We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
309
117
40
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
117
40
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halo suite plaza suite skewers function room residents lounge double shower crab lobster beer garden roast beef eggs benedict wedding venue bar area pudding lovely place modern bathroom four poster bed the pub
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for my husbands 60th birthday, booked 4 rooms for the family, rooms are lovely, well equipped and beds were really comfortable
Staff very friendly and helpful
Breakfast was fabulous, great choice, all fresh
Will be booking again in the near future

Room Tip: all rooms are fabulous, room 6 is the quietest
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We had our sons christening celebration inthe Plaza Suite Marchn2018.

What a wonderful day it was. we had our wedding reception here in 2015 so we knew this was the right and oneand only place for a celebration.

We were give access to Plaza suite the day before to set up, and again on the morning of the event. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, very friendly and approachable.

We had the warm buffet, the presentation of the food was wonderful and went down a treat with our guests. Evidenced in the very empty plates and content guests.

The drinks selection at the bar pleased everyone (particularly the frizzante on tap)

The Staff supplied us with childrens toys to entertain the many children in the party. This included toys, ball pool and a giant jenga. The kids loved them.

At the end of the day the staff were on hand to assist us clearing our decorations away with smiles on their faces. Nothing was too much to ask.

We have since been back several times for family meals and more recently the Oktoberfest festival. Always a pleasure, we'll be back again soon.

Thanks again to all the staff for making our sons christening celebration so perfect. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank ClaireBrown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Well it was an impromptu supper with friends who arrived unexpectedly from the US - their idea to take me for supper - it was a Tuesday night with no booking
I suggested The Angel as I felt sure we would get in - and we did
Helpful staff ensured we go a decent table - an the place was quite busy
Ambience is good too - not great, but good.
Now I cant remember quite what went wrong but when the maitre'd came over I asked him his name and he said it was Susan .... :):) - s/he had me confused - s/he had a pony tail tied up on her/his head - but s/he had a beard too... I suspect we will never know
Anyway whatever it was it cant have been too big an issue as I would have remembered it
We only had mains and desserts - and they were fine.
I asked if I could have the fish course just grilled without the batter - I had had it before and so I knew they would oblige - and I asked for frozen peas instead of the mushy variety - and they obliged too.
Since I was not driving I had a couple of glasses of red - yes red with fish - ok maybe not ideal but that what I fancied - house Merlot - perfectly adequate
The girls had saladdy things and reported satisfaction
And we shared an adequate tho unmemorable dessert
Look, its a great place for a "pit stop" meal and can be recommended - especially Susan. And not over the top price wise - I guess £60 covered what we had
5 Brownlee Points

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Clean lovely food but are bedroom No 9 would not advise anyone stay because when u opening window we were faced with some kind chimney blowing out smells from Kitchen ? So so we had to have it closed all night making it to hot inside the next morning I complained was told they were full so we couldn’t have changed you if u had asked

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We had been to an antiques fair at Wetherby Racecourse and had intended to go elsewhere but parking issues meant that our first choice was impossible. Google maps and tripadvisor led us here - and we are please that it did. I had the Sunday lunch option, pork, crackling, stuffing, roast and mashed potatoes, a very large Yorkshire pudding and seven vegetables! My companions had a huge sea bass and a steak - all very happy. We will return - especially when a notice above the bar stated that the menu is to be changed on Wednesday.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews