We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isley Walton
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding venue.......”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding last week. The wedding day was excellent, in a charming setting and the staff were very helpful. Our room was in the main hotel and spacious, comfortable and clean although some of our relatives/friends were less impressed with theirs.
HOWEVER - we didn't appreciate the 2 page letter of do's and don'ts receieved with confirmation of our booking. I am sure it was trying to be helpful but its overall tone read as very aggressive and hotel rather than customer centric, quoting legal requirements (which I am sure aren't actually law). I would respectfully suggest that the Manager revisits this, so that others aren't put off. We also didn't realsie that we were on the flight path - would have brought earplugs if we had known.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariath63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    33
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
48
34
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We got married at this venue in May 2011. From the outset we knew we wanted a rustic venue with character and this is certainly what we got. The whole day was perfect and the staff were exceptional. We would have no hesitation in recommending this venue. If you are looking for a 5* luxurious venue then this isn't your place and they certainly don't claim to be!! We booked all the rooms in the hotel for our wedding and were not disappointed. The views are exceptional and remember you are staying in converted old farm buildings that gave character and charm, go with massive expectations of fine dining and luxury - you will be dissapointed. This was perfect on our eyes and would highly recommend the hotel and it's staff.


If you are looking for 5* luxury then this isn't the place but you are paying for charm and character

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

A strange place, with odd rooms, although comfortable beds - the kitchen needs serious attention. The worst meal I have had for years! A venison dish that looked like dog food, barely able to discern cubes of meat and full of flour to thicken it. My colleague had pork - our meals looked grey and unappetising. Breakfast not much better. The restaurant and lounge all feel odd and not very inviting - though nice to have books available. Such a shame. sweet staff though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed recently for a wedding. The actual wedding over in the barn and pigsties was fantastic and couldn't fault it. It was just the bedroom that let it down.
We paid for a superior room which was far from superior. The room had an odd smell. The sheets on the bed had stains on them. The room was boiled despite the air conditioning being on all day which was useless. And the shower was poor- the shower head pointed down and wouldn't stay up and so the floor got soaked all the time and made it very difficult to shower. I think it was room 8. The room was not worth the 150 pounds a night.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynmc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

stayed here for a relatives wedding.Although the wedding and reception inclucing the evening was satisfactory the room we stayed in was dirty,the shower was dirty,the pillows on the bed stunk of sweat and the dinning area where we had breakfast musnt of seen a duster for years.the price we paid we could of stopped in a 5 star hotel (wish we had)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terryhammond1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmerIsleyWalton, Manager at Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Mr Hammond

I was very upset to read your review on trip advisor, although we do not have a record of your stay, and I would be pleased to recieve some further details.

Our bedrooms are thoroughly cleaned each day to a high standard, and then inspected by our Head Housekeeper. I make spot checks to the bedrooms myself and am confident of the high standards of cleanliness throughout. I am very sorry that you didn't feel able to let us know that you were unhappy with your room during your stay.

With regard to our dining room, the farmhouse is a very old building and the huge log fire does cause dust on the wood panelling which we do our best to keep on top of.

Emma Zwozny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sennybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Very good hotel i do not stay im many but most that i do are not as happy and freindly as here. Meals were very good and filling and the atmosfere was excelent due to the staff, even tho it was busy weekend . I was down for the fia truck racing and book quiet late was glad to get the room
.
Will definatly stop again and recomend to freinds

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the WSBK weekend and were really pleased to get booked up so close to the race track at short notice. We soon discovered why. On arrival we were ushered through the back offices as there was a wedding party. Food was only served Friday and Saturday evenings.On arrival we booked to eat at the hotel on the Saturday nignt. Food was adequate, but during the course of the evening we were asked to move seats twice as they were so disorganised with bookings. Considering they would have known it would be a busy weekend they had made no provisions for this which resulted in very poor customer service. We paid £120 a night and were made to feel like an inconvenience,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobaypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmerIsleyWalton, Manager at Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted that our next door neighbours, Donington Park have begun race meetings again. On Saturday night, I have to admit that our small kitchen and Aga were overwhelmed, and we will certainly put some improvements in place for the next big event. We do have bar snacks available each day from lunchtime and the full dinner menu from 6pm each evening. I can only apologise that you didn’t enjoy your stay, and that we were not better prepared for the huge volume of people in our farmhouse dining room. Rest assured, we'll be ready next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isley Walton
3.5 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
306 reviews
2.1 km away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
741 reviews
4.2 km away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
2.9 km away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
164 reviews
6.4 km away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Address: Melbourne Road, Isley Walton DE74 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Isley Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isley Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run farmhouse hotel, set in 20 acres of beautiful land. Nineteen character, en-suite guest rooms. Free-to-use wireless internet. Log Fires in Winter, farmhouse suppers and bar meals. Licensed wedding venue and meeting rooms. Local produce used where possible, including Venison from own herd of deer. Park and Fly Packages available for East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing