We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop over for Alton Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Swinscoe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with our young family during a visit to Alton Towers. Accommodation was great, with a bunk bed for the kids in the chalet style rooms. Much more spacious and comfortable than some of the usual sofa bed arrangements for family rooms that you get. We ate in the restaurant at night. Food was good, portions ample and lots of choice. Breakfast was excellent - we just stayed with the continental choice rather than ‘upgrading’ to the full English and it was grand. Friendly staff who made us very welcome. All in all a great place, short distance from Alton Towers and value for money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LisaA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Horrible place wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. The staff are horrible totally stink of body odour. Alton towers actually refunded us. I ended up taking an asthma attack due to the dampness of the chalets (that we were not aware existed until we arrived) it was infested with beetles and my sister found a spider in her bed. We left at 7am it was so horrible and we were actually afraid to complain as you have no phone signal and the staff refuse to give the WiFi passcode out.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

When did you stay
Please everybody read our other reviews as durin the Alton Towers season we were 95 percent full, so lots of happy customers,would we suddenly have bad reviews long after the season has finished.

We give the WiFi code out to everyone,and mobiles do work and there is phones in the rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Lovely welcome , our room was one that had been refurbished it was lovely spotlessly throughout lovely and warm plenty of tea and coffee , couldn't fault it. The breakfast was brilliant so much choice of cereals , toast,crumpets, toasted buns cakes ect so much choice also cooked breakfast. Evening meals are also good with a good choice and plenty of it. Throughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Stayed here visiting Holmfirth for a gig. Its a lovely place. Welcoming staff. Clean, spacious room with tea/coffee etc. Great breakfast. Got back from gig at 11 and bar was open until 12 with locals singing.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertJohn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review, really pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This is our third visit to the Dog and Partridge and as expected we had a great time. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, we even met the grandchildren. our room wasn't one of the ones that have been recently renovated but it was lovely and clean and spacious we slept soundly. There was so much choice for breakfast we were spoilt for choice and everything was delicious as were our evening meals, I was pleased to see more fish choices on the menu. included in our stay was use of the hot tub for half an hour most enjoyable with a glass or two of bubbly but a bit chilly when out of the water. we thought it really convenient that we were able to park right outside our room. we didn't have to rush ourselves at check out as it was 12 and not 10 like some places. We had a great time and will certainly be returning for a fourth visit.

Room Tip: suites have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _jackie_maria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

never stay here room are ran down meals overpriced drinks over priced rooms are dirty. dirty bed dirty carpet hairs all over bed urine stain on matteress. wallpaper peeling off. ants in room and the room is damp. the cleaners dont even clean rooms properly. owners are the worst owners i have ever met theu are rude and never want to take responsibility for anything in that accommodation. save yourself the hassle and do not waste your money to stay here go somewhere else that is better where the owners actully care

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

This couple stayed a whole week at the hotel eating dinner in the hotel every night, why eat and drink with us if to expensive .
When he arrived he said he was hotel inspecter and started pulling the room apart . Not happy with first room so offered him another room that he did the same , we were not happy with him to stay.He refused to leave even though we said there would be no charge.
Yes there were ants in his hall way on the last day but as he was keepin food there and with biscuit and cake crumbs ants will come
I am sorry but you don't stay 8 nights in somewhere you are not happy. No complaint for the rest of his stay or when he checked out, then asked for s full refund from the booking company he booked with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We would highly recommend the dog & partridge. We stayed for 2 nights and had a much needed rest. We found all staff to be very friendly & helpful. Chalet was spotless, and it was so convenient to have our car parked outside. Food was delicious. Excellent choice for breakfast, catered for everyone. Proper continental with added touch of yummy cakes, definitely 5* for food rating.
Evening meal was delicious also, we ate both nights of our stay. Even though dogs were allowed inside the pub, none were in the restaurant part, so very pleased about that.
Dogs that were there very well behaved, wouldn’t of known they were there. We will definitely stay again. Watch out for the cute little bunny bobbing about at night. Thanks to Mary & all her staff for making our stay a fabulous one. See you next year Mr & Mrs Neary

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nat107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you, looking forward to you staying again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinscoe
2.9 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
20.8 km away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
4.8 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
14.2 km away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
4.4 km away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel

Address: Town End Lane, Swinscoe, Ashbourne DE6 2HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Swinscoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swinscoe
Price Range: $134 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog and Partridge Country Inn is set in glorious surroundings on the edge of the Derbyshire / Staffordshire Border. This Peak District Hotel provides the perfect base for sight-seeing and walking holidays. This Derbyshire Hotel has been owned by the same family for over twenty years. And is renowned for the clean and spacious Derbyshire Accommodation located in the grounds of the inn – all on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Our location provides a great holiday base for those wanting to explore Derbyshire or Staffordshire; for businesses needing a meeting or conference venue in a small Derbyshire Hotel or for guests wanting a great night out or a party venue at a Peak District Hotel. With many notable attractions such as Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth House, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and the lovely market town of Ashbourne only a short drive away, landmarks like Dovedale, Beresford Dale and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington – famous for the well dressings – are also within easy reach. The Dog and Partridge Country Inn has long been a popular base for walkers, ramblers and climbers in the Peak District, with a wide choice of walks, routes and climbs of varying distances and degrees of difficulty, all within easy reach of this Peak District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog And Partridge Country Inn
The Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Swinscoe
Country Inn Swinscoe
Swinscoe Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing