We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
David Thompson Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nordegg
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just returned from DTR!! We went there only because I wanted to go quadding at Bighorn Dam and didn't want to drive back to Red Deer in the same day. I was pleasently surprised to find a music festival!!
We had an excellent time. Yes the rooms were dated, but clean. You will not find a cleaner property, or better views. The staff was great, and I also spoke to the owners and they were great. Definitely not what a previous commenter described!! They were more than helpful and accommodating to me and my wife.
We ate at the restaurant a few times and it was good. Priced reasonably with great service. As for the complainers of prices in the store, this is quite typical of all retail on the Banff highway. Bring what you want from Walmart to avoid high prices!!
We walked the campground to get to the festival, very clean and well kept. Staff was more than willing to offer a ride on their golf cart as well.
A big thanks to Moe Bandy for all his entertainment and for taking his time to talk with us!! I will be back!!

Room Tip: Just ask for the most updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had never been to DTR, and wanted to see the beautiful mountains in the spring. So we booked a campsite for our large motorhome. We were give a lovely pull-thru site with lots of room to open our slides. Enjoyed the firepit and the company of other campers. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the Cowboy Breakfast. The owners and staff are lovely people, with always a smile on their face. The playgrounds were popular with the kids, and the trails to Lake Abraham were breathtaking. My favorite was the view from the Chapel. God in his glory! The best part is the friendly neighbors, sumptious campfires, and peaceful, treed surroundings. We'll be back for our summer vacation in August! Woo hoo!

Room Tip: We stayed in our own RV, and did not take a tour of the rooms. Would be curious to see the cabins n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Over the past 14 years I have stayed at David Thompson Resort numerous times during the season and have completly enjoyed our stay.The scenery is out of this world,the campground is very good for tents.We went one ear on our anniversary and Ron and Wendy put us in one of the log cabins.We found a fruitplate(with chocolate dipping sauce) in the room.We found all of the staff to be friendly and helpfull with any of our needs.The pub is open every night from 7-10 and Ron and Wendy encourage anyone with musical ability to entertain the guests.

We have nothing but fond memories of the and their staff,including the owners and look forward to many more seasons of enjoyment at D.T.R.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you are not looking for luxury or 4**** rooms, this is the place to go. We stayed in the motel, rooms were clean and sufficiently equipped for a short stay. The campground looks very nice and we were greeted by William (?) the retriever. The surroundings were breathtaking and so was the Cowboys Breakfast ( warmly recommended!) prepared by a very nice couple of senior citizens.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Thank goodness the scenery is so pretty, because you'll want to spend all your time OUTSIDE. We spent one night with our 2 young children and the bedding smelled & the carpet was disgusting. The window in our room had no screen, so we couldn't open that window for fresh air, or to let the room cool down at night. One of our kids couldn't sleep because it was so hot.

The room is incredbly dated, not "rustic" as the resort will tell you. And don't belive their claims that it's "clean" either. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed, there was hair in the bathtub, and the bedding was old and dingy.

The "store" there was insanely overpriced. It cost $10 just for 2 bottles of pop. The playground was scary! The equipment is covered in rust and not safe for kids. And the ground has rocks instead of sand. It is the only playground I have ever seen with a "Use At Your Own Risk" sign.

The "resort" obviously hasn't been inspected in years and years. There are so many code violations. The area by the bathroom sink had some randow 2 by 4's attached to the corner of the wall with scrws sticking out near the top. We were nervous having our 4 year old child play anywhere near that. Not someting you would expect to see in a room that you pay $130 a night to stay at.

Camping would be the better option to enjoy the beauty this area has to offer. Don't waste your money on this motel. You will regret staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank disneylover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

we stayed for 1 week and we wont be returning. We were in an RV - all camping spots are pull through sites therefore there is no privacy at all.The power service isnt very good as it surges all night long. The sites themselves are small for the big units that so many poeple are using. The trees are small so when siting outside during the day or at night you can be seen by everyone.The firepits all face a road. The ground is very uneven and our grandchildern that visited us were always getting cuts.The quiet time starts at 11pm and everynight but 2 there was noise of parties or kids playing hide and seek by our RV. When I complained I was told they had been talked to about the noise.The noise never stopped before 1am.The owner says he has owned the place for 17 years and it was time to start to put some money back into the place.He was many years too late. The prices at the store as well as at the gas pumps were unreal.The view was nice but that nice view can be seen from other places that arent like this.....

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank JoAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have been reading the reviews and must say we dont have a problem with the place.
What folk forget when they book a place like this is that it is a campground in a beautiful setting. If you want home comforts u should think about a motel. For a real camping experience away from the everyday stress of town life , this is perfect.
Ron's daughter goes out of her way to help everyone but like all of us they only have two pair of hands and in busy periods may not be able to help all the time.
They have a good choice of staff as the staff are always friendly and often come back year after year as well..

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank westmarie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to David Thompson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Thompson Resort

Address: Box 17, Nordegg, Alberta T0M 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Clearwater County > Nordegg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nordegg
Price Range: $159 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — David Thompson Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are dedicated to making memories for families by providing affordable fun, a wilderness experience with all the amenities and an overall quality experience for friends and families in the Canadian Rockies. Amenities include a hotel , campground, cabins, RV rentals, Group camps for weddings and reunions, full service restaurant, convenience store, liquor store, gas station and gift shop. We have mini-golf, Frisbee-golf, volleyball, basketball, horseshoes and badminton on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your David Thompson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Thompson Hotel Nordegg
David Thompson Resort Nordegg, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing