We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect break in Tidewell”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect break in Tidewell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked a 2 night break (Friday / Saturday) in the Mermanbarn based upon previous reviews, and were not disappointed. We were welcomed upon arrival by Linda (the perfect host) who showed us around, then to our lovely superking room. Every area of the barn was spotlessly clean, and well worth it's four star rating. Everything seemed to be catered for, from a small fridge in the room, with fresh milk & bottled water, down to a little shed for the bikes. The bed was massive, and very comfy. The breakfast was delicious.
Tideswell was quite busy with shoppers / walkers during the day, and very quiet in the evening (just what we wanted really).
I would thouroughly recommend the Mermanbarn when staying in Tideswell, and like to thank Linda & Andrew for their hospitality. Definitely a 4* experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_JoeWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
143
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My recent visit to the Merman Barn was my fourth in the last two years and the Bed & Breakfast is simply as superb as it was on my first stay.
The hosts, Andrew and Linda are very open and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Visitors are often welcomed with a pot of tea which can be consumed in the comfortable lounge. Our room was the large double which has a super king size bed which has to be seen to be believed. The room was immaculately clean The bed had very attractive bed coverings and was a delight to rest/sleep on. The complimentary tray had a good selection of drinks on it with cups & scourcers (no mugs here) and a couple of packs of good quality cookies/biscuits. There was even a small vase of fresh flowers on the tray too. Next to the complimentary tray was a flat screen colour TV.
The en-suite shower room was also immaculate with complimentary soaps/shower gel/shampoo/shoe shine/shower cap etc. and clean fluffy towels and flannels. Our towels were changed after the second day of our four night stay without prompting which was a nice touch.
Our breakfast was taken in the very attractive breakfast room. Breakfast can consist of a substantial full English, or there is a comprehensive selection of cereals, or there are yogurts, or fresh fruit salads made by Linda.
Overall, the Merman Barn is a delight to stay in and I would recommend the B&B very highly. I would even recommend it to my mum!!!!
Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and are decorated to a very high standard. Without doubt the double w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpineySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been to Merman Barn many times as this B & B is a little gem. Linda and Andrew are perfect hosts and the rooms are clean and comfortable, especially the superking room where we normally stay. A little fridge in the room and tea making facilities complete with gorgeous biscuits top off what is a relaxing and enjoyable stay. There is also a comfortable lounge where you can watch TV or a sunny garden to relax in. Breakfast is second to none as you will see. We advise you stay here if you are in the area as you wont go anywhere else in the Peak District once you have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FocusYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at Merman Barn for 2 nights towards the end of July. We had the twin room which was lovely and clean and had an en-suite. The guest living room was wonderfully comfortable and the garden was very pretty. Breakfast was plentiful and very nice.

Linda and Andrew were welcoming hosts, and advised us on places to eat locally. The Red Lion in the nearby village of Litton is a lovely old style pub full of character, but is so popular that you need to book to eat there in the evening, however there are a number of places within Tideswell which serve food where booking is not necessary. The George does something a little special, whereby the meat is served raw on a (very) hot volcanic rock and you can let each piece cook to your personal preference.

Likes:
The mini fridge with fresh milk was a nice touch
Courtesy bottled water and well as tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, chocolates
Shower - absolutely wonderful
Breakfast menu - just tick what you would like
Choice of herbal teas at breakfast

Dislikes:
Nothing

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantnSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

When we arrived Linda bought out tea and biscuits which we had in the garden. We had the king size room which was spacious with a nice en-suite. The whole place is kept immaculate and Linda & Andrew are wonderful hosts, nothing too much trouble should you need anything. Breakfast is very substantial and freshly cooked from a wide choice. In the room there is tea & coffee facilities ( replenished daily ) with a drinks chiller containing bottled water and milk.
Altogether a fantastic stay, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

This was my third visit to the Merman Barn. It is ideally situated for the Peak District and the village of Tideswell has the super church (Cathedral of the Peak) and several good pubs. Bakewell is 10 mintues away for very good restaurants.
The hosts, Linda and Andrew are wonderful and make one feel very welcome and are most accommodating. They maintain the house in immaculate condition and everything is extremely clean. Breakfast is very filling and extensive. The Merman Barn is ideal for walkers/ramblers. I love satying there and shall return again next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpineySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

On arrival we were greeted by Andrew and served with tea and biscuits.Can recommend breakfast good idea having printed menu to choose your choice the night before,and what a great choice! Our room was kept very clean with a good range of complementary toiletries.For eating out we found the George and the Horse and Jockey were ok,but the Red Lion at Litton is the best place to eat but needs to be booked.Overall we had a great stay at Mermanbarn,Linda and Andrew are great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosieyork186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
10.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
9.6 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
1.1 km away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 km away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing