We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage for a wonderful stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverdale View

Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
cosy log burner Comfy L shape sofa with bedding storage underneath adds a 3rd double / single bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
cosy log burner
Comfy L shape sofa with bedding storage underneath adds a 3rd double / single bed
sit on the antique pew and take your walking boots off
antler chandelier, lounge (dimmable for cosy ambience)
barn doors throughout. plenty of hooks for hanging up your walking jackets
cottage meets contemporary with ceramic sink and metro tiles
kitchen with retro style toaster kettle and microwave
contemporary bathroom with roll top bath, rain shower and feature fossil wall
explore the polished rare derbyshire fossils whilst you bathe
luscious view of the dale from the Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom (Summer) with guest towels
Master Bedroom. vintage drawer detail
quirky fittings, vintage pieces and pictures throughout
Master bedroom (Winter) .  Quality wooden double bed, goose & duck duvet
Spring view from Master Bedroom
patio with bistro table and chairs
Maytime - the wild garden lawn
The Blue room. (double) Anti-Allergy mattress. (non feather duvet also available)
both bedrooms have front view windows overlooking the dale and river
steps down to the river
Pisarro was here. Lucien Pisarro, Impressionist painter.  Colwell End painted this scene
stone bridge over Bradford Dale  & river - just at the bottom of the cottage steps
crystal clear water with little waterfalls
interesting finds en route
dry stone walls throughout the Peak District, mile upon mile
limestone outcrops along the waking path by river
the sky at night
countryside full of curious animals
delapitated barns, fields and dry stone walls
winter window view
virgin snow garden
endless winding lanes edged with hand built limestone walls
winter wonderland view from bedroom
book for Christmas! tree included
Cottage front. The honeysuckle and passion flower are growing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarah s
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a wonderful stay.”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely cottage, perfectly appointed. A good option regardless of the weather, as the views from each window are stunning and there's a cosy fire. Owner very helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Yes, light the fire, read a book, have a glass of wine - all with a lovely view whatever the weather. Thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keh111
1 review
“A very peaceful and tranquil little old cottage”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A very lovely little old cottage set in a peaceful location that has been tastefully modernised with new kitchen and bathroom without spoiling the old charm of the cottage.as you open the front door for the first time it's like stepping back in time loved the place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. Its great to step back in time, even if its for a weekend only
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamonste...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A peaceful reward”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I think the main perk of Riverdale View was the peace and quiet of the location. It is down a very steep bank so it away from the main road and any traffic noise. It is very close to the path along the riverbank, and the view from the front garden is beautiful. Upstairs the bedrooms are charming and the bathroom is top notch. The host has provided a lot of information about the area which is so helpful.

My only feedback is that I think the description should make more prominent how steep the path is to the cottage and I think the lounge could do with a deep cleaning. Would recommend it as an ideal stay for a couple, a couple and child or two couples who know each other really well!

Very happy with our stay at Riverdale View!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lounge was a bit dusty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyGibs...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, cosy , relaxing”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Me and my boyfriend Andrew stayed here for 3 nights the last week in july to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. We found this cottage online and thought it looked amazing, wow were we right it was snug delightful and the view from the front door was just perfect and breath taking. The fact that you can hear the river from the cottage was so relaxing. Theres so much to do and theres no loud noises in youlgreave. Wifi came on quick and so did tv. We would stay again but the steep hill may put people off, i highly reccomend people with difficulties walking to not stay here due to the hill to and back from the cottage. I have weak knees and it wasn't good for myself but i managed it haha. I highly reccomend the Farmyard inn but book in advance as is a small but cosy pub. Also a 15 mins drive to bakewell

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
So glad you had a cosy time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dramaquee...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfectly lush getaway!”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

So chuffed to have found this place! We were two couples aiming to have a completely restful time enjoying each other's company and the beautiful scenery and this gorgeous wee cottage was just the ticket. Great welcome from Amanda, the place is spotless and there is so much to see and explore (although we were relatively lazy!) Highlights were definitely prosecco & paddling in the river on a warm evening and a fabulous Sunday lunch at The Farmyard Inn. We would absolutely come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The sofa
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Fantastic, thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue h
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage. Beautiful location. Would stay again.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was perfect for my friend and I. We would have liked mirrors in our bedrooms. The second bedroom is cosy. Great for one person, but would be tight for 2 adults sharing. A bedside table would be good too.
The sofa was missing some of it's cushions. Whilst not a problem for 2 people sharing the property, it would be if the party was larger.
Amanda - the owner responded quickly to texts. She was friendly and helpful.
The location is beautiful and the cottage was delightful. You do need to be fit and agile to get to it though. Will be looking at returning again. We had a really lovely few days stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property
Liked least: Very steep path to get to property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Glad you had a good time - and would stay again! Thanks for the tip about a bedroom mirror, there is the large mirrored front of the bathroom cabinet with top light of course but, yes i'll get one for the bedrooms. Incidentally the sofa bed comes with just the 3 side cushions, thats why i added the 6 scatter cushions down the other side (so non missing as such!). The second bedroom is cosier (a custom built bed frame with double mattress across the width as per photo). Guests vary from families, individuals, couples and there are options with sofa bed (as single or double), a child mattress and a pull out camp bed so there are options for different combinations. I guess its a cosy limestone cottage rather than something for a larger party. thank you, amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie C
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. We loved the location. The cottage is accessed via a steep path en route to the river. We enjoyed having our breakfast in the patio garden with views of trees, wild flowers, birds and the river.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you Rosie. I think it's particularly lovely at this time of year with plenty of birdsong all around. Breakfast on the patio is my favourite too - all the benefits of the countryside without having to go anywhere
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing