We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and conveniently located holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jasmine Cottage

Jasmine Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jasmine Cottage
Living room Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Jasmine Cottage
Living room
Master Bedroom
Walk along Bradford River
Enjoying the River Bradford
Outside Jasmine
Twin bedroom
Spacious Kitchen
The Village of Youlgrave
Preparing the Well Dressing boards
Well Dressing
Clapper Bridge on River Bradford
Jasmine Cottage
River Wye  , Bakewell
Bakewell Market
Bakewell Market
Cork Stone , Stanton Moor
Cowslips Gratton Dale
Curber Edge in the mist
Sheep on the moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deb640
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well equipped and conveniently located holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, bichon frise dog and I enjoyed a few nights in this nice holiday cottage.
The owner is very friendly and helpful.
The cottage is in a pretty village. ideally located for visiting the main attractions of the Peak District.
The cottage is around 300 years old, has beamed ceilings and a large fireplace. We found the cottage well equipped with everything we needed. It has nice shared gardens with tables and chairs, a trampoline and a bbq (shared with the owner and their other holiday let).
The property is down a narrow lane (not suitable for cars) so you have to park at the top of the lane and walk down to the cottage. The walk is only a few minutes but is on a slight incline which may cause a problem for someone with walking difficulties.
We found the people in the village friendly, we had a drink in the Bulls Head pub but chose not to eat here. We had a lovely meal in the Bulls Head in Monyash (around a 10 minute drive from Youlgreave).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely gardens to sit and have a glass of wine in the evening
Liked least: The spiders that came out the beams during the evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Parking for the cottage is on Bradford Road so you don't have to park at the top of the lane. You can park at the top of the lane if you cant find parking on Bradford Road. There is no parking on Stoneyside as it is a narrow lane. For people with walking difficulties, it is better to park on Bradford Road. Apologies for that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
394amy
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deceptively spacious cottage, well equipped and in a lovely area.”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely, much more spacious than expected from the photos in the advert. It is very well equipped and in a lovely village with lots of walking on the doorstep. Would definitely look to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage and great village as a base for the Peak District”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent place to stay for touring the Peak District. Youlgreave is a lovely picturesque village and is also a good base for walks. The cottage is quaint and cosy but with all facilities provided. The hosts Chris and Nagarita are very welcoming, helpful and genuine. Would strongly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieransmu...
coulsdon, surrey
1 review
“Excellent well equipt cottage, great location and very nice owners”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in Jasmine Cottage at the beginning of April and had a really lovely holiday. The cottage was excellent - comfortable, spacious and well-equipt. Nagarita and Chris, the owners, had left a lovely cake for us and there was tea, coffee, milk there too, which was a really nice touch (our dog also loved the dog bed!). The area is lovely, with great walks from the door. A very short walk to the village, which has 3 pubs, (serving good food) and a couple of food shops. We had a lovely time and hope to return soon. Have already recommended it to my friends and family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GertrudeB...
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful week at Jasmine Cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful week at Jasmine Cottage, walking in the hills and dales and relaxing in the garden.

The cottage itself is one of a small row of three, two are holiday lets and the owners live in the third, so are on hand should you happen to need anything. We had everything we needed though, and thought it very spacious for a cottage. It wasn't completely sure if there was a garden because of a comment in an earlier review - but there are in fact 3 lovely gardens to choose from, all with tables and chairs and away from the road so wonderfully peaceful to sit outside with a drink in the evening - we were very lucky to have warm sunshine every day!

The location in Youlgrave is great - great walks directly from the cottage, but close to the attractions of Buxton or Matlock, for example, if it's raining, and plenty of shops in Bakewell if you need groceries etc. Lots of local produce available from gardens in the village, especially free-range eggs from the chickens wandering around! And three pubs, two with good food.

Best thing about our visit was Nagarita's delicious cake waiting for us, and welcoming vase of fresh flowers. Highly recommended to anyone wanting a relaxing break in the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nagarita's cake!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne197...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Friendly welcome, with a cake and flowers, very clean cottage, everything you need, great location, our dog loved it, would definitely return

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohsobjork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous doggie delight”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the cottage, very relaxing and chilled stay. I chose this cottage as when I emailed the owner I stated our dog was a 4 month old puppy (who is fully house trained) and I was expecting a no, but was surprised to get a yes which was very surprising. Anyway we can't fault the cottage, perfect location and a very comfortable cottage, I have no complaints at all and loved the home baked cake and fresh flowers on arrival. Nagarita was lovely and extremely welcoming......would definitely recommend if you want to stay and just relax away from it all. The River Bradford which is on the doorstep was fabulous and could never get bored of this walk, our dog Burdock loved this place and he highly recommends the cottage and village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No private garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing