We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
502
449
195
113
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
449
195
113
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews partridge alton towers evening meal main building continental breakfast full english the pub on arrival groupon deal park your car my partner fresh fruit family room peak district cakes hot tub one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this very old and traditional country inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and could not be faulted, especially the evening meals "wow". My only gripe is that the room we were in "10" we had an outside light shining in through window all night. Obviously not too bright once the curtains were shut, but still bright enough to light the room up. Apart from that, nothing else could be faulted. Would recommend and would visit again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adventuresofmollydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Sorry about the light we are going to check today, as we trimmed some trees this week so need to perhaps move a light. Passsed your comments on food on to our kitchen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Overall a pleasant place to stay, we had a lovely breakfast and a good meal the evening before. The only criticisms were that the table was too small for our party of six and that the barman was not over friendly when we retired to the bar afterwards. He made it quite clear that we had outstayed our welcome by 11pm, not by words but we got the message. The rooms were pleasant although one room had a bathroom heater that was broken and it was a chilly night.

Room Tip: All the same
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wendyhirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

I am sorry your table was to small for your group if you had asked we would have moved you.
I have spoken to the bar staff
Sorry the bathroom heater was not working taken this up with maintance.
But really pleased you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with our young family during a visit to Alton Towers. Accommodation was great, with a bunk bed for the kids in the chalet style rooms. Much more spacious and comfortable than some of the usual sofa bed arrangements for family rooms that you get. We ate in the restaurant at night. Food was good, portions ample and lots of choice. Breakfast was excellent - we just stayed with the continental choice rather than ‘upgrading’ to the full English and it was grand. Friendly staff who made us very welcome. All in all a great place, short distance from Alton Towers and value for money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LisaA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

Horrible place wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. The staff are horrible totally stink of body odour. Alton towers actually refunded us. I ended up taking an asthma attack due to the dampness of the chalets (that we were not aware existed until we arrived) it was infested with beetles and my sister found a spider in her bed. We left at 7am it was so horrible and we were actually afraid to complain as you have no phone signal and the staff refuse to give the WiFi passcode out.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

When did you stay
Please everybody read our other reviews as durin the Alton Towers season we were 95 percent full, so lots of happy customers,would we suddenly have bad reviews long after the season has finished.

We give the WiFi code out to everyone,and mobiles do work and there is phones in the rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Lovely welcome , our room was one that had been refurbished it was lovely spotlessly throughout lovely and warm plenty of tea and coffee , couldn't fault it. The breakfast was brilliant so much choice of cereals , toast,crumpets, toasted buns cakes ect so much choice also cooked breakfast. Evening meals are also good with a good choice and plenty of it. Throughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews