We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We’ll definitely be coming back....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dannah Farm Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We’ll definitely be coming back....”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Dannah Farm and I think it’s the first time we failed to find something that we felt needed improving – sheer perfection! A lovely welcome, great facilities and an amazingly comfortable room, not sure there was actually anything missing throughout the entire stay.

We opted to stay in the Studio Hideaway and despite reading reviews regarding its size, it was ideal and far bigger than most places. How much space can you possibly want when it’s just the two of you?! Fabulous bedroom upstairs and shower room and lounge area downstairs, not to mention the hot tub and courtyard just out the back.

All of the staff were always so chatty and helpful whenever you bumped into them and the atmosphere seemed to rub off on the guests as everyone was very relaxed and friendly. A perfect retreat in the middle of nowhere and a great place to unwind...and don’t forget to stock up on breakfast! It’s been a long time since we’ve experienced the quality of food served at the Dannah Farm (if you have time definitely opt for one of their evening platters – utterly faultless).

If you’re looking for a great place to relax, enjoy the countryside, walk for miles and be spoilt in your accommodation, then this really is the place to go. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltonkeynesSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    38
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
214
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having recently revisited dannah after a number of years of absence I can only say that this is my favourite b&b by far. The rooms are all individual and quirky which adds to the charm. Dannah is located in the middle of nowhere - so it's a taxi to the pub - but is that such a bad thing? The breakfast is lovely - I'm a poached egg fan - and they are truly gorgeous. If you know you are going to arrive late at night ask for the cold platter when you book your room - and you will receive a lovely mixture of salads, meat and or fish plus a little sweet treat. Highly recommended. And the beds - heavenly comfort

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heaton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nothing like a 5 star establishment. No meet & greet or help with luggage. No water provided in rooms. Too many 'rules' to follow i.e. no drinks or food etc.

We stayed in the Ecclesbourne Room. Windows don't open. Bathroom fittings falling apart, toilet seat chipped, sink didn't drain.

Breakfast - average

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend staying in the Granary Suite, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

The Granary Suite itself was large and sumptuous, with beautiful interior design features. From the huge bed, the incredibly comfortable sitting chairs in the bedroom, the lovely walk in wet room, the deep two person spa bath, the fabulously relaxing hot tub, the amazing amount of space, and having your own private entry we couldn't fault the standard of the accomodation.

On arrival we were greeted swiftly, given a quick tour of the facilities and then shown to our suite where we had complimentary coffee and tea brought to us with some delicious cakes which made our mouths water.

The breakfast's were incredible and I managed a full English on both days, thick cut bacon, juicy sausage, two eggs, mushrooms, tomato, black pudding and toast made from fresh homemade bread. There was also a good selection of cereals, juices and yoghurts (for the more health conscious), and tea and coffee.

In one of the sitting rooms there was a selection of walks which they had kindly photocopied so you could take a copy on the walk with you. The walks ranged from a short 1/2 hour one up to 3 to 4 hours. We chose a medium walk of about 1 1/2 hours which was very pleasant and the scenery was stunning.

the first night we ate out a the Hanging Gate Pub in Shottle, which had a lovely cosy atmosphere, and was very well design with a nice blend of rustic charm and contemporary chic. The food was delicious and there was a good selection of beers, including some real ales.

On the second night we dined at O-Kra which is a contemporay Indian restaurant in Belper. The food was some of the best Indian cuisine we had tasted and the service was excellent.

I would have now hesitation in recommending both restaurants for a great meal.

I know some people have said that Dannah Farm is expensive, and it is, but at least you get what you pay for. The whole experience was one of opulent luxury, and whatever the reason for the visit, it's always nice to spoil yourself from time to time. We would definitely recommend it and would seriously consider returning.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms, but we couldn't fault any single thing about the Granary Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stay in many of the hotels published in the best hotel guide- at least once a month. I'm finding it extremely difficult to comprehend how Dannah Farm has made it into this publication. Firstly, the house looked nothing like it does on the website, or in the book, and the room was deceivingly smaller than how it was advertised. We stayed in The Hideaway Studio, at £210 per night, and although it has a hot tub, I can't see how the shoebox of a room justifies that amount. We were greeted by what I'm guessing was the cleaner, who proceeded to tell us that the room I'd paid £420 for, was actually given to guests who would have been paying £60 a night, as a free upgrade. Had this been the price we were charged, this would be a positive review as opposed to a negative. When it came to checking out, my Fiancé explained our concerns and opinions to Martin- I assume the owner, and he simply shrugged his shoulders, almost as if he'd heard it all before... Though I'm assuming it was probably due to the fact he now had our payment and he couldn't care less.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longleighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensett, Owner at Dannah Farm Country House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Firstly allow me to say that no one is more disappointed than us when a guest is disappointed with any aspect of their stay.

If anyone finds this is the case, please, please tell us as soon as possible and not either when checking out or even after having left! At that point there is nothing we can do to make things better! We could quite easily have moved these guests to another room on the two nights they stayed with us if we had realised they had a problem. Unfortunately the first time we had any inkling they were unhappy was on check-out.

The Studio Hideaway is one of our most popular rooms - it is certainly not the largest! It is so very popular because of the private terrace with hot-tub. If a potential guest reads the description and looks at the pictures I think it is pretty obvious that The Studio is not huge - I have had an American guest describe it as "cute"! Currently it is £210 - £215 per night, B&B. Very occasionally - on the day - if it is available last minute the late availability price is £185 per night, B&B as you will see from the information on our website.

All our rooms are individual and different and the best advice I can offer to any potential guest is to ask lots of questions before they choose a room - The Granary Suite also has a private hot-tub and is much larger than The Studio - I think this would have suited these guests much better. I do think that our website does accurately reflect what we offer, there is a lot of information there if a guest chooses to plough through it all!

Lastly, we are a small family business and employ a variety of local "girls" to help. We don't really have "cleaners" - my girls clean - certainly - they also wait at table, garden, answer the telephone, reply to e-mails, dogwalk, look after our grandchildren and are in fact generally part of the "Dannah Farmily" Quite who made the remark about £60 I am not sure but we haven't charged £60 for a room - even a single occupancy - for at least ten years or more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked the Dannah Farm to celebrate our wedding anniversary after reading the great reviews and were not disappointed. The farm is located in beautiful countryside and has lovely grounds. We stayed in the Ecclesbourne room-this has its own private sauna and a lovely spa bath. The room was spacious with a separate dressing area, and the bathroom had a great shower.
As soon as we arrived we were warmly greeted and offered a cup of tea-what arrived was an afternoon tea for two with fresh buttered scones and meringue filled with cream,delicious. The room has both tea and coffee making facilities with the added bonus of a tassimo coffee machine.
They have 2 cosy living rooms for you to sit and read the numerous guides/literature in the area or to just enjoy the roaring fires. Whilst there is no mini bar in the room there is a well stocked fridge in the lounge where you will find wine,beers, soft drinks-just fill out the IOU and it will be charged to your room-brilliant, we can recommend the thorn tons chocolates! They also have a selection of DVDs to watch in your room.
The breakfast is superb-we didn't need to eat again til the evening. Cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt along with home made bread toasted and a full english breakfast cooked to order.
We would recommend this country house to anyone looking for a relaxing time away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackgsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights which was a surprise for my *cough* 30th birthday, Dannah farm feels really remoteso you certainly can get away from everything but close enough to some great peak district market towns to get back to civilisation from time to time.

We stayed in the studio room, which was great, a little on the small side but certainly big enough for two. The room was nicely presented on two floors with a spiral staircase seperating the two, which to be honest is quite a tight squeeze to get up, there is a great power shower with body jets and of course the private outdoor jacuzzi.

The breakfast is probably one of the best i've had and the home made bread is fantastic. Their is also a nice touch of a tessimo coffee machine in each room as well as an ipod dock.

Overall its a great place to get away from it all, incredably quiet.

I would certainly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorden1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shottle
23.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
12.0 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
6.8 km away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.7 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
6.7 km away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannah Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannah Farm Country House

Property: Dannah Farm Country House
Address: Bowmans Lane, Shottle DE56 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shottle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dannah Farm Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge high above the Ecclesbourne Valley on The Chatsworth Estates at Shottle, Dannah is the place to relax, unwind and re-charge the batteries. Small and intimate enough to offer a truly unique and personal experience, yet large enough to be professional and unobtrusive. Whether you are coming to Derbyshire to see the sights, visit relatives or to celebrate a romantic occasion, Dannah aims to give you an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Dannah Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannah Farm Country House Hotel Shottle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing