We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveller rating
499
449
195
113
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
449
195
113
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews partridge alton towers evening meal main building continental breakfast full english the pub on arrival groupon deal park your car my partner fresh fruit family room peak district cakes hot tub one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

never stay here room are ran down meals overpriced drinks over priced rooms are dirty. dirty bed dirty carpet hairs all over bed urine stain on matteress. wallpaper peeling off. ants in room and the room is damp. the cleaners dont even clean rooms properly. owners are the worst owners i have ever met theu are rude and never want to take responsibility for anything in that accommodation. save yourself the hassle and do not waste your money to stay here go somewhere else that is better where the owners actully care

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

This couple stayed a whole week at the hotel eating dinner in the hotel every night, why eat and drink with us if to expensive .
When he arrived he said he was hotel inspecter and started pulling the room apart . Not happy with first room so offered him another room that he did the same , we were not happy with him to stay.He refused to leave even though we said there would be no charge.
Yes there were ants in his hall way on the last day but as he was keepin food there and with biscuit and cake crumbs ants will come
I am sorry but you don't stay 8 nights in somewhere you are not happy. No complaint for the rest of his stay or when he checked out, then asked for s full refund from the booking company he booked with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We would highly recommend the dog & partridge. We stayed for 2 nights and had a much needed rest. We found all staff to be very friendly & helpful. Chalet was spotless, and it was so convenient to have our car parked outside. Food was delicious. Excellent choice for breakfast, catered for everyone. Proper continental with added touch of yummy cakes, definitely 5* for food rating.
Evening meal was delicious also, we ate both nights of our stay. Even though dogs were allowed inside the pub, none were in the restaurant part, so very pleased about that.
Dogs that were there very well behaved, wouldn’t of known they were there. We will definitely stay again. Watch out for the cute little bunny bobbing about at night. Thanks to Mary & all her staff for making our stay a fabulous one. See you next year Mr & Mrs Neary

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank nat107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you, looking forward to you staying again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

As a treat from the wife did not know what to expect but well impressed with the room having never stayed in a separate "chalet". Plenty of space and greater privacy than a room in a pub/hotel, coat hooks in the hall would be useful but a very minor point. The choice and quality of food was excellent with an amazing choice for breakfast. Again, a very minor point, but eating in the bar with the dog the tables are a tad low for complete comfort and higher ones would complete the already excellent experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

We are looking to replace tables in bar,hope you choose to stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017

The room was old and not as clean as we would like . We left 1day early as so disappointed .Nothing to do and even walking the dog was difficult as all fields had notices up barring dogs so had to go elsewhere .However the food was good but expensive ,tho worth it ! Cannot recommend this place but work is going on to improve it so maybe next year it will be better . The rooms are like cheap motorway rooms abroad

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

I am sorry we didn't come up to your expectations, there is so much to do in our area, and there are footpaths all around the hotel
I am glad you enjoyed your food, it is all locally sourced and cooked fresh, hence price.
We are refurbishing at present, but not to disturb other rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Nice and friendly even with our late arrival. We didn’t eat anything but breakfast , but they where still cooking a lot later (10:30) on the night because of the event and offered us food.
Clean and tidy room with bath and mixer type shower and towels and we could move the car outside.
Would stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews