We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-10
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-10
Hotels.comUS$51
TravelocityUS$51
PricelineUS$51
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
124
48
20
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
124
48
20
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne breakfast large bathroom great meal friday night comfortable beds noise menu pub drinkers toilets luke courses team portions wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 213 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2020 via mobile

Booked for a late Sunday lunch (3 pm) at Harpur’s, after visiting Melbourne Hall Gardens.
We sat upstairs in the restaurant which was very comfortable and quieter than downstairs, and there was plenty of space between the tables.

Our Sunday lunch was exceptional and absolutely delicious. I had the sirloin of beef which was beautifully cooked and extremely tender. My husband had the brined roast chicken with stuffing. Both meals were served with a lovely crispy Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and a superb gravy. Then an array of wonderful tasty vegetables were brought to the table, including dishes of cauliflower cheese, red cabbage, carrot & swede and a cabbage, beans, courgette and peas mix. I asked for extra gravy and was given a little gravy boat of my own. The main course is so generous that we were unable to fit in a pudding but the dessert menu looked lovely too.

The service by Francesca and her staff was excellent. They were very friendly, helpful and efficient, especially Francesca. We were given plenty of time to make our choices from the menu and initial drinks arrived promptly. We didn’t feel hurried but just subtly checked on to see if we were happy with the meal and if we needed anything else.

We would thoroughly recommend a visit to Harpur’s of Melbourne for an absolutely delicious meal and great service. We will definitely come back again in the future, when we are in the area. Many thanks.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank salsimp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 17, 2020

The food was all very good and our waitress was lovely, but after she left at 10 unfortunately the service went downhill, the staff were too busy in private conversations or gazing at the computer screen and then to add insult to injury they started stacking chairs on tables, it was like sitting in a forest surrounded by chair legs finishing our tea and coffee. There were plenty of people still in the bar but we were the only table left occupied in the restaurant by then, but their attitude did not make us feel like staying for another drink.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JanetSB387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 27, 2020 via mobile

Stayed at Harpurs last week for one night.
Room (one) was very clean and tidy but shower was to say the least useless and potentially dangerous.
The pub was extremely busy and every time a tap was turned on or a toilet flushed the shower reduced to a dribble and was scalding hot.
Having reported the concern the reply I received did not even acknowledge that we had stopped at Harpurs but put us in one of their sister hotels the Dragon.
The cost of stay is £125 for a room with no breakfast so we were expecting a lot better.
Food , drinks and staff are all good.
I would not have posted this had I received a more positive response to the concern raised and have no confidence it has been resolved.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Visited this lovely pub during our short stay in Melbourne. Found this beautifully decorated and friendly pub just a short walk from where we were staying. Superb food and the host Sophie was excellent and very knowledge and helpful. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kellylE9075IQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Down (from Aberdeen) these parts for first time. Hogmanay wedding tomorrow. We were told to visit Melbourne. We did and found this pub/restaurant. Superb meal. Staff rushed ragged as 2 off sick but still friendly service. Great food. Best rice pudding ever. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank djlm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews