had not been replenished, although they were available in the kitchen. Unfortunately, this will stick in our mind, rather than the fine food.

One other piece of advice. When approaching in the dark, the road is badly lit (no fault of the owner) so care has to be taken, as it is a busy road and the entrance is not visible until you are right on top of it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Sladen Lodge. I just wanted to advise future guests that your stay was on a bed and breakfast basis for one room and not for the whole lodge on a self catering basis as it is normally let. We hope that we may see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M
Girona, Spain
1 review
“A well prepared, well located house with ample facilities matching specification”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were comfortable in the house which is well laid out and has more than sufficient accessories to amply cater for a large group - simple things such as cutlery, plates, glasses, fridges, cooking facilities, etc., but also good, large living areas. Fittings are of very good quality.

The house is well located for access to the Hathersage area Peak District and village pubs are within easy walking distance.

Good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy open space of the house
Liked least: steps at entrance challenge for wheelchair access - inhouse mobility good.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“An outstanding treat”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Sladen Lodge is pure delight from the moment you step through the door. The decor is so attractive; everything that you can think of - and then some! - is provided. There is lots of space, but that the same time it is all so comfortable. Everything is in first class condition, and spotless of course. There was nothing that we lacked, nothing that we could think of that could have made it more perfect.

I can't wait for an excuse to go back and take my family.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaby W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Seven Days that flew by!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were seven couples sharing Sladen Lodge and were impressed how cosy and comfortable it was, how well equipped the kitchen is and how thoughtful and helpful the staff/owner are.
From the terrace that catches the sun almost all day you get a marvellous view.
I suppose the only slightly negative aspect is that the train runs along the border of the property and some of my friends were woken up by it in the early morning.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing