We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nilcarbille
Broxbourne, United Kingdom

A delightful 3 day stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 4, 2024
A delightful 3 day break to celebrate a milestone birthday with family.

An characterful old building with corridors, steps, corners and add-ons. Lovely bright rooms with super-soft bed linen. Room and bathroom spotless. Lots of friendly, efficient staff throughout.
Sensibly priced menu in large restaurant and bar areas. Interesting daily specials. Even though we arrived at end of dinner service they found our group of 4 a table and provided fuss free service. Extensive choice in the bar and lots of outdoor seating to enjoy the country feel of the pub areas.

Overall a professional, welcoming and happily non-pretentious place to stay.
Lots of places to visit nearby.
And no extra charge for the four days of beautiful weather we had earlier this month...

A minor caveat.. it was OK for us, but the stairs to the upstairs bedrooms are a bit steep. A handrail both sides would give a greater sense of safety for less agile guests.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: The garden gets full, with guests and locals, early on a sunny day...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
My meal 2 ( Jacket potato with tuna mayo and coleslaw, plus salad £6.50)
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from The Rose and Crown
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$336
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
15.4 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
22.2 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
10.1 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hunstanton Lighthouse
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.6 km from The Rose and Crown
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.0 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.5 km from The Rose and Crown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Snettisham
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
455
186
75
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
455
186
75
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub scampi walled garden varied menu sea bass sunday lunch wine list north norfolk lovely food lovely room car park stayed for one night night break starters dog sandringham pint
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 785 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2024 via mobile

We were in Norfolk with my elderly parents and their little dog. Norfolk is largely dog friendly but The Rose and Crown is totally dog friendly! We were offered to eat in either bar or in the dog friendly section in the restaurant. We chose the restaurant section for dogs and we were not disappointed. Lovely staff, very welcoming and we sat at a great table by the French doors looking out into the Beer Garden (lots of dogs enjoying the sun). Food was amazing too. Would absolutely recommend and my husband plan to stay on our next Norfolk visit.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scarletchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 1, 2024 via mobile

First time visiting for a meal with friends
Meal in the restaurant the food was really nice
Staff was ok too just need to ask if we have all finished before wiping the plates away
Was also shocked to see DOGS allowed in the restaurant part not very hygiene

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 23, 2024

Four of us ate dinner here on a Saturday evening, with our two dogs. The food was wonderful and staff very helpful and pleasant.
Even though we had the dogs with us, we were given a good table in an area overlooking the garden. Perfect position for two very tired dogs to chill out as we ate.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 7, 2024

Wow what a lovely, comfortable weekend we have just had at The Rose & Crown, perfect from beginning to end. We were there to commemorate my mum's birthday, as she past away last year. Her and my dad had lived in the are for 30 years so we knew the area. Food was great, room was exceedingly comfortable and staff very friendly. Will definitely be back and will recommend it to family and friends x

Room tip: Restaurant gets busy so it's best to book ahead.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 5, 2024

We only stayed one night but we would have stayed longer if we could. The room was clean and comfortable with a HUGE bed, nice toiletries, a very swanky en-suite and nice touches like homemade cookies and a cafetierre with real coffee. Our dinner last night was amazing, breakfast choices were extensive and the staff were all delightful. A real birthday treat, we like visiting Snettisham and will be back to the Rose and Crown.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews