We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Managed, Service Oriented B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

When I walked up to The Poplars I was greeted by name. They were expecting me and everything was prepared in this well-managed B&B. I was asked what time I would like to have breakfast at, and I did not find out until later that the time I selected was earlier than their usual start of breakfast. They just accomodated my request. When the time came to leave I was offered a lift to the railroad station, which is only about 300 meters away but I accepted because it was drizzling.

My room and bathroom were both large and clean. The hotel was quiet and I felt it was secure. The breakfast was ample with eggs that were cooked to order. I would not hesitate to choose The Poplars again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

A lovely little guest house. We stayed for one night and were really impressed. Our room was nicely decorated, and even though it was at the front of the house, it wasn't noisy at all. The bed was really comfortable and the local information that Amanda had put together was really comprehensive and gave some good recommendations.

The breakfast is all locally sourced and there was a good range of food, the black pudding was especially good!

Sadly Amanda was away for our stay but her father in law and fiance were on hand to welcome us, along with their lovely dog, Bailey.

I would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becca1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I thought the Poplars was a wonderful Bed and Breakfast, the room was decorated to a high standard and comfortable. The house and gardens are lovely and peaceful. I really enjoyed the breakfast too, which was locally sourced and cooked to order. Amanda was a great host and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a fabulous stay at Poplars. Tranquil setting, friendly hosts (Owner's were away, their father and mother were our hosts) spacios room, crisp linen were part of the very pleasant stay. The restaurant they recommended- The Kings Arms in Sandhutton - was excellent. Both food and setting was fabulous. Presantation of food was as impressive as the taste. The chef was a real gourmet.The Kings Arm is a short drive away from Thirsk and they have lodging facilities as well.
I would highly recommed both of these places to add pleasure to your trip in these beautiful, picturesque region of England.

Room Tip: Rooms at back
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kedi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We were welcomed by the owner Amanda and delighted with the cleanliness and well presented room. The double bed was very comfortable and the cooked breakfast was superb. We could not have wished for better accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidGilliesHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed in the Poplars on 14th January for one night. It was very easy to find in a lovely area. We couldn't have asked or wanted anything more from the room - it was ideal. Had a lovely night's sleep in the very comfortable bed, en-suite bathroom wasn't huge but it had everything you need and was very clean.
There are at least 3 pubs nearby to dine in for an evening meal.
The home-cooked breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and set us up perfectly for the day.
Plus we got to meet Bailey after breakfast which was a bonus - he's an extremely friendly dog!
Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed one night: 2 adults, 2 daughters. The welcome was friendly, both rooms were very well kept and comfortable. The 'full English' breakfast was personally cooked and excellent. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trilobitebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
2.4 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
947 reviews
2.4 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
471 reviews
5.2 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
2.5 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
2.1 km away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages

Address: Carlton Miniott, Thirsk YO7 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $120 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplars, originally a farm house, built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually associated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WIFI, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities, make for those extra special touches. A great night's sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast..... Bed & Breakfast as it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages Hotel Thirsk
The Poplars - Rooms And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing