We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views but food didn’t live up to expectations ”

The White Horse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Horse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our family met here for lunch, having all eaten here before. The views over the marshes to the sea are to die for, even in rainy weather and most tables at the back of the restaurant have views of this.
We all opted for different food choices with differing results! The oysters were delicious. Fish and chips were expensive and fish very bland. The two other mains fish options were ok, but portions very small given the price, pork was good but too much cabbage and children’s portions very small. Service was friendly but not as attentive as it should have been as we had to ask for several things twice such as water, sauces. They were busy but that’s not really an excuse.
Good selection of wines on offer.
Finally, as a mum with very independent children - why do restaurants place soap dispensers secured to a back wall where little people stand no chance of reaching them?! Children were not impressed at not being able to wash their hands after going to the toilet, without the need for adult help.

Thank Halfmoonanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your visit such as the oysters and the views. Please accept my apologies that the rest of your experience did not live up to expectations.

We have reviewed your comments and instigated the necessary changes to ensure that our standards remain as high as ever.

Come and see us again.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Had an excellent meal at the White Horse with family. Food was delicious especially the norfolk leeks for a main course. Could not fault service. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Had a lovely round table in the conservatory with beautiful views. Would definitely eat here again.

1  Thank Sharon James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of your food especially the vegetarian char grilled leeks.

I have shared your comments with my team who are over the moon.

Come and see us again.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

A lovely restaurant with simply fabulous views, on a warm Summer evening it would gorgeous. Our party were two couples and we had a real mixture of items across three courses and all were very well presented and cooked, we couldn’t find anything we wouldn’t have again. I had the Pork Wellington for the main and it was excellent, I’ve seen some earlier negative comments on this dish and can only say my experience was completely different.

The deserts were artistic as well as yummy, and the chocolate fondants I am assured were cooked perfectly. A pity we were just visiting the area, otherwise it would become a regular haunt.

1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed a mixture of items across the menu and that you would all have them again.

Please come and see us when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

One often forgets, what happens behind the scenes at a busy gastro pub. Like the Whitehorse. Plus one forgets that there are real caring people working hard every day, to make it nice for customers.
Especially at a busy time in the year, like Easter, which is ruined by the weather.
We had lunch there today the Pork Dish was wonderful, plus the cheeky plate of oysters. The service was sublime.
Don't want and do not ask for special service, but your made so welcome by Cliffs team at the Whitehorse.
We have told them today, how much we value them.
Try it, don't rush to criticise, try it again and see.
To Rob, Kinga, Kelsey, Rory, Tiffany, Frannie the chefs all at the Whitehorse
Thankyou.
Yes I'm a local and regular at the pub, but thought it best to type a few words.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dyna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted with the recognition you have given the team, although an extremely time of year the standard remains the same and I am glad that we tick the boxes on your most recent visit.

Your words are very pleasing and I have shared with the team who are over the moon.

We always look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed - lovely setting but unfortunately the food was sub-standard for the majority of our party. Avoid ordering Pork Wellington, as the meat is tough, pastry soggy, cabbage like cardboard - don’t be fooled by the slight torched effect on the leaves which was tough and inedible. Not one of us who ordered that dish ate it all! Duck starter was mediocre. Vegan offering very unimaginative! Staff polite yet appear totally disorganised. Such a shame that the food side badly let this lovely establishment down.

Thank AlinaHJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the food, as a standard of service we operate quality check backs early on in our guests meals so if you had said there was something wrong we would have been able to rectify this quickly. We need this type of feedback so we are able to maintain the high quality that we have become known for.

We change the menu frequently so please do not let this deter you from returning.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 
Burnham Market, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing