We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spacious lodge, 4 miles from Matlock”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs
Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Comfortable Double Bed
This bedroom has plenty of space and plenty of character
En-suite to Double Bedroom has spa bath and shower cubicle
Twin bedroom on ground floor
Single bedroom on ground floor
Ground Floor Shower room with Power Shower
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher
Washer/Tumble Dryer
Comfortable Seating to relax on
Lounge / Diner
Lounge View onto Courtyard
Off Road Parking for 2 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rahhiel
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A spacious lodge, 4 miles from Matlock”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Sharon is a very accommodating and hospitable host.
A spacious lodge, good shower and kitchen facility. Family friendly and clean.
Mattresses on the beds could be more comfortable.
We enjoyed our time in the peak district.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Hi Rahhiel, I am so sorry you did not find the mattresses comfortable - nobody has ever mentioned this to me before - I will ask the next few guests and keep an eye on it and get them changed if there appears to be an issue - I am pleased that this did not appear to spoil your enjoyment over all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve912
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 24, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Very nice place to stay. The owner really looked after us on the visit and felt very confortable with her. Great welcome pack best we have ever had. The lemon cake is really worth dyong for best ever tasted.

Will book again as the area is very beatiful and the pub does very good meals. The local shop has virtually anyting you want so no need to plan a supermarket visit only shop for miles around. Really had a relaxing time and were very warm in the barn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizB12345...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A very comfortable place to stay. Sharon gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived, including a home baked cake. Everything was spotlessly clean and we got a real sense of added value with all the little touches around the house. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
1 review
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage was beautiful and the amenities second to none. Loved the Jacuzzi. Sharon was a super hostess, always ready to answer questions re local pubs etc. and her lemon cake was delicious. The location was just right for visiting all of the Peaks. We will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldwal...
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfortable accomodation!”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived Sharon had left us milk, tea and coffee plus the most wonderful lemon cake we have ever tasted! The barn is lovely and so well laid out we felt spoilt. The beds were really comfortable especially having had a jacuzzi bath before retiring.The lounge is very comfortable and looks onto the courtyard garden. There are so many things to do within easy travelling distance and a must is to visit Chatsworth which is beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier host and would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flossyand...
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a super stay at The Old Barn and thoroughly enjoyed looking around Winster and the surrounding Peakes District. It was a bonus that the village fair was on Saturday. The cottage is really comfortable with cosy furniture, a well equipped kitchen, great showers and a lovely courtyard in which to enjoy the sunshine. Sharon is a lovely person to chat to and made us feel very welcome. The platter of arrival goodies was a lovely surprise. We definitely recommend The Old Barn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunjan T
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect cosy stay in a cute cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

the host was very proactive in providing us all the information we could possibly need for the stay. The directions to reach were clear too. The cottage was in an impeccable condition and tidily arranged. Every room was comfortable and all kitchen was well equipped. What more could you possibly ask for!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing