We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect quirky place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Spook
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Spook
Sleeping platform - under the stars View of Winster
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Spook
Sleeping platform - under the stars
View of Winster
Private garden with great views
The Kitchen
Dining Area
First floor Living Area
Loads of books
Sleeping platform or sofa bed - both comfy mattresses
Original mullion window - found during renovation works
The Spook's unusual weather vane
The Spook from the garden
View from the garden bench
Bike storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul W
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect quirky place to stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Stayed for 4 nights whilst working away, and loved it. A well equipped kitchen, comfy living space and loft bed made for a great home from home. Clive and Anthea were perfect hosts.
Sadly I couldn't stay for the 2nd week as it was already booked, and I can understand the popularity of the Spook, and the village too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
We enjoyed you coming to stay too! Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair...
1 review
“Cosy and Quaint”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Spook is the epitome of cosiness, with a uniquely quirky and surprisingly spacious layout. Everything you could need is there, with a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom, both spotlessly clean on arrival. The bed is very comfortable and the decor is quaint but tasteful. As for location, there is a lovely pub just a minute's walk downhill, and the village shop just a little beyond that. The whole village is charming and surrounded by beautiful countryside that you could easily spend days wandering (and we did!).

Clive and Anthea, the hosts, are also delightful. Not only was there wine and biscuits waiting for us on arrival, they were also only to happy to help with suggestions and reccomendations, and Clive was even kind enough to give us a lift into Matlock Bath on the day of our departure.

I cannot reccomend the Spook enough, 10/10.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Well it was just great hosting you! Hope to see you again sometime. All the best. Clive and Anthea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona826
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect and idyllic cottage and location”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The Spook is the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in. The kitchen has everything you need to cook any dish you want, and the space to do it, and Anthea always provides basics like salt and pepper, even oil and filter coffee and a bottle of wine! The community village shop is equally impressive in its range and quality of products, with so much locally sourced, and it's always open when you need it to be, even Christmas Day.
Upstairs in the cottage, is the most eclectic library of books, everything from Bryson to Bronte, Dibna to Dickens, and everything non fiction too! There are games, videos, DVDs , who needs to leave the cottage with this much entertainment !
Winster is a beautiful village, and we are always made to feel very welcome, the strength of the community is very apparent, the guisers, the quizzes in the Bowling Green, sherry and a mince pie at the hairdressers....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
What a lovely review and yes we love Winster very much too! See you again. Anthea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
It was great to have you to stay! Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the cosyness of both the cottage and the village
Liked least: the steep hill back up after several hours cycling..(joking of course, it's good excercise)
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
It was great to host you and we are very glad you had a good time. Regards Anthea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belle S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A kitchen Elizabeth David would have been proud to own”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Superb batterie de cuisine for such a teeny cottage. We love to cook and usually despair of the pathetic offerings of most cottages and come armed with all the necessary trappings for a culinary week. (Anthea gave us a strange look on arrival as mountains of luggage was whipped out of the cars).Not so the Spook, I kept saying "look at this" and "ooh they have got one of these" .An excellent quality stainless steel frying pan allowed us to prepare a superb risotto. A large oven proof dish was home to a tasty cottage pie, a fitting tribute to our surroundings. Everything you could want was there. We did venture out for a curry at the fabulous Indian restaurant in the former Ritz Cinema, which was my favourite hangout as a teenager. Big congratulations to Winster for making The Times top ten most desirable villages in Britain. We are returning after Xmas, sadly not to the Spook as we are a larger party, so I suppose it's back to bringing the kitchen sink and half the pantry with us. Still we won't need to cook a turkey so if the worst comes to the worst we can always jazz up the.
Xmas leftovers with delicious Derbyshire tomato sausages and supplies from the excellent village shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: The bedding
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
We put in the kitchen everything we would like to find so that's great that you were happy! Thanks for the mention of the community owned village shop as it is wonderful when visitors help to keep it going. And thanks for coming. Anthea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffandAu...
Marvejols, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant as always”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very kind and thoughtful owners who go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable holiday. Compact but well equipped and comfortable cottage which even has a travel cot proving how much Clive and Anthea think of the needs of their guests. The wifi in the cottage works brilliantly, even in the garden. Delightful and very friendly village in a beautiful area with many attractions to visit. For walkers this must be an absolute heaven on earth. Two pubs offering a selection of beers and good food. We just can't find any faults!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we will see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing