We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint and Quirky”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside the Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside the Retreat
The old chapel door The beautiful leaded windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Outside the Retreat
The old chapel door
The beautiful leaded windows
View of the Derbyshire hills
The kitchen area
The kitchen
The living area
The living area
The brass bed
The shower room
The graveyard
Winter!
The graveyard again
It really is in a graveyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john will...
2 reviews
“atmospheric but cramped”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pros --- very original and atmospheric setting, Wirksworth lovely rural and friendly village,in midst of wonderful countryside,many pleasant walks close to hand
Cons --- very little storage one area 2ft x 1ft and small chest of draws containing odds and ends and not very clean,shower curtain had 4in of old soap etc along bottom,and shower cleaning wand black with use
Conclusion ---- wonderful if cramped property spoilt for want of TLC

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
This is an unfair review. Yes the Retreat is small - it is described as such on the listing. Most people are happy with the storage space available. The chest of drawers is not full of 'odds and ends' but OS maps of the area and tourist information, and useful publications. These are all stored in a box file. The only other items are a sewing kit and hair dryer. There are still two whole drawers and a wardrobe for clothes storage etc. No-one else has complained about the shower curtain - which has temporarily replaced a glass screen that a previous Holiday Lettings guest had broken but hadn't informed us of. Obviously we are disappointed that you were disappointed with your stay but refer future guests to other previous reviews which are overwhelmingly positive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and Quirky ”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely well equipped converted chapel. Perfect base for walking and days out. Wirksworth itself is a lovely little town serviced by local butchers, bakers, etc. We enjoyed walking our dog around and up and down the the quirky lanes of the town.
One disappointment..... no ghostly goings-on from the cemetery! If you want a quiet peaceful break, come here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teakay201...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely little holiday let”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great little place to stay, was a good location to get to nearby tourist spots and villages if you have a car. Parking was a bit difficult but there was an unofficial car park across the road, and was a gamble if there was a free space. Couldn't find the switch for underfloor heating but all in all was a great little place to stay. Mainly a very quiet area apart from the building site next door, but that made little noise and couldn't really be heard from the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Hi
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the comments. Sorry you couldn't find the switch for the under-floor heating it is just beneath the thermostat so surprised you didn't see it. As well as the little car park opposite there is also unlimited free parking on the road just along from the Co-op, so within 60 yards of the Retreat. The nearby building work will be finished very soon, but as you say its not in any case really audible from the Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveol
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet neighbors”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Directions to the property were spot on. It really was just a very short walk from the bus stop.

The interior was nicely decorated. loved the Laura Ashley comforter on the bed. The cemetery itself could have used a little tlc. It was sad to see fallen gravestones.

We had a bit of a problem with the tv the first night. Second night, we did a bit of investigating, pulled the plug, put it back in and viola, it worked. Unfortunately, we found a lot of dust behind the tv. Seems the housekeeping was getting a bit slack since we only had 1 bath towel instead of 2. Not sure, but I think the 2 smaller towels were what were being used in the kitchen.

I gather the owners are over in France. Perhaps a good spring cleaning and replenishment of supplies is in order.

Overall, a nice little retreat, but best suited to walkers and their dogs. I didn't care for the doggy toenail I stepped on in the rug. My own fault. Never rent a place that says dogs welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dusty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments. We have just changed the cleaner as the previous one was not satisfactory. I can assure all future guests that the property will be spotless, and the correct number of towels ready for guests. Sadly we are not responsible for the graveyard, but I think the fallen gravestones add to the ambience! ( show me a graveyard without a fallen gravestone!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humph H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was bought a four night stay in the retreat for a 70th birthday present. The paperwork named the property "Wirksworth Chapel". When I searched it on the internet, it turned out to be a "Chapel of Rest" in the middle of a Baptist graveyard. I considered not telling my wife until we got there, but the booking was a couple of months away, so I decided honesty was the best policy. Everybody we told thought it was really funny.

The reality was a wonderful surprise. The "housekeeper" had arranged fresh flowers to greet us. The redesign of the space proved to be an ideal place to spend a relaxing and invigorating few days. We slept well in the most comfortable double bed. After all, it's probably one of the few buildings of that age (1812) where nobody has ever died. The furnishings and facilities were excellent; the underfloor heating in the main area -- a joy. We were able to walk from the property every day into the wonderful surrounding countryside. The provision of TV with DVD player and plenty of DVDs to choose from was an unexpected bonus. We ate a special meal in the local French themed restaurant "Le Mistral" - highly recommended. One last point.....I had forgotten how "up North" everybody you pass in the street or on a country footpath says hello. The few days we spent left us both wanting more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your birthday surprise. We leave fresh flowers for all our guests, if we'd known it was your birthday in advance you'd have got card too! We've just had the under-floor heating installed and are pleased that you sing its praise so highly! Glad too you liked Wirksworth, for those who've never visited it is a wonderful Peak District town. Hope to see you back again. Best wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing